We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went there to celebrate my birthday and had an unforgettable time!

The food could've been better. And the way that dinner reservations are set up should be a little more organized and explained more throughly at check-in.

We went on 2 excursions, mega extreme, zip lining, horse back riding and waterfall jumping and to ocean world and swam with the dolphins. They were both all day excursions and both of them have lunch provided. The mega extreme provided drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic and you can get drunk on the way home!!! You have to pay for drinks at ocean world.

The pool bar is great! And so are they guys who work by it. Salami and john cena, papi, Lenny kravitz, and mosquito are all great. They are there from 930-10:00 am everyday and tell you about different activities and shows and what's happening for that day! I really loved salami! He made this trip really great!

I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoleb728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us. Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we are glad to learn that in general you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future again.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,897
    1,170
    630
    410
    444
See reviews for
1,140
1,478
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went for my friends 25th birthday and it was the most fun we've ever had on vacation! The party/animation crew at the hotel really makes sure you have a great time. "John Cena" was incredibly fun and not bad to look at either ;) Salami was the funniest individual there.

They both kept us informed of what to do and where to go to enjoy the days and nights at the tropical. A couple of the other employees named Mosquito, Papi and Lenny Kravitz also made it enjoyable.

John Cena, Lenny Kravitz, Salami, Papi & Mosquito get there early around 9-10am to do group aerobics, yoga etc. They'll stay there all day to play games and set up other activities to do at the pool area.

The foam party in the pool is awesome and there was a twerk contest. The colosseum has a show almost every night at 9:30 which is fantastic.

Don't be surprised if you see some of the party crew in the show like john cena, papi, salami and mosquito. They all do a little bit of everything so you'll get to know them a lot.

Be sure to make conversation with the staff at the hotel because they will let you know where to go to have fun (like John Cena). Security was very helpful as well, especially Romeo and David.

The blue lagoon stays open every night until 4am or so. The pool bar closes at 12 or 1 but you can head over to the lagoon. Building 1 is closest to the pool so I'd recommend staying there because you'll spend most of your time there hanging out with the staff John Cena and Salami etc.

We went swimming with dolphins deep water for 30 min but it was a shared activity so really you only get 10 min each working with the dolphins. But spending the day at ocean world regardless is worth it.

We also did the mega extreme- zip lining , horseback riding and waterfalls. Eddie and paparazzi were the best tour guides! They made sure everyone had a great time and kept us well fed and hydrated with Dominican water ... Aka rum.

All in all, wake up early stay up late and enjoy every minute of it. When your vacation is finally over you'll feel like your hearts been ripped out. I cannot wait to go back but instead of 6 nights we will go for 9 nights or more! John Cena, Salami, Lenny Kravitz, Papi & Mosquito are great at their jobs you'll have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I went with a group of 3 other girls for 5 days of nonstop fun! We stayed from Tuesday-Sunday. I recommend future bookers to be there for the Sunday Welcome party that I regrettably missed!!! The views, the dining, the staff, the men---especially John Cena and Salami who work at the resort teaching the water aerobics class, do pool entertaining and countless other jobs made the stay amazing! Everybody was laid back and truly made the vacation exciting.

We spend 1 day by the pool just relaxing. John Cena, Salami and one of their friend that I regrettably forgot his name kept everybody in high spirits by playing "guess the name of the American song" as well as dart throwing. I won the dart throwing game somehow and won a free bottle of rum, so people don't be shy!

The food is GREAT! The hotel can book a few reservations for you but if you do not like them you can always change them the day between 9-10 AM or check out if there is any availability because of cancellations from 2-3 PM. We just changed 1 of the reservations because of an excursion we had booked.

There is free wifi by the public pool although you can get the wifi for $60 for 7 days on 1 phone which we got as a group and just used that one phone.

The airport is located about 30 minutes from the hotel and the resort is EXTREMELY LARGE. You have access to the Confresi Beach resort which is walkable or if you're wearing heals you can take the shuttle that comes over 5-10 minutes.

We booked 4 MUST DO excursions which were about 15 min-1 hour away from the hotel with food and pickups included. They were each just under $100. These are a must do:

-Snorkeling at Paradise Island was amazing and we got to touch sea urchins, jelly fish, crabs as well as riding a speed boat.
-Quad riding--do the SINGLE ATV riding future bookers! We went through a dirt path, beach, jungle, street, just all around everywhere for 3 hours!
-Bravissimo Show with an included dinner was SUPER and I wish I was eating it right now. I must mention that the hotel has the entertainers come to resort as well on Wednesday / Thursday so we saw the show twice (it was slightly different by the way).
-27 Waterfalls of damajagua- the jumps were amazing as was the staff. Very high energy people.

The resort has "VIP" parties but regular nonvip people can attend. There is a club at the Confresi Beach Resort called "ICE" which is small, but if you are there for a good time you can make it enjoyable. We went for 4 days in a row!

Overall, BOOK THIS HOTEL, you will not be disappointed! Enjoy future bookers and have a Mamajuana shot for me!

Room Tip: I had building 4 which was quiet but close to everything-the gym, pool, lobby, the main buffet place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent about a week in the resort and had an amazing unforgettable time. There was one employee that stood out amongst the rest that ensured not only I but everyone around me was having a good time. There was never a dull moment around the pool with Julio Nice. I had to make sure to give him a shout out for the great job!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your nice comment and we passed it to Julio. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Sunny regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Wonderful place. Fantastic staff and marvelous enertainment. one of the best holidays of my life!!!!!!!!!!! The best part of this is swimming up to the bar for a pina colada with your wife while your children are happily playing and being looked after is fantastic

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned yesterday from our vacation; we had an excellent time at the resort, I could go on and on for a while with our experience, but will resume by saying that our first good impression started with the check-in desk (Emely), she gave us the first bright smile, very attentive and went out of her way to please us , Thank You Emely, then the entertainers were great (John Cena and Salami), they tried their best to keep us entertained around the pools and anywhere they seeing us, the food must improve to best around the best resorts visited. Don't miss the shows at night
Very Happy with the resort overall

Room Tip: we stayed on building 3, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed all our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Your nice comments were passed to the rest of the team.
Thank you for making The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata to your preferred vacation destination and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another unforgettable vacation.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just spent a week in the Dominican at lifestyle - had an absolute amazing trip! The hotel/resort is absolutely gorgeous and the staff is extremely welcoming and attentive! This resort will not disappoint there is so much to do and explore within the resort the only complaint I have is not having more time to explore everything there is to offer! We were able to sign up for some excursions - swimming with dolphins at ocean world and the yacht to paradise island! Both excursions were 100% worth every penny and will be lifetime memories! The staff goes out of there way to ensure you have an amazing vacation and make the most of your trip! Special thanks to salami and his right hand man poochi poochi! Met these two the first day of the trip and they were an absolute blast! We enjoyed there company when they were working as well as off the job and I have to say those two boys will not be forgotten! (Especially salami!) the food is delicious and plentiful! This is a trip that will not be forgotten!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xocomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,328 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing