We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vaca!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel with over 10 restaurants to choose from, is you are a member. I purchased the gold bracelets two years ago and it was a very wise decision. Top shelf liquor, great service, updated rooms and exclusive beach access. I love this place!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Elias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for beeing part of our Lifestyle Family and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,806 of 4,806 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ok, so it was an incredible deal, so I guess you get what you pay for. The location is splendid with relaxing cabanas and hot tubs on the beach. Two dinner tickets are given for a more exclusive dinner during the stay. The Brazilian Restaurant is fantastic! Don't waste your ticket on the Asian; trade it in for another Brazilian! The Casa Blanca is the worst! I felt sorry for the poor woman in the fruit section trying, but not succeeding to keep up with the demand for cut fruit while her line of fruit smoothies never ended. The most horrifying thing, birds! Birds are zooming in on the food bowls, sitting on the fruit bowls & eating directly from them. I mentioned It to a waiter who casually looked over & half-heatedly shooed it away. They eat from the dessert trays, etc. Don't eat there! It may be an all you can eat "international buffet", but with the crowds of people it's an ALL YOU CAN STAND FEEDING TROUGH!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank saluki112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata as your holiday destination.
We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.
On behalf of the entire Lifestyle staff, please accept our apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered.
We thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our standards of service.
Wiyh best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was a wonderful vacation. I got to know so many great people from different countries.
The parties on Thursday and Sunday were very well organized. General you always can ask someone if you have a problem. The people in the Dominican Republic are so friendly and cheerful. I definitely want to come back next year.
The entertainers work very effortless. I had fun and felt comfortable. Especially John Cena and Salami made ​​the holiday to a fun-filled experience.
John Wayne who has given us the riding tour was also super nice and speaks very good German.
Thanks also to Ellery from the Spa team for the great advice.
I wish the holiday could have been longer.
Maybe we'll see us next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally_H1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014
Google Translation

Liebe Grüsse vom The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata.
Wir bedanken uns für die netten Kommentare zu ihrem Urlaub in unserem Resort, die natürlich an unsere Angestellten weiter geleitet werden.
Es freut uns zu hören, dass sie mit unseren All inclusive Angeboten und der Animation sehr zufrieden waren und hoffen, dass wir sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen dürfen.
Mit sonnigen Grüssen
Die Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The tropical at lifestyles is so amazing I love the animation team there all so full of life and there so much fun they make everybody feel so welcomed my favorite is Leny cravis and jhon cena but I also love mosquito and big papi and salami is so funny the whole staff is amazing

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julitza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Sunny regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from 7 night stay at Tropical. We had the " VIP" package. Not what we generally associate with VIP really just a designation at this property and doesn't afford you any elevated services or amenities. This was a very affordable vacation so I am keeping this in mind while writing this review. I've been to 7 other all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean so of course was comparing this to those. There are many areas of improvement needed at this resort.

I'll start with the positives. The resort is very clean, they are constantly cleaning the pool and beach areas and our room was always clean. The room request I made was honored with the exception of the building I requested. The AC in our room worked very well and we were thrilled to walk into a nice cool room at the end of a hot day on the beach. The staff was friendly though many of them did not speak English very well. Only an issue at the front desk really. There are plenty of beds/chairs on the beach as well as by the pools. The cool tubs on the beach are wonderful! Not only a great way to stay cool but also a good way to socialize with other guests. The Yin Yang spa was very nice and I had a 70 minute massage for $91.

Now for the not so good. The buffet food is not very good. We always found something to eat but protein and vegetable choices are limited. At breakfast the omelettes were made fresh with ingredients you select but there was usually a line since there was only one person making them. The bacon was a mess! When they came out to refill the serving dish most of it was uncooked! People would dig through it trying to find cooked pieces and take piles to try to pick off the edible part from the inedible. Because of this the serving dish was empty a lot.

For dinner the pearl buffet at Confresi is better than Casablanca at tropical. Seemed like more choices, cleaner and empty serving dishes replaced more quickly. The only specialty restaurant we ate at was the Italian. It was good and we enjoyed it. We heard the Mexican was good too as well as the Brazilian as long as you stayed away from the sausage.

We were in building 1. The room was fine. Older furniture but we're not in the room much so it was fine. The beds are hard so if you like a softer bed you may be uncomfortable. No flat screen tv but there are several English speaking channels so we could keep up on news and catch something on TBS or NBC. There is a mini fridge which was stocked with 2 beers, 2 sodas and several bottles of water when we arrived. The second day they did not replace the sodas so we went to the front desk to try to get them replaced. We were told that the soda is only put in there the first day! Why do that...just confuses you. So the next day we left a note in Spanish for the maid with a tip and our soda was replaced.

The beach opens at 8:00 am. When I say opens I mean it. The beach is enclosed so you can't just walk down there to walk on the beach. Also it closes at 6:00. They come around and tell you it is closing so you have to leave. Kind of crazy. The good thing is there are servers offering to bring you food and drinks on the beach. The food at the beach was actually pretty good. Sandwiches, salads, fried chicken wings, garden burgers and chips with cheese and salsa.

This resort is not really handicapped accessible. There are many stairs throughout the property and the ramps they do have are quite steep and I believe would be difficult to maneuver.

Now the really bad. The second night at 11:15 pm someone tried to come into our room. They actually unlocked the door (they still use traditional keys). Fortunately we had the safety latch in place so they didn't get in. I had a thought that the keys would work multiple doors and asked someone a few doors down if they would try my key in their door to see if it unlocked it and it did. I informed the front desk of this and also told other guests of my experience just for their safety. Two other guests later told me their keys worked in multiple doors as well. (No one from the resort contacted me for any more information). Also our balcony sliding doors did not lock.

A few suggestions to the resort. Supply guests with a larger map of the complex. There is a small map in the little brochure they give you at check in but it is very hard to really read. There are many maps of the complex around the property but one you could have with you would be helpful. Also when you check in offer the safe to the guest even if there's a charge. We forgot to ask when we checked in and after unpacking went to the desk to find out the safe in our room was inoperable. They asked if we wanted to change rooms but finally had maintenance come fix the safe so we could use it. Also offer guests the spa menus and more info on any other facilities on the property at check in. Probably sell more additional services if guests are aware at check in.

Thank you to trip advisor for helping avoid the timeshare time suck. Many guests we spoke to got roped into 2 hour "tours" aka sales pitch. They say it is a tour of the property then with a free gift then say they will not get their $20 if you don't go. They figure one of these ploys will get most people. They are in the lobby when you check in with a list with your name on it and then right outside the buffet after breakfast. If you're interested by all means do it but if not don't lode valuable vacation time.

Overall we did enjoy our relaxing days on the beach and for the money it is not a bad place. That being said if you can afford a little more there are much better choices in other Caribbean locations.

Room Tip: I hear the rooms in buildings 5 & 6 have been remodeled and have flat screen televisions. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Shirl-in-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.
We take all guest feedback very seriously because we want improve with you, and we're constantly changing all aspects of our service and facilities. Thank you to give us your honest point of view about our property and services. On behalf of the entire Lifestyle staff, please accept our apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered.
We thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our standards of service.
Yours Sincerely,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went there to celebrate my birthday and had an unforgettable time!

The food could've been better. And the way that dinner reservations are set up should be a little more organized and explained more throughly at check-in.

We went on 2 excursions, mega extreme, zip lining, horse back riding and waterfall jumping and to ocean world and swam with the dolphins. They were both all day excursions and both of them have lunch provided. The mega extreme provided drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic and you can get drunk on the way home!!! You have to pay for drinks at ocean world.

The pool bar is great! And so are they guys who work by it. Salami and john cena, papi, Lenny kravitz, and mosquito are all great. They are there from 930-10:00 am everyday and tell you about different activities and shows and what's happening for that day! I really loved salami! He made this trip really great!

I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicoleb728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us. Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we are glad to learn that in general you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future again.
Sincerely,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went for my friends 25th birthday and it was the most fun we've ever had on vacation! The party/animation crew at the hotel really makes sure you have a great time. "John Cena" was incredibly fun and not bad to look at either ;) Salami was the funniest individual there.

They both kept us informed of what to do and where to go to enjoy the days and nights at the tropical. A couple of the other employees named Mosquito, Papi and Lenny Kravitz also made it enjoyable.

John Cena, Lenny Kravitz, Salami, Papi & Mosquito get there early around 9-10am to do group aerobics, yoga etc. They'll stay there all day to play games and set up other activities to do at the pool area.

The foam party in the pool is awesome and there was a twerk contest. The colosseum has a show almost every night at 9:30 which is fantastic.

Don't be surprised if you see some of the party crew in the show like john cena, papi, salami and mosquito. They all do a little bit of everything so you'll get to know them a lot.

Be sure to make conversation with the staff at the hotel because they will let you know where to go to have fun (like John Cena). Security was very helpful as well, especially Romeo and David.

The blue lagoon stays open every night until 4am or so. The pool bar closes at 12 or 1 but you can head over to the lagoon. Building 1 is closest to the pool so I'd recommend staying there because you'll spend most of your time there hanging out with the staff John Cena and Salami etc.

We went swimming with dolphins deep water for 30 min but it was a shared activity so really you only get 10 min each working with the dolphins. But spending the day at ocean world regardless is worth it.

We also did the mega extreme- zip lining , horseback riding and waterfalls. Eddie and paparazzi were the best tour guides! They made sure everyone had a great time and kept us well fed and hydrated with Dominican water ... Aka rum.

All in all, wake up early stay up late and enjoy every minute of it. When your vacation is finally over you'll feel like your hearts been ripped out. I cannot wait to go back but instead of 6 nights we will go for 9 nights or more! John Cena, Salami, Lenny Kravitz, Papi & Mosquito are great at their jobs you'll have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.3 mi away
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £73 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing