We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once in a lifetime experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We went for a two week all inclusive stay at the Lifestyle Hacienda spa resort, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a drink, the staff were very friendly and wanted to help you. Our accomodation was pleasant and clean, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean, complete with chairs and a little table. There was a lot of choice in the various eating places, catering for all tastes. The A`la Carte restaurants required booking the day before but were also excellent. We swam with the dolphins which was just AMAZING, something which is a must if you ever get the chance. We also had a hug and a kiss with the Sealions equally AMAZING. The Dominican people were the most friendliest people i have ever met. The only downside is that the evening entertainment finished at about 10.30 pm, but you could go to the Disco in the V.I.P area, not much good if you have children. The weather was magic, we had a couple of days of thunder, rain and lightening, but this only added to the experience as it ends as soon as it starts, but the rain falls like curtains.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutt1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,929 - 3,935 of 4,834 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

My husband recently enrolled our family with Travel Advantage Network to take advantage of great travel deals and discount vacations. Our first experience with TAN was excellent. We stayed at the Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa in the Dominican Republic's beautiful city, Puerto Plata, which is now my new favorite vacation destination! The resort was gorgeous and had plenty of activities for our kids to take part in. Not to mention, the views of Puerto Plata are amazing! TAN made the trip planning process very easy - and more importantly - very cheap! My family and I had a great time and are telling all of our friends about the benefits of becoming part of Travel Advantage Network. This is a company that truly delivers what they promise, a quality hard to come by these days.

Thank rmishner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Hotel was good - great main restaurant serving excellent food which would please even the most picky eaters (particularly the kids as they served bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, baked beans at breakfast and hot dogs, burgers and chips at lunch) evening meals were theme set - although good, not so appealing to the teenagers, but they always ate something. With 4 a la carte's Mexican, Italian, Asian & Seafood (steer clear of the Italian as service was poor and staff really miserable - all the others were really good - especially the Asian!!). Room was spacious and well furnished (cable tv/safe/ironing board/iron/hair dryer) -though not well lit. Air conditoning/room fan kept the room really cool - which was good. Although room cleaned and bed linen/towels changed every day - Towel service to the room - not good, had to hassle the cleaner to get clean towels - sometimes didn't get them till nearly 6:00pm. Pictures in holiday brochures make it look as though the beach is a long way away from the pool - it is not, it is really close and has a selection of little shops on it - manned by locals. Around the swimming pools you could always find a sun bed - we spent most of our time round the quiet pool as there was always something going on to keep the kids amused in the main pool. Only problem during daytime was if it rained (thankfully it only did this twice!) - if it rains, there is only a small bar in reception and there is nowhere apart from your room that you can go to as there was no indoor cafe or games room to go to. Evenings were what let the hotel down - mostly animation shows with dancing and again, if it rained, you ended up spending the evening in your room. Outside the hotel, on the main road, there is nothing - so you can't really get out of the complex, unless on a organised trip, or you take a taxi. The shops in the complex itself were overpriced - so beware. Overall the hotel was good - but needs to sort out its evening entertainment and wet weather facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felixlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

...but bring something to do in case it rains! We didn't expect rain in the Caribbean outside of the rainy season but got caught out a few times and there was nothing to do at the hotel except watch American TV.
The helicopter does fly very close to the sun loungers and it was funny sometimes to see people's things go flying when they weren't prepared for it. It was only a couple of times a day, not all day, so not that disruptive really.
Food was good, nice selection. We only ate at the main buffet, didn't try any of the other restaurants.
Don't go expecting a soft white sandy Caribbean beach (like I did!) because you'll be disappointed - it's just normal yellow sand like you get in Europe.
We went for 2 weeks and 7-10 days would have been enough as there is nothing to do!! Excursions are expensive and there's nowhere to walk to anywhere nearby so you are pretty much stuck at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pop_n_titch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This place was amazing, just being by the poolside you overlooked the sea, with your private beach, palm trees for shade, and poolside bar. Stay away from Rum 151 75% proooooof! all inclusive is the way to go, different style buffet every night, plus 4 other style restaurants to eat in if you wanted to. The entertainment was first class - shows every night were amazing. Then there was the trips to go on, I will be going back with more money next time to try all the trips we failed to attend, but Dolphin swimming was something to remember, along with with paradise Island - sand bank in the middle of the ocean with crystal blue sea surrounding it - WOW.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark4180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

As soon as we got there i absolutley loved it! The entertainment staff were amazing and I got om with them all very well. I am going next year and i have advised everyone i know that they should concider going. I stayed two weeks but wish i could of stayed more! well worth the money.
x

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikki94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I vacationed with my husband of 9 yrs. at the lifestyle from 7/9-7/13/09. First let me tell you that I called jetblue 3 times to change my hotel after reading all the negative reviews. The last rep. stated she recently visited with her family and i should stick with the hotel. She encouraged me that I would have a great time at the hotel and most importantly that they booked this hotel more for families and couples than any other. Thanks to her we canceled the Grand Oasis and went for lifestyle. It really is a nice hotel with great pools. The Blue Lagoon, and the Asian Restaurant are worth standing in line for at 1 pm daily. The only downside are the VIP reps that are waiting for you at every single meal. They promise you access to private pools, beaches and restaurants. However, my husband and I never went for the tour and outright told them that we were not interested. When we looked around at the hotel all the so called VI
P's were using the same facilities as we were. Turns out that too many people went for the VIP packages and their private "areas" were too crowded. Save yourself the money. Also, we were treated just the same way an any other hotel guest. We had a great room in building 5, poor drainage from the shower. Our maid made sure she dried the shower everyday. The food was great, they should have had more dominican dishes. The staff is very friendly, attentive and quick to take care of your needs. We carried alot of single dollars to tip the various staff that went out of their way to assist us. However, we soon realized that they were not begging us, nor waitng around for tips as some reviews have noted. Carry your sunblock and sunscreen and there really is no need to venture off the resort. The nightly entertainment was great, nicely coordinated. I also observed that there was aolt for children to do. We didn't travel with ours but would next time we return. Again, great hotel, great staff, great food and atmosphere. Just the time share folks got on our nerves.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank machjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,083 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,617 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £97 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing