We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Were weren't presented with the ammenities we were entitled to until we complained repeatedly. We stayed at one of the villa's which was lovely however the pool was dirty. (they did show up every morning to drag leaves the out.) You can actually see the discoloration around the sides. Quite disgusting. Also there were cockeroaches and tons of ants in the kitchen. When we complained they proceeded to tell us how to kill the roaches..
HELLO!!!!!
I love the D.R. but will not be going back to this place any time too soon..

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catinthehatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2008

Reviewer "Peterborough England"

We have just returned from a fortnight stay in the Hacienda Suites, what a holiday from hell. They put us on the third floor which my elderly parents could not manage, we were moved but the accommidation was basic to say the least, no wardrobes in one of the bedrooms, had to ask for a chest of draws to put our clothes in, The bases of both beds and settee were made of concreat with a thin matteress for the bed and thin pads for the settee, and very basic bedding. Non exsisting tea making facilities, asked for kettle and was given something from the 1920s, after two houres on the electric hob the water in the kettle was still cold. After many requests for help (which was not forthcomming) we gave that up as a bad job. initially plagued by VIP reps promising the earth, but once they realised my mother was connected to timeshare they treated us like lepers. FOOD, ha ha what a joke forget about weight watchers, spend two weeks at the Haciender Suites, we did not eat an evening meal on the site. Steer clear of people on the beach selling excursions (what a rip off) Ten years ago we had a fantastic holiday in the Dominican Republic ( Jack Tar Village Playa Dorado) I'm affraid the Hacienda Suites in comparision scores a generious 1 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nasusPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We had a great time! We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite overlooking one of the many pools. The beach was a short picturesque walk through the resort. The food was OK, not a great bargain for the money. But the Europeans we met all felt it was a bargain for three meals plus snacks and drinks per day. (we americans are always looking for more, I guess) The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will be going back again and again. We liked it so much, we purchased a 15 week package.
On the down side:The electricity went out for a few minutes on a couple of days but came right back on and I did see some bugs, on two occasions, which was not very appetizing. But otherwise, the resort was clean, very comfortable and beautiful.

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank cdenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

The resort was very nice , the people very friendly and the varity of the buffet was above avarage. Making reservations for the restaurants was very difficult . We were able to book 2 restaurants in our one weeks stay. the wait staff was pretty much attentive considering the tipping is included and from my observation not too many people were tipping extra. I read many negative reviews previous to my trip there, so I was prepared for the worst. It was not so bad, there was plenty of shows and games, the light show by the pool was the best! I will certainly go back. Our package included a trip to ocean world which was well worth it.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank travelbugRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

Worst food ever in a resort! Don't be fooled by pictures on website. That is not what you get. This place is so bad we would never go back there. The only thing they are concerned with is the VIP World Timeshares. If you already own a timeshare, you will be treated terribly by their staff. They use the hard sell to encourage you to leave your timeshare company. And when I say 'hard sell', it is actually threatening. We place is the worst resort we have ever visited. Don't go there!

Stayed: December 2006
12  Thank tripduker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Racine, WI
16
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Personally my wife and I thought the resort was beautiful. We stayed in one of the suites, of which all of them were in the process of being re-done inside(On a side note I noticed that they had completely gutted one of their hotel/studio buildings and were re-doing that too). The only problem we encoundered was low water pressure one day, and that was corrected after contacting the hotel staff within an hour. The cable TV was a fuzzy, but what are you doing inside watching TV on vacation? You can do that at home! The room was clean, and very nice and up-to-date.

The drinks at the resort were great, but I do agree that the buffet food was just OK, nothing spectacular. The resort grounds were impecably manicured and very well taken car of. The staff was really friendly, and went out of their way to make us feel comforatable there. Not everyone speaks english(wait staff, maintenance, etc), but the people on the front line all do speak english -- we speak very little spanish and had no problems.

By the way, for the person who complained out not having hot water, all you have to do is flip the switch with the light on it in the bathroom to "ON" and you will get hot water. The tanks are electric and controlled inside of the room.. presumably to save energy when not in use!

Overall, the Hacienda was a good experience, the VIP areas were just incredible if you have access to them. It was very relaxing will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2006

Went through Sundance vacations and were extremely excited, but what a disappointment! Rooms were old, rundown, exposed plaster, dirty. Moved to the "newer section by "nicely" complaining and the room was SO mildewed we got sick! The buffet food, although plentiful , was pretty disappointing. Forget the other restaurants too (the ones you have to make reservations to) -- went to Mexican, they had a couple of steam trays and a choice of 3 or 4 entrees -- what a joke!! The beach (Confresi) was filthy!! Trash would just keep washing up on the beach. The "gym" was a bunch of old rusted out equipment, outdoors in a hut!! The "included" drinks were one kind of draft beer and a limited choice of cheap alcohol drinks...I could go on and on, but just avoid this place unless you are content staying at a dive motel....

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PerilousNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.2 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,616 reviews
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,218 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hacienda Suites)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £93 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up in your own luxury suite as another perfect day dawns in the Dominican Republic. A gentle sea breeze rolls in as you enjoy fresh island fruit and cup of famous Dominican coffee on your private terrace. Just a three-minute walk away, breathtaking Cofresi Beach awaits with water sports, sailing, deep sea fishing and the aquatic wonders of Ocean World. And, as a member of the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, you can plan to enjoy even more exclusive V.I.P privileges. The Residence Suites offer every comfort and luxury of a first class vacation destination. Set within 12 three-story Spanish-Mediterranean hillside buildings, couples and families can enjoy our two bedroom suite with spacious living and dining areas, private baths and fully-equipped kitchenettes. No detail has been overlooked to assure your vacation experience provides every comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Puerto Plata
Hacienda Resort All Inclusive
The Residence Suites At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing