We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but wonderful stay!”
Review of Blue JackTar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue JackTar
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only stayed two nights but it was the best two nights of our stay in the Dominican Republic!
Al the staff were fantasic and I would highly recommend this resort! The room was really great as was the resort! The beach staff were fantastic! The food was also really great!
What a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience at Blue JackTar, specially to recommend it. We hope your next stay be soon to enjoy again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Occidental Allegro Jack Tar was the name when we stayed rhere. Not the fanciest place but one of better ones for a good time and nice people. Would definety go there again but no travel company has any deals out of Fl so going to set my own trip up. Go there and have a good with no worries.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abkjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

One option could be that you book the agency online where you can find our property with good deals. Please take a look, and give you the opportunity to enjoy your vacation without worry, as you deserve.

Att.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Honeymooned here a while back under the old name of Occidental Allegro Jack Tar. The hotel was massive and we were greeted nicely and taken in a buggy to our room which was like a seperate hut type room. It was a bit dark in there but the room and shower were comfortable enough. The hotel restaurants were great, the breakfast was lovely fresh papaya milkshakes and lots of nice food. The hotel had different restaurants and you could make reservations in the other 2/3 like the one on the beach. That was a lovely experience. Pools were nice, snack bars and all inclusive drinks were great. Took a local bus into the town one day, the souvenirs were extremely expensive, and it was the first time I had come across anything that expensive when it was made in china (im a savvy traveller so its not as though they were ripping me off) but perhaps it costs more to import. Anyway walked around the town was nice. Booked 3 lovely excursions including waterfalls trip, an island trip and a helicopter ride. Was fantastic, booked that from near a local shopping centre close to the hotel which was walkable but you could get a carriage there. Tip - Take lots of mosquito repellant and soothing cream as we were bitten quite badly especially on our legs, that was horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thanks for writing but regret to inform you that is not all inclusive. We thank you for having taken us into account . Blue Jacktar is now a property of bed & breakfast, with Green Jack Restaurant, where you can enjoy exquisite fusion cuisine Dominican, and also international flavors plus Blue Jack Beach Bar & Snacks. Of course with the same quality human that characterizes us. I invite you to experience a new concept in Playa Dorada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We didn't stay at blue Jack, but rented a house in a nearby residential area. We found Blue Jack when looking for a beach to go to. It is fantastic. We found their beach, their bar and their restaurant to be the best. They have a chocolate brownie ice cream sundae that we became addicted to. The best thing was their personal accommodating personnel. My husband is handicapped, but on a few days we brought him to the beach. On the first day, the beach platform had a slight step to get up to it. Difficult for the handicapped. Three days later when we went back, they were staining a small ramp that was built. They said that they realized that they needed to make it more handicapped accessible when it was difficult for my husband. I thought that was amazing. Thank you Blue Jack and your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for your opinion about Blue JackTar and our staff. We do what we love to do: to Serve. We hope to surprise you always in the good way, and of course you can enjoy again a chocolate brownie ice cream sundae in our beach.

Att. Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The food in the Green Jack restaurant is fantastic! I strongly recommend a visit and suggest you try the french fries as they are very special! I also suggest you order a Lavazza coffee here as it's the best cappuccino you will find in town! You don't have to be a guest here either, if you're staying near by it is definitely worth having lunch or dinner here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Blue Jacktar is honored for your comment about our project. We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant Green Jack and Lavazza cappuccino. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommend our products.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I satayed here for a weekend on May ( low season) the hotel was nearly empty but the service was great. Rooms were nice and clean. Beach was great with bar and restaurant service. A very peacfull place compared with bigger resorts. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for choosing Blue Jacktar as your vacation spot, also thank you very much for sharing your experience and describe our property as a peacefull place, we feel very good that everything was to your liking.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A great place!
My family and I go to BJT every weekend. We had a great time in the beach area. My kid loves it, and has fun in the playground.
The restaurant is great and has an extraordinary staff.
Some nights you may be able to find a lounge ambiance with live music.
Highly recommended!

Charlotte

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thanks for recommending us, we are glad that your family enjoyed the beach, playground and restaurant Green Jack, this is only a part of all that professional team have for all customers visiting our property.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,601 reviews
8.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue JackTar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue JackTar

Address: Playa Dorada Complex | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £77 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue JackTar 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue JackTar Hotel, located just 15 minutes from the International Airport Gregorio Luperon, and 3 miles from the touristic town of Puerto Plata. This gorgeous property designed as a family orientated multi-product property. Located in the recognized Playa Dorada complex, with a wonderful view of the Isabel de Torres Mountain, the Blue JackTar Hotel, has 78 extensively renovated beautiful rooms. The hotel is also located around the world-recognized Robert Trent Jones Sr. 18 Holes Playa Dorada golf course. The Blue JackTar Hotel, offers our customers high standards of accommodation, a la carte breakfast, personalized service by our Club Concierges, and the option for lunch and dinner at the Green Jack Restaurant, where you can enjoy exquisite Dominican fusion cuisine, and also international flavors plus Jack´s Kite & Grill. After dinner, enjoy the ambiance of Green Jack, especially in our Saturday live music presentations. Blue JackTar Hotel, is the perfect place to spend time with your family, met new friends or share a romantic vacation. Come, enjoy and experience the well known hospitality of this Caribbean product! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue JackTar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue JackTar Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing