We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chilling vacation”
Review of Blue JackTar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue JackTar
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wow impressive how simple is so grate. no all inclusive ... but I don't like all inclusive they tell you what to eat and what time ... I don't like that. Green Jack is a excellent restaurant on the premises, all that I ate was good and modes price... some one complain on the prices and the breakfast ... and both are incorrect. Prices and Quality are super. The room was clean to perfection, there was a bit nosy air condition, but the room is big .. this is 1-01 close to all beach front desk pool. The premises were impeccable

Room Tip: ask for mojito with ginger .... wow ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our restaurant Jack Green as well as all areas. We appreciate your observation as you have noted in this regard about the noise from the air, we have worked in it.
I hope you return soon for a nice vacation in Blue Jacktar.

Att.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Puerto plata is an older destination and finding hotels is not always easy. However I'm over the whole all inclusive thing while in puerto plata because there is so much to do and I don't want to pay for mediocre food. When we discovered blue jack tar I was alittle hesitant because I had seen it before it was remolded and I must say it surprised me. The check in was quick the service was great and the rooms felt like home. Clean, specious, and with great decor. I liked it so much I have been there 5 times only in 2013. You have green jack to eat nearby they also have another Asian restaurant and you can go to other places to explore the food and the views nearby. The beach is peaceful and you have waiter service too. You can even do water sports since Sea pro is also in puerto plata. All in all if you want to discover puerto plata, or do business but you want to sleep like your at home I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suits are very spacious and would be great for families they even have kitchens. All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Blue Jacktar appreciates your comments in this forum, but mostly we are more than happy because you felt like home, this is a gift for our staff who works to achieve this mission and meet their expectations.

Thank you very much for recommending it.

It will be a pleasure to see you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here with my family (3 kids + wife) mid-December and found in to be an excellent and very safe experience.

This is not an all-inclusive hotel, so if you’re looking for the ‘$499-and-not-a-penny-more’ experience this isn’t for you. Nor is there an ‘animation team’ that tries to motivate you into an artificial sense of bonhomie, so if that’s your thing, once again, it might not work for you.

If you’re looking for good service, excellent food and a respectful atmosphere, then you should definitely consider this place.

It’s built on the ‘bones’ of an older, larger hotel (that ironically was one of the first all-inclusive resorts back in its day). The new management has closed most of the old resort and re-opened only a portion of the rooms as a boutique hotel. That decision has astutely allowed them to focus on quality.

Service was very good in all areas, with people that clearly take pride in their work. The beach area, bar and restaurant were all top-notch. Safety was never an issue -- we literally didn’t lock our doors during our entire stay. We only carried a room-key in case the maid locked up after servicing the rooms.

While we went as a family, it would be an excellent place for a couple as well. We would definitely return here without hesitation.

Some points of note:
- the restaurant is clearly geared more to 3 or 4 day stays than a full two weeks. While the food is excellent, the menu is somewhat brief. If you stay as long as we did, you’ll likely have everything on the menu twice. A daily chefs-special would solve that issue easily and it’s a bit of a mystery why they don’t have one.
- the rooms themselves are not brand new, nor are they in perfect condition. They are clean, tasteful, comfortable and well maintained, but they were built 20-some years ago, so don’t expect marble floors or 50 inch TV’s. The Jacuzzi tubs are especially sad (I wish hoteliers would realize that these things are *always* a bad idea in hotels – assuming they work, most establishments lack the water pressure to fill them in your lifetime, but I digress).
- the tile on the room patios is very slippery when wet. Not your plain everyday slippery-when-wet, we’re talking insanely-a-personal-injury-lawyers-wet-dream-crack-your-skull-open slippery. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank win2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Firstly thank you very much for your comment and for considering Blue Jacktar for your stay with your family, we are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff´s services.
About your tips will assure that we have worked on it and we have it in mind for future reforms and thanks for the same.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Att.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed a two-night stay as a family at this resort. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and jui special location for guests at the beach. If you do not want to buy an all-inclusive package which prevails in the market, this is a good alternative. We enjoyed a couple of delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntlTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for choosing Blue JackTar for your holidays, it´s good to know that you have enjoyed at the beach and our breakfast. Overall relaxed, that´s the idea.

Att.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Blue Jack Tar from December 25th till December 29th. We had a great time at the resort. Very clean villas, great beach, delicious food. It was our first time in Dominican republic and we were pleased to find this amazing resort. The manager/ staff are very helpful. We got advice on where to go outside of the resort for food, drinks, sightseeing and were treated as a part of the family. It's a great place for romantic getaway or family vacation. We'll be coming back next year for sure)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MashaHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment about your experience at Blue JackTar and how great was your vacation here as well you consider us like an amazing resort.
That is the esence of our mission to treat everyone as part of the family.

We look forward to see you back in Blue JackTar.

Att.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

me and my husband were in this hotel for a few days and the green area is just perfect
its a very quiet hotel.. the breakfast is just fine, Jose manuel the night clerk is a very kind and lovely person. the service is perfect and the restaurant has a very pleasant environment definitely this is a place that i consider to visit again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

First of all, thanks you for your comments and visit Blue JackTar, we work for all our guests and it´s very heartwarming to know that you and your husband have considered our service as perfect.

Att.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We went for a short vacation (Sun.-Wed.) and found it surprisingly outstanding for the price. Room was impeccable, friendly staff, quietness = high quiality sleep, comfortable bed and smooth pillows (I love that... ;-)

Beach place was again outstanding. Gorgeous king-size bed-like hamacas.

The same applies to the Gree Jack Tar restaurant where we enjoied a delightfull dinner.

Look forward to visiting this hotel again.

Just to mention an improvable point, A/C was a bit noisy. Fortunately we only need it for the day and the ceiling fan was enough to keep a confortable temperature over the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Replycant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are glad to read your comments, it is a privilege to know that you enjoyed everything, specially our atmosphere, the Green Jack restaurant and beach bed as well ours rooms.

We hope see you soon at Blue JackTar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue JackTar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue JackTar

Address: Playa Dorada Complex | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £76 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue JackTar 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue JackTar Hotel, located just 15 minutes from the International Airport Gregorio Luperon, and 3 miles from the touristic town of Puerto Plata. This gorgeous property designed as a family orientated multi-product property. Located in the recognized Playa Dorada complex, with a wonderful view of the Isabel de Torres Mountain, the Blue JackTar Hotel, has 78 extensively renovated beautiful rooms. The hotel is also located around the world-recognized Robert Trent Jones Sr. 18 Holes Playa Dorada golf course. The Blue JackTar Hotel, offers our customers high standards of accommodation, a la carte breakfast, personalized service by our Club Concierges, and the option for lunch and dinner at the Green Jack Restaurant, where you can enjoy exquisite Dominican fusion cuisine, and also international flavors plus Jack´s Kite & Grill. After dinner, enjoy the ambiance of Green Jack, especially in our Saturday live music presentations. Blue JackTar Hotel, is the perfect place to spend time with your family, met new friends or share a romantic vacation. Come, enjoy and experience the well known hospitality of this Caribbean product! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue JackTar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue JackTar Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing