We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue JackTar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue JackTar
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Wonderful Experience - Delicious meals and service, Grounds and Atmosphere are Beautifully maintained, Very Comfortable and CLEAN Rooms, Relaxing Environment, and most of all the Staff were ALL TERRIFIC - very friendly and helpful!!!!
Would definitely Visit Again and Bring Family and Friends.
-The Schreibers from New Jersey

Room Tip: All rooms are conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Front Office Manager at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is very nice you have taken the time to write about your experience during your stay with us, thanks very much for it. Your words encourage us to continue our mission to serve.
We'll let our staff know about your comments.

Att.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    61
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
54
91
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great service, kind people, room was spotless, Food and music in green Jack Rest. Makes you want to go back over and over. Very creative menu for food and drinks. Life guard at the beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Front Office Manager at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your reviews, hotel´s staff is happy because all of you enjoyed their stay here. About your observation I am pleased to let you know that we have a lifeguard until 6pm.

We hope you return soon.

Att.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I Stayed 3 nights with my family, in one of the suites by the pool. Great value , clean, comfy and above all: extreme kindness from all persons working at the resort. Green Jack is a excellent restaurant on the premises, and the breakfast was wonderful !! Beach awesome and the golf course looks great too. The check in was quick the service was great and the rooms felt like home. Clean, specious, and with great decor. I liked it so much. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suites by the pool are like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giselapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience in this forum and we are honored for choosing us for your stay. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in our property. That feel at home is very valuable to us.

Att.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my family. Stayed in one of the suites by the pool. Great value , clean, comfy and above all: extreme kindness from all persons working at the resort. Food was wonderful. Beach awesome and the golf course looks great too. Will be back for another long weekend in february.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SHAH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Blue Jacktar feel pleased by your comments and for choosing us to spend your holiday with us. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services. Specially you felt comfortable at all times is very rewarding for our staff.

Att.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wow impressive how simple is so grate. no all inclusive ... but I don't like all inclusive they tell you what to eat and what time ... I don't like that. Green Jack is a excellent restaurant on the premises, all that I ate was good and modes price... some one complain on the prices and the breakfast ... and both are incorrect. Prices and Quality are super. The room was clean to perfection, there was a bit nosy air condition, but the room is big .. this is 1-01 close to all beach front desk pool. The premises were impeccable

Room Tip: ask for mojito with ginger .... wow ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our restaurant Jack Green as well as all areas. We appreciate your observation as you have noted in this regard about the noise from the air, we have worked in it.
I hope you return soon for a nice vacation in Blue Jacktar.

Att.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Puerto plata is an older destination and finding hotels is not always easy. However I'm over the whole all inclusive thing while in puerto plata because there is so much to do and I don't want to pay for mediocre food. When we discovered blue jack tar I was alittle hesitant because I had seen it before it was remolded and I must say it surprised me. The check in was quick the service was great and the rooms felt like home. Clean, specious, and with great decor. I liked it so much I have been there 5 times only in 2013. You have green jack to eat nearby they also have another Asian restaurant and you can go to other places to explore the food and the views nearby. The beach is peaceful and you have waiter service too. You can even do water sports since Sea pro is also in puerto plata. All in all if you want to discover puerto plata, or do business but you want to sleep like your at home I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suits are very spacious and would be great for families they even have kitchens. All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Blue Jacktar appreciates your comments in this forum, but mostly we are more than happy because you felt like home, this is a gift for our staff who works to achieve this mission and meet their expectations.

Thank you very much for recommending it.

It will be a pleasure to see you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here with my family (3 kids + wife) mid-December and found in to be an excellent and very safe experience.

This is not an all-inclusive hotel, so if you’re looking for the ‘$499-and-not-a-penny-more’ experience this isn’t for you. Nor is there an ‘animation team’ that tries to motivate you into an artificial sense of bonhomie, so if that’s your thing, once again, it might not work for you.

If you’re looking for good service, excellent food and a respectful atmosphere, then you should definitely consider this place.

It’s built on the ‘bones’ of an older, larger hotel (that ironically was one of the first all-inclusive resorts back in its day). The new management has closed most of the old resort and re-opened only a portion of the rooms as a boutique hotel. That decision has astutely allowed them to focus on quality.

Service was very good in all areas, with people that clearly take pride in their work. The beach area, bar and restaurant were all top-notch. Safety was never an issue -- we literally didn’t lock our doors during our entire stay. We only carried a room-key in case the maid locked up after servicing the rooms.

While we went as a family, it would be an excellent place for a couple as well. We would definitely return here without hesitation.

Some points of note:
- the restaurant is clearly geared more to 3 or 4 day stays than a full two weeks. While the food is excellent, the menu is somewhat brief. If you stay as long as we did, you’ll likely have everything on the menu twice. A daily chefs-special would solve that issue easily and it’s a bit of a mystery why they don’t have one.
- the rooms themselves are not brand new, nor are they in perfect condition. They are clean, tasteful, comfortable and well maintained, but they were built 20-some years ago, so don’t expect marble floors or 50 inch TV’s. The Jacuzzi tubs are especially sad (I wish hoteliers would realize that these things are *always* a bad idea in hotels – assuming they work, most establishments lack the water pressure to fill them in your lifetime, but I digress).
- the tile on the room patios is very slippery when wet. Not your plain everyday slippery-when-wet, we’re talking insanely-a-personal-injury-lawyers-wet-dream-crack-your-skull-open slippery. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank win2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucrecia P, Director de Recepción at Blue JackTar, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Firstly thank you very much for your comment and for considering Blue Jacktar for your stay with your family, we are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff´s services.
About your tips will assure that we have worked on it and we have it in mind for future reforms and thanks for the same.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Att.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,323 reviews
0.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue JackTar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue JackTar

Property: Blue JackTar
Address: | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue JackTar 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue JackTar Hotel, located just 15 minutes from the International Airport Gregorio Luperon, and 3 miles from the touristic town of Puerto Plata. This gorgeous property designed as a family orientated multi-product property. Located in the recognized Playa Dorada complex, with a wonderful view of the Isabel de Torres Mountain, the Blue JackTar Hotel, has 78 extensively renovated beautiful rooms. The hotel is also located around the world-recognized Robert Trent Jones Sr. 18 Holes Playa Dorada golf course. The Blue JackTar Hotel, offers our customers high standards of accommodation, a la carte breakfast, personalized service by our Club Concierges, and the option for lunch and dinner at the Green Jack Restaurant, where you can enjoy exquisite Dominican fusion cuisine, and also international flavors plus Jack´s Kite & Grill. After dinner, enjoy the ambiance of Green Jack, especially in our Saturday live music presentations. Blue JackTar Hotel, is the perfect place to spend time with your family, met new friends or share a romantic vacation. Come, enjoy and experience the well known hospitality of this Caribbean product! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue JackTar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue JackTar Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing