We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable day out”
Review of Outback Adventures

Outback Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Outback Adventures takes you into the heart of the real Dominican Republic. Whether you choose our All Inclusive Outback Safari Truck tour or our Terracross VIP ATV(4x4) excursion, our goal is to ensure you have a fun, informative and memorable day! If you are coming to the island via Carnival Cruises and docking at Amber Cove you'll find Outback Adventures in their shore excursion information. We hope you join Outback Adventures Puerto Plata for an exciting tour off the beaten path!
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Really good day to see the real Dominican Republic .... Great heights for amazing views.. Food good at the restaurant fried chicken was just like kfc..
Enjoyed the boogie boarding..
Nice to visit the farm and see local produce and daily living...
Not so keen on the school visit ... With amount of daily visitors .. Taking of photos of the children wouldn't be acceptable here A bit uncomfortable.
Really good tour guide manny ... Great fun guy...
Had a good day would recommend .ll

Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidiaSophia, Public Relations Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hola Simone P

Many thanks for coming on safari with us and for sharing your thoughts! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the day. I would like to assure you that our school visits are welcomed by both the teachers and students as they love to meet new friends and truly appreciate the school supplies and little treats some of our guests bring for the children! I'll be sure to share your compliments with Manny and we do hope you'll join us on another adventure in the future!

Cheers
Your Outback Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boogie boarding"
in 176 reviews
"local school"
in 95 reviews
"fried chicken"
in 72 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 142 reviews
"body boarding"
in 31 reviews
"local home"
in 20 reviews
"family home"
in 19 reviews
"free massage"
in 18 reviews
"dominican republic"
in 97 reviews
"secluded beach"
in 39 reviews
"driver ramon"
in 10 reviews
"eddy murphy"
in 19 reviews
"sugar cane"
in 49 reviews
"dominican house"
in 16 reviews
"school visit"
in 16 reviews
"a typical dominican home"
in 10 reviews
"pineapple wine"
in 13 reviews
Filter

182 - 186 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We did this excursion our first trip to down and loved it. It was a lot of fun and the guides were very nice

Thank Cristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidiaSophia, Public Relations Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hola Cristine!

Many thanks for choosing Outback Adventures and for this super review! We hope to see you again on a return trip!

Cheers
Your Outback Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My wife and I took this excursion the first week of October and this little adventure was a highlight of our trip, first of all our guides were Eddie Murphy and driver Ramone they took great care of everyone on the trip and made sure we were safe and made sure we enjoyed the day (lasted about 7hours). Eddie was a lot of fun and is very knowledgeable and more than willing to share Dominican history and the lifestyle of locals,this is the best way to take in what you normally wouldn't see in the Dominican by staying on the resort for the week . We visited a local farm, met the family who runs the farm and were taken on a tour of their home and plantation where they grow cofee and cocoa.We also visited a school and interacted with the children and if we had of known ahead of time we would have brought school supplies for them which is highly recommended the kids just loved it.Next we drove to a tropical river and went for a quick dip in a very relaxing water hole. This was an inclusive day trip our driver and bartender Ramone made sure everyone had their share of drinks rum or beer and water was served all day an excellent lunch was provided awesome fried chicken, salads and rice at their restaurant and then we went to a secluded beach and had a chance to boogie board in the ocean the water was very wavy and that was a lot of fun.We had a really good day on this trip and would highly recommend this excursion . I don't know if you have the option when booking this trip but if you can I recommend asking for Eddie and Ramone they really made this trip awesome.Also they sell souvenirs(shirts and hats) and part of the money from sales goes back to the kids at the school.Hopefully going back next year with our kids they would definitely love this trip.Thanks again to Eddie and Ramone for being a part of another memorable trip in the Dominican Republic .

1  Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidiaSophia, Public Relations Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hola Gerald L!

Many many thanks for joining our safari and for this wonderfully detailed review and recommendation! I'll be sure to share your kind comments and compliments with Eddy and Ramone! Positive feedback is the very best reward for a job well done! You've captured the tour perfectly and thanks for mentioning our community school project. The children love to meet new friends and very much appreciate every gift received! We all look forward to your return with your own kids and until then...

Cheers
From Your Outback Adventures Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Horse riding was great! I was too scared to do ziplining. But my bf loved it! There was tons of cables to zip line on so he saw tons of stuff! Buffet lunch was good too!

Thank Missdesi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidiaSophia, Public Relations Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hola Missdesi87,

Unfortunately, you were not on tour with us. We do not offer the activities you've written about. Hopefully you'll join us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is an amazing way to see how the Dominicans live

We went to a local school and met some of the children, this trip actually sponsors this school and 40% of all things/gifts purchased from outback Adventures goes to the school

People that had done this trip before took things with them for the school :
Pencils
Pens
Notepads
Rubbers
Sweets
Anything you take is most gratefully received by the school

I wish we had know about it so we could have got some things to take in

We went also to visit a local family,who make coffee and chocolate and grow fruit , all of which you can sample- delicious!

Boogie boarding, looked great but I only watched!

Swim in a beautiful river

Lunch at the ranch

Our Guide Julian was very funny and knowledgeable

Drinks were plentiful both soft and Alcoholic

Would highly recommend this trip for all age groups

On a side note : I lost my purse , I wasn't sure if I dropped it in the hotel or on the bus , had around 7000 Dominican pesos in it , the lovely outback Adventure team found it and brought it to the hotel the following day !! I was so happy!

Thank zest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidiaSophia, Public Relations Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hola zest22!

Thank you so very much for joining us on safari and this fantastic review and recommendation! And thanks for mentioning our community efforts! We couldn't do it without you! Glad your purse was recovered and returned. I'm sure that was a big relief for you! I'll be sure to let Julian know you mentioned his guide skills and that you enjoyed the entire day! We do hope you'll join us again in the future!

Cheers!
Your Outback Adventures Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Adventures also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Outback Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing