We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER THAN EVER”
Review of Sebastian

Sebastian
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BETTER THAN EVER”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Sebastian was Perla Negra before and even though it was good then it is so much better now. The best Italian food you can get in the area. Teresa is an excellent chef. It is like eating in Italy. The pizza is the best in Puerto Plata. Sebastian is a wonderful host and the entire staff is professional and welcoming. You can not go wrong if you choose Sebastian.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Puerto Plata!! Maybe even in all of the DR!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Simply AMAZING food!! While out and about in Puerto Plata we saw a small sign/ad for this restaurant and wondered skeptically (snarkily) how "truly authentic" it would be... and where it was located... later in the day and very hungry we ended up walking right to it by complete kismet!! We decided to give it a try and the food was so simply delicious that we ate there the next night and every night after that until our flight out!! The Limoncello, the Tiramisu, Tortellinni Alfredo, Amatriciana, Cannellonnis... Every dish we tried was heavenly!! The staff and regulars are a wonderfully hilarious mix of family and friends that make it quite the experience!!

The atmosphere is lovely and is more like an upscale, quaint yet homey feeling... (the pictures here are older and DO NOT do it Justice!!) EVERYTHING overall was really just fabulous!!! And at excellently fair prices! Every night when we left we would begin to plan what to eat the next night!!

Do yourself and anyone with you huge favor and stop by.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enigma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding - beautiful place with authentic Italian food!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We kind of stumbled on this place after flying for 18 hours and driving 6 more from Santo Domingo. We were exhausted and in need of food and wifi (to find our hotel lacking cell coverage), so the bar was pretty low. That said, we were immediately charmed by the simple, yet beautiful and airy atmosphere. The staff quickly got us drinks and made suggestions for appetizers, both of which blew us away with their freshness and quality. Octopus carpaccio on arugula was incredible, and the Eggplant Parmesan sublime. Our entrees were brilliant, and we found ourselves reluctant to go, even though it was late, we were very tired and wanted to get to our hotel. Do yourself a favor and stop by this place and let them delight you - you won't be disappointed!!

Helpful?
Thank Kiliwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Qc.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Miss Jessica”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Cute little Italian bistro, with host Sebastian at the helm of entertainment. Can be a bit pricey, because he'll offer you off-menu plates and outta this world prices if you don't ask first.

Since ex-wife and chef is no longer there, quality and variety have gone down some, but still a nice little place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“REAL AUTHENTIC ITALIAN FOOD”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This is the real thing. Not the DR version of Italian food. Teresa is an excellent chef and Sebastian a great host. Everything is delicious including the pizza. Homemade ravioli, creamy risotto, fish and meat are all excellent. We love eating there every week.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sebastian also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing