We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Colonial for a very relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Casa Colonial for a very relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

After a stressful year, my wife and wanted to just get away and have a relaxing vacation that would not break the bank but where we could still be pampered. We have traveled to many places and stayed at several high-end resorts (Ritz Carlton in Maui, Elbow Beach in Bermuda, Auberge Du Soleil in Napa, and Blancaneaux Lodge & Turtle Inn in Belize to name a few) and are used to paying for quality service and food. For this vacation we were looking for a smaller resort that would hopefully provide the same type of service as the high-end places we were used to staying at. We found Casa Colonial in the” Small Luxury Hotels of the World” book, and after looking at Trip Advisor reviews, Frommers & Fodors information we decided this would be the place.

We opted for the airport transfer because we were not planning to rent a car and wanted to have a low stress time. Although this VIP airport transfer was $160, it required absolutely zero effort by us which was well worth the splurge. After getting off the plane and entering the arrival area a gentleman was standing with a sign with our names on it (its nice to feel like ‘High-Rollers!’). We were then escorted to a large comfortable lounge area, where we were offered drinks, snacks and comfy chairs. We gave another gentleman our baggage tickets and our escort got all of our information needed for customs. He then provided us with details about the resort and about the schedule of dinners that I had arranged with the concierge via email several weeks before we arrived. If we go back I will likely opt for this airport transfer option again.

The staff: Everyone from the beginning to the end of our stay was very professional, polite and courteous. From room service, to pool service, to beach service, to breakfast… FIVE STAR SERVICE all around.

The room: Our room was a Jr. Suite Ocean Front Lanai for five nights. This included breakfast and came to a total cost after taxes and fees of only $350 per night. The room was large and nicely appointed. We were on the first floor and had a nice view of the ocean. The room was always kept clean (serviced twice daily). Although they did not have an iPOD docking station, the alarm clock was a BOSE Wave radio. The TV in the armoire was a tube and probably should be updated to a flat panel LCD but this really didn’t matter to us since we watched very little TV. The bathroom was top notch with double sinks big shower and large soaking tub.

Pool & Beach: The rooftop infinity pool and 4 hot tubs were amazing. A full bar and eating area by the pool also made it very easy to eat and drink while relaxing with great views of the beach below. The Beach was very nice. It was combed every morning and the water quality and lack of rocks was good for swimming. It was not the white sand beaches of Bermuda, but it was more than adequate. Food and drink service at the beach also made our experience great. At both bathing locations, plenty of lounge chairs were always available, and the attendant was quick to put down towels on whatever comfy chaise lounges we chose.

Food: We dined at Casa Colonial for 3 of the 5 nights (nights 1,3 and 5). The last night we did the romantic dinner on the beach. The food was excellent each night and the menu was diverse enough to make each night’s dinner unique (however if we were there for a week we probably would not eat dinner more that 4 nights as it would probably seem redundant). The romantic dinner on the beach was very well done and I recommend it highly. Even when a light sprinkle came through the staff quickly and smoothly move a beach umbrella to cover us and our table. I won’t spoil the after dinner surprise but let’s say I was blown away and that it was totally unexpected. Full American breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent. We were told when we were picked up at the airport that we could have breakfast (or dinner) in our room at no extra charge (this is unheard of at any of the other resorts and was a pleasant option). For breakfast you could order off the menu or get the buffet or do some of both, they didn’t “nickel & dime” you and charge you extra for doing so. The only thing not include with breakfast were the mimosas we ordered (that we understand ;).
Ability to Relax: This is where the resort really shined. The staff was there to serve you and they did so genuinely. Whether we were at the pool, beach, lounge, dinner or in our room, the staff made us feel like we were special and never were any of our requests a burden on them. By far this resort was the best service we have every encountered in our travels.

Spa: We both got massages and had them outside by the beach. We both recommend the outdoor option. It made the treatment even better. The facilities (steam room, sauna & showers) were first rate and the staff also excellent.

Miscellaneous: No free internet (we were there to ‘check-out’ from the rest of the world, so this did not bother us); The buildings and the grounds are a beautiful white coral, they were cleaned constantly and always looked immaculate; The gym was small but functional; There are resorts on both sides on Casa Colonial however each resort seems to own their beachfront property – the staff was constantly on watch to make sure no interlopers tried to poach lounge chairs or umbrellas (not much of a problem during our stay), when we went into the water we felt 100% secure that our stuff would be there when we returned; Locals walk up and down the beach all day trying to pedal local wares but are polite when you say ‘no thanks’, they did not interrupt our relaxation; Had dinner at Mares and it was excellent, upscale like at the resort and apparently the chef used to work at the resort; Also had dinner at Ponderosa (nothing to do with the ‘Ponderosa’ here in the states), this is a very, vary casual local place where the food was like good home cooking. They have lobsters in the tank but we ordered mofungo and sancocho and they were both very good – this dinner was very inexpensive but good and casual; there is a strip mall with many shops and a few places to eat just outside the resort (5-10 min walk or take the golf cart if you don’t want to be hassled by men working for other timeshare resorts trying to get you to ‘come in for just 5 minutes’), there you can purchase just about anything you need.

Excursions: Although we were there for a relaxing vacation, once I saw a chance to jump off waterfalls I signed us up for the ’27 Waterfalls’ trip through www.iguanamama.com. We booked it well in advance and made sure we had water shoes and a waterproof camera. It was amazing and well worth the price of $185 for 2 people (including lunch). I’ve read some bad storing about waterfall adventures in the D.R. but this adventure was amazing and we felt safe the entire time. The guides were in excellent shape and in total control throughout the day’s activities.

Summary: If you want a place to go to relax and be pampered then this is the place. Very few children (I feel it would be irresponsible to bring children since they would have nothing to do). Excellent staff, food, rooms, grounds, and all at a very reasonable cost when compared to other places that promote such treatment. The next time we are looking for a total relaxation vacation we will be going back here (this probably means the most to us since we very rarely go back to a place more than once).

Room Tip: We booked directly though the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheDOCatUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    64
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
310
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Wow! We stayed for 13 nights in this beautiful hotel. I can't think of one thing that I could complain about. The hotel has beautiful rooms, grounds and staff. They make you feel like a king and queen! Before our trip I spent many many hours reading reviews on every hotel in Puerto Plata and hopefully the next person that is as picky as I won't have to. We took many walks down the beach and I felt this was the only property that had true ocean front rooms and sitting on our balcony looking at the ocean every morning was a memory I will never forget. I can't say enough about the staff. I am going home with the feeling that I made many friends (staff) that I will stay in touch with. We had maid service twice a day & were waited on hand and foot! Love it, Love it!

Room Tip: Reserve ocean front junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookouttavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Service, sophistication, ambiance, you will get it all here!! We found this treasure after arriving at our previously booked resort and being appalled by where we were!! Had we not found this gem of a hotel, we would never had considered revisiting the Dominican Republic. We are now planning my 40th birthday celebration at Casa Colonial with friends later this year!! Visiting this establishment once is just not enough!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksbb1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

One of the best hotels we've stayed at. Service was teriffic, the resturant was wonderful. We had the ulimate package which included being greeted at the airport, dinner on the beach, and messages for both of us, a little over the top but it was worth it! Small intimate setting. No need to run out to stake your claim on a beach chair. We stayed four nights. Only negatives are lack of other resturants in the area, shopping is all junk and town is not a highlight. None of which has to do with the hotel. By the way the Hotels resturant Lucia is fantastic.

Room Tip: We the hotel called directly, very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joekonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Where do we start, how about never wanting it to end. Greeted by wonderfully friendly staff, and an ice cold drink. The hotel lobby beautiful and inviting with a peek of the out of this world restaurant "Lucia" where we ate the first night. The food was amazing, breakfast, lunch or dinner!! We felt so comfortable everywhere we went, our room, the bed, the pool, the beach, but you should definately ask for "Ardenis" who was gracious to our needs every second and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay more wonderful. He is a big asset to the hotel along with the rest of the staff,Kennedy, Santiago and even the housekeeping cleaning our rooms two times a day, and leaving little treats for us and music playing so softly. The dinner for two on the beach was amazing, romantic and a rose petal bath in the room with candles waiting for us was the best suprise. The beach was quiet and the water beautiful and always someone waiting to offer you a drink or a towel. The spa was our last day event, massages out by the beach with friendly staff. Definately a 5 star hotel in our minds and we will make this trip every year or even more and look forward to it. Leaving was the hardest part.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at the Casa Colonial for our 30th anniversary trip and it could not have been more perfect. The hotel exudes colonial charm from the physical structure to the attentive yet unobtrusive service. We were greeted upon arrival by the concierge, Israel Coronado, and offered a drink even before he had begun to check us in. He then gave us a tour of the hotel and escorted us to the room. We had asked for an oceanview room and were upgraded to a lanai room less than 300 yards from a beautiful beach. The room was spacious, exquisitely clean and so quiet that all you could hear was the waves. The third floor pool is small but serene and relaxing. The spa is modern and again marked by great service. During our stay, Senor Casoni, who manages the company that owns the hotel, came by and spoke with us on several occasions. The hotel restaurant, Lucia, served outstanding modern fusion cuisine. We ate very well in town also. To top it all, we were able to go Latin dancing every night at local bars. Rancho Tipico was especially wonderful. We were the only tourists there which didn't keep us from getting on the floor to do the merengue and the bachata! This was a near perfect trip. If it had been perfect, we wouldn't have come back.

Room Tip: Just ask when you book! They will accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanesssNYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for a long weekend at the Casa Colonial and cannot say enough about it! The grounds are beautiful, very intimiate, styled in an old world colonial home. They keep the grounds immaculate and the rooms are fantastic. The best part of the hotel is the staff. The are so warm and welcoming and quick to accomodate whatever you need! If you are looking for a quiet romantic weekend, this is the place to be!

Outside the Casa Colonial there is much to be desired. It falls in the Playa Dorado complex of about 10-15 hotels that are larger all inclusive hotels but no where near as nice as the Casa Colonial. You do have a shopping plaza within walking distance if you need to pick up some supplies. But other then that, there's really no need to leave the resort. It literally has the best restaurant in Puerto Plata.

We did do one excursion, horseback riding in the jungle ending at a beautiful waterfall. It was a great experience and highly recommend it! Awesome way to see some culture and nature in POP.

We cannot wait to come back to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanesssNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,624 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing