We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Meets Romance in the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxury Meets Romance in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Staying at Casa Colonial is like staying at an uncle's Plantation House in the heart of the Caribbean. As a Small Luxury Hotels of the World you can expect well trained staff willing to pamper the request of the small number of guest staying at 50 Luxury Suites.

What's cool about this hotel is that it is hidden within the Playa Dorada Complex, a popular destination for Canadians and New Yorkers in the late 80s. Since some the hotels of that period where transforms in Condo Appartments, Casa Colonial will give you the Shocking Look that you get in Italy when you go around places of low profile, not dangerous at all, but not flashy at all, until you get into it's gates and there it is Paradise.

In fact the must romantic dinner I have ever had, was at this place. I strongly encourage you to book a dinner at the beach and, when I say at the beach it is literally a table for you, at the beach with waiter and chef just serving you. Book ahead since it is highly requested and it might not be available if you don't booked at least one day ahead or as soon as you arrive.

The hotel is an ocean front property, the beach is good, but what I like more is the service you get from the hotel. I have tried with my wife and also with my daughters and they still remember the family dinner at the beach too, as well as the indulgence of the Spa with great products to pamper you.

You probably don't want to leave from the hotel once you are there. The guest I have found seams to be handpick too, a happy cosmopolitan small crowd that also make the stay pleasant, but since the place is big, you can also have your own space if you don't want to mingle. If you are staying at other hotels in the region, such as Cabarete, you might be aware that if by the timing you are visiting there is a national holiday in the DR, the beaches and roads get crowded, but that never affect the place (during my previous visits) because it is like a private Chateau o House as we said before.

Good places to see near by are Cabarete, after Sosua, let's say 30 minutes away. Cabarete is the regional Capital of the Windsurf and KiteSurf. If you go there, try eating at Papi's Restaurant, he is such a character, is like Foxy's at Just Van Dyke, you have to visit the place, except that here the attraction is the Food instead of the drink. If you approach a bar there, try a Jar of a Bar-Fly if you are in a group or by the glass. That's the Painkiller of the place.

In a nutshell, friendly staff, great place, spacious rooms, very private atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try a room facing the ocean and book dinner at the beach before you arrive or as soon as you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    65
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
311
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to DR and after much research selected CC. Cannot even begin to tell how unique and exquisite this place is, from the moment we checked in, treated like royalty. Every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel special without all of the high pressure of the surrounding resorts. If you are wanting entertainment and lots of activity, this is not the place for you. If you want a quiet, relaxing, beautiful, private, elegant place to relax, this is it. We walked thru 3 of the surrounding inclusive resorts just to see what they were like and couldn't wait to return to our haven at CC. The lobby at CC is beautiful in dark wood, marble and simple yet elegant furniture with live orchids everywhere. The rooms are very spacious with a very comfortable bed, tub big enough for two and a roomy shower as well. Air conditioning worked perfectly as well as a new flat screen tv and nice safe. The room service was amazing with turn down service which included a surprise each night. Breakfast each morning was delicious, just about everything you would want from oatmeal to fruit to Danish to a full American or DR breakfast. Again service was great. The ladies in the Bagua spa were wonderful, enjoyed 3 massages. Pool area was great with 4 very large jacuzzis, nice restaurant with great piña coladas, fish tacos and Cobb salad. The staff there also was great, ready to serve you whatever you need. Dinner at Lucia each night was a special treat. You must try roasted cappuccino soup...we ordered this each night...delicious! We will definitely return here. It has been like finding our own paradise. Even though there were other people on property, it was never crowded or loud. The property is absolutely beautiful with exotic birds everywhere, and kept very well maintained. Most rooms have a very spacious porch with table and chairs to enjoy the beauty of the property. Like I said at the beginning, I hate to leave a review for the word to get out about this property. Wish we could keep it our secret.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank forgiven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and for sharing your secret! This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests and we will certainly share your review with all of the staff. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Casa Colonial very soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyunyoung
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

After my first visit, we had to come back. The hotel and the rooms were as beautiful as ever. And the service was impeccable. The staff was friendly, helpful, and would bend over backwards for any request. I would not stay anywhere else in Puerto Plata.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hyunyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This was my second time in Casa Colonial and it was a great pleasure to enjoy its superb qualities again. Service, accomodation, food, all full marks for me. Peaceful and relaxing yet interesting and adventurous. I am definitely coming again. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Felipe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

As a bit of a hotel snob, it's not easy to impress me but Casa Colonial did just that. My husband 7 month old son and I went for 6 nights over Thanksgiving and I can easily say that everything at Casa Colonial was perfect; from the elegant decor to the food to most of all the service.

We traveled from California and it was a major haul to get there but it was definitely worth it and we plan to return. There really isn't another hotel to consider in Puerto Plata.

As I said we traveled with our 7 month old and I was nervous to leave him with someone new (really nervous) but the babysitters at the hotel Anibelle and Marisol were wonderful with him and very respectful of my anxiety. We were also extremely impressed with their restaurant and maid staff.

As part of our package (through Luxury Link) we enjoyed a romantic dinner on the beach. It was magical; something not to be missed.

Also the spa treatments and spa facilities are simply fantastic.

I could just go on and on but suffice it to say that if you are looking for a mellow getaway...the vibe at Casa Colonial is very low key...this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Dona Rosa was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethjane1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

One of the best hotels I have been to. Room is gorgeous (stayed in waterfront junior suite). Recommend ocean front rooms - great for sipping coffee on the terrace in the mornings and listening to the water breaking shore.
~Room - beds are amazing, bathroom has shower and big tub for two.
~Service - impecable from check-in to check-out
~Food - delicious, plenty of selection for non meat-eaters, like us, restaurant has fresh squeezed juices, prices are reasonable by US standars
~Drinks - amazing! The pina coladas are made the right way in a blender with original ingredients, not slushy style
~Beach - very comfy lounge beds and umbrellas, towels provided at beach, water is nice (some seaweed around)
~Entertainment - none, really. They have a bar and restaurant, but no cheesy activities or pools, so it's perfect for a quite getaway. Bring a book or your iPad to read, free internet.
~Special treat - get the $199 private romantic dinner at the beach for two. My bf surprised me with it and proposed there (men - take note, this is a marvelous way to do it), it was so private and romantic, and there is an extra special surprise at end of night.

Overall, an amazing experience!!! Strongly recommend it! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Definitely take oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEnchumbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Casa Colonial – congratulations on your engagement, we are honored that we could be part of your special day! Our team works very hard to provide an exceptional vacation for every guest, and it sounds like you had one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and my 1 year old son had an amazing 4 days at this small luxury hotel. The property is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food is fab and I couldn't say anything bad about this hidden gem in Puerto Plata. Only a 15-20 min drive from the airport. They hotel also coordinated our airport transfers (a added expense but not a problem). A must for everyone! Especially those who love boutique hotels.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They all adored our son which was so cute!

We shall return!

Room Tip: The room we had was on the 2nd floor near the spa and also with the view of the garden. I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,708 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing