We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We loved every minute of our time at this beautiful, quiet, private place. We were pampered from the moment we arrived. The buildings and grounds are spectacular and meticulously maintained. The room was wonderful, large and open with a balcony looking over the beach. The pool area is breathtaking. The staff was friendly, accommodating and professional, and they capably walked the fine line between being extremely attentive and allowing privacy. The food was excellent regardless of where we ate - in the restaurant, on the veranda, and poolside. The beach was scenic and fairly private. Everything about the facility was of the highest quality. (We did not take advantage of the spa.) We made a reservation here almost by accident, but we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach-side rooms have the best view, although the trees block some of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We appreciate receiving your kind review. The resort team works hard to provide excellent service and we will certainly pass on your compliments! This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Casa Colonial very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Please read my full review here http://archerabi.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/dominican-republic-2/

We stayed at a resort called Casa Colonial. The resort is designed like a colonial villa and is located right on the beach. It is located, along with many other resorts in a walled area called Playa Dorado. The Playa contains everything a tourist would need for the duration of their stay, including a pharmacy, restaurants, shopping center etc. Pulling up at the entrance one will immediately realize that this resort is a class above every other resort in Puerto Plata

Room Tip: Oceanfront Lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank archerabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We loved the dining room and chef John Carlos(spelling may be wrong).Being there at low season gave us the advantage of speaking with him each night for recommendations and what wonderful dishes they were,both delicious and presented beautifully.He is a very talented chef.We dined looking out at a gorgeous garden with orchids winding around a tree outside the window.We also enjoyed the breakfast/lunch restaurant on a deck overlooking the beach and the ocean.Ramon,Noel and Augustin were friendly,competent servers and made it very pleasant.At both restaurants,since everything is cooked to order,prepare to enjoy the ambience and conversation.
The suite we stayed in was lovely and comfortable.The service was excellent.The beach is beautifully maintained and security is always present.I enjoy beach shopping so the occasional vendor was not problematic.Being a beach person,I spent no time at the pool but it is stunning and the view from the roof is delightful.
The biggest negative we encountered was that the resort is not well set-up for those with a walking disability.There are a number of 2 or 3 step staircases and these do not have banisters.The ramps are too steep too walk with a cane or walker.However,the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback and we will definitely pass along your comments to Chef Giancarlo Fiori. You are correct that the hotel is not set up for guests with disabilities, and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused, but we are pleased to hear that the staff was able to provide assistance. We certainly hope be able to welcome back to Casa Colonial again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Casa Colonial has the right recipe - great design, superb service, dedicated staff, top line products (Frette bedding/robes), and fantastic location. Upon arrival, your welcome sets the stage for a truly relaxing and indulging getaway. This is the type of small, boutique property that pays close attention to every detail and truly wants to satisfy its guests. The hotel management is very visible throughout the property - welcoming and engaging guests. Basilia, the GM, is a lovely individual who truly cares and expects the very best of her staff to ensure that guests and the hotel are well tended to. Casa Colonial really takes the guess work out of booking taxis (done and charged by hotel), finding tours and restaurants. There's top shelf offering at all bars with very well trained bartenders ready to pour a delicious drink. The beach area is impeccably maintained offering very comfortable cushioned teak chairs with uniformed staff monitoring your needs and keep tight security on the property's beach perimeter. Yes, you still get the local vendors - but they don't linger as much. At night, security is heightened even more to offer guests the opportunity to enjoy a moonlit stroll on the beach. The food was delicious - albeit the service is sometimes a bit slow - you know Caribbean time.
Our room - ocean front junior suite - offered all the luxurious amenities that we love and the balcony was large enough to relax and offered comfy seating areas. It was perfect for two adults and a child. The soaking tub was enjoyed by all! Nightly water/ice and cookies service was that special treat that brought a smile to our faces before going to bed.
Our only suggestion is for Casa Colonial to consider adding a large, comfy game room area of some sort - like offer board and table games so that visiting families can enjoy a bit of a break. It would be truly lovely if this hotel offered a top notch kids' club so parents can enjoy a quiet early dinner or lunch on their own.
We cannot wait to return and spend time here. Thank you for making our stay so special! See you again soon!

Room Tip: The best are ocean front junior suites.. but the garden views are also quite lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WonderousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Four of us stayed here in two beautiful rooms over looking the ocean. We all loved the place. The spa was wonderful, the dinner at the restaurant was amazing and the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel make this a place where we are sure to return. Unlike other people, we had no problem with the wifi...I was able to watch March Madness on my slingbox from home.

As a tip, if you are dining at the restaurant on premises, get the mushroom risotto and the ahi tuna tartar. Both are fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ufalum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I last stayed here in 2008 and had a very enjoyable holiday. Returning is not always a good idea. Next door to this hotel is somewhat cheaper all inclusive that have a late night special on the beach on a Friday night. Very very noisy and it goes on late. The Internet connection as others have remarked is poor at best. The staff in the breakfast room and the dining room were absolutely lovely and did everything they could to please. On the dining room menu it would be good to have some simple options, but if you do ask they are prepared for you. I found the cost of dinner including the 28 per cent taxes up there with London prices which Is surprising.

I had a room adjacent to the swimming pool which is a roof top situation. It was fine for the first few days, and then one had the joy of children's beach balls landing on the balcony, knocking over a glass of wine. An apology would have been good but not forthcoming.

In general I found the hotel to be clean but just beginning to show signs of shabbiness. The robes in my bedroom were well past their sell by date.

The Spa was as good as ever and for this reason alone I have marked up my general feelings about this particular hotel. I was due to stay longer,but checked out early and no, I will not be back. It's probably fine for a long weekend and no more.

About me, I am someone who travels the world frequently and am fortunate enough to do so in style.......this place is not value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 43 like the plague - next door to the swimming pool, and probably as close as you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for visiting the Dominican Republic and for choosing Casa Colonial. We are so sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We take our guest feedback extremely seriously, so we looked into what might have caused these issues so that we can ensure they are not repeated. Our neighbor hotel, The Barcelo, did have a party one evening and following your call, we did contact them immediately to request they contain the noise. Our records show that you were offered a room change and an upgrade, but that you opted to stay in your suite. We would also like to ensure you that our robes are all brand new, having all been replaced in January. Our staff did try their utmost to help you have an unforgettable vacation, and again, we do apologize that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. We do hope you will return to the Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was by far the most relaxing vacation we have had. From the minute you walk in the door they make it very clear they are there to take care of you. The rooms are fabulous, the service was good (need a little quicker resonse to americans in need of coffee in the AM). Emanual and Junior are great and ready to get you anything you need. Although the menu was small we never laked choices and it was always delightful. The beach was spacious and security on the beach made sure you were safe, even if you wondered out at odd hours of the night. The rooms and the grounds were always spotless and quite.
I do think food/beverages were a bit over priced, it was more like you were on a beach in California. The web site also states that you can "enjoy the grounds at the sister resort down the beach" however when we arrived no one seemed to know what we were refering to.
The spa was wonderful, lots of services and great staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addventrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your feedback with our team, including your suggestion about faster coffee. Your observation about food prices is correct - food prices across the Caribbean have increased, and we try and help guests offset these vacation costs by offering exemplary service. We very much look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £141 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing