We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The doorman said it best when we first arrived - "welcome home". These simple words couldn't have been more true. The Casa Colonial, one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, came to represent an oasis in Puerto Plata. From the glorious accommodations, to the fabulous staff, to the quiet rooftop pool, this is truly the only place to stay in Puerto Plata. While it would be considered expensive when compared to the neighbouring all-inclusive resorts, it epitomizes the phrase that "you get what you pay for". When you looked from the beach at the resorts on either side of the Casa Colonial, you saw crowded facilities and non-stop noise while the beach at Casa Colonial was open and peaceful. When we ventured off the property to tour the town or attend a scuba dive, we always felt like we had arrived home when we got back to the resort. Our thanks to the entire staff for making our week very memorable. As for the noise concerns previously noted - the all inclusive resorts that neighbour the hotel can be intrusive. But if you turn the air conditioning on high (but at a higher temperature so you don't end up an ice cube) then the "white noise" helps in this regard. Besides, would you rather be a neighbour to the noise or be in the middle of it?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBandHillaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
What a lovely review - thank you so much. We love your poetic wording! We do truly believe that attention to detail certainly makes the difference and that is so important in a small boutique hotel such as Casa Colonial. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    65
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
311
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a stunning property with spacious rooms and excellent personalized service. I had a wonderful dinner at the fine dining restaurant with outstanding food. I had the special mushroom risotto and it was as goi as it gets. The rooftop terrace and pool also has the best fish tacos you will have anywhere. A real jewel and I highly recommend as a chic and romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We love the ‘chic and romantic’ getaway – we may just use that! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa Colonial. We will share your compliments with our chefs and staff. We do hope we will see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The property and location was excellent! We had a great room overlooking the beach with a balcony. The furnishings were up-to-date and the room was a good size. The beach is beautiful and not crowded - it was nice to not have to rush for a chair on the beach or pool in the morning. Though the hotel is expensive, the drinks and food are very reasonable. The spa area is very nice and the massage I got was very good.

The customer service was very good, however, my only complaint is the speed of service when ordering from the beach (the resume for 4 stars versus 5). It took quite awhile to get a drink and oftentimes we had to seek out a waiter since they weren't coming to the beach area frequently. Overall another great experience with a Small Luxury Hotel (SLH) property!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielleknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our quiet and peaceful resort. We are sorry to hear that you experienced slow service at the beach. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority and we do hope you see an improvement on your next visit, which we do hope will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TXWORLDTRAVEL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Spent 4nights at Casa Colonial in DR - absolutely phenom experience from the meet n' greet at the airport throughout the entire visit!

Pluses:
- Personal VIP Meet n' Greet as I got off the airplane through Customs and Immigration (well worth the added expense)
- Bar (WOW!) ... best Vodka Martini in the Caribbean
- Restaurant ---- EXTREMELY civilized and worth visiting
- Pool (WOW!!!) ... how awesome is that view!
- Room ---- outstanding!
- Spa --- incredibly relaxing
- Staff --- some of the best I have worked with in many years of travel
- Single bill included everything I spent (including taxi services)

Casa Colonial is definitely on my list for a return visit! I was NOT interested in a HUGE mega hotel with lots of noise ... Casa Colonial was extremely civilized and well secluded.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXWORLDTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – thank you so much for pointing out the pluses you experienced in each area of the resort! We will certainly pass along your compliments to the staff and we do hope your next visit will not be too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at this fine resort 2 weeks ago.

Hotel arranged for our convenient airport pickup. Hotel is about a pleasant 20 minute drive away.
Flight from Toronto took about 3 hours and 45 minutes...Airport is very nice, and quite efficient. Customs took about 15 minutes despite things being quite busy.

Hotel is located in a tidy,well landscaped and very clean looking area surrounding a golf coarse.
This is the nicest resort in the area..Other hotels look to be 3 to 4 stars. Some "luxury" condos around as well.

Were not super impressed with front exterior of the resort when first arrived..has kind of a small entrance with a gate house..just did not get the expected wow factor but upon entering hotel quickly changed our mind.

Attention to detail is everywhere and overall look of resort is beautiful. All service provided is excellent.Most staff work very hard to please and no request is a problem...Sometimes had a bit of difficulty explaining things in English but overall not an issue with us.

Room was oceanfront and located on the third floor...Ocean is a bit difficult to see as many trees block the view..can hear it though and do see some water through the tree canopy.
Was very nicely decorated with tasteful furnishings and finishes..had a super comfortable bed with perfect linens...Air conditioning worked well and had a ceiling paddle fan to help with air circulation ...Washroom was perfect. Fluffy towels, housecoats and slippers provided.
Housekeeping staff excellent.
Had a very generous sized balcony which luckily got the morning sun.. Always managed to have our first cup of morning coffee outside enjoying the fabulous weather we experienced every day.

Hotel has 3 very pretty dining areas..Breakfast and lunch were always delicious... Dinners could be improved on...Quality of food provided was always excellent but some meal choices ended up being quite tasteless.

Cost of food and wine was comparable to pricing we have at home...Prices seemed reasonable and never felt like we were overpaying for any item purchased.

Live entertainment in bar area was provided and appreciated on Friday and Saturday evening....was very good but perhaps something a little more upbeat would be nice...certainly not a complaint..... just a suggestion coming from a couple in our mid fifties.

Web site for hotel is good and does explains things as they are.

One significant complaint I have is regarding the window coverings in our room.. very difficult to open and close and constantly coming undone and hanging off the track..overall look quite sloppy..curtains also seemed unclean and really did not enjoy touching them.
Having said that, must mention the general cleanliness in the entire resort is spotless...only had difficulty with their window coverings.

Aside from the above mentioned issue, this resort is well worth a visit and we will most likely revisit in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent vacation with us! The resort team works hard to provide an excellent experience so it is always gratifying when the details are rewarded with kind words. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the team. We appreciate receiving your feedback about the window coverings in the rooms and we will look into that immediately. Hopefully on your next visit we will be 100% perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our stay set us back 700 USD a day, not including breakfast. Yes, it was over New Year and yes, it is a nice hotel. However, I have stayed in better hotels for 250 USD/day.

Now, if you do manage to get a better deal, it is well-worth it to come to this property. We had a room on 1st floor with direct access to the beach and to the restaurant where we had breakfast every day. I really enjoyed waking up to the sound of the waves and to the sight of green, beach and sea.

The staff was welcoming and accommodating. They would bring us beach chairs as soon as they see us and would make sure that we have drinks, towes and everything else. Some of them struggled with English quite a lot but I did not find it so important.

The prices in the restaurants are at the same level as in the most expensive European countries (e.g. Switzerland) and there are no options to eat out. Therefore, if you do come here, prepare a sizeable amount of cash to pay for your lunches and dinners. The quality of the food is ok but nothing particularly impressive.

There are private jacuzzis on top of one of the buildings with a bar next to them and it is really fun to have your champagne there while enjoying the sunset. The beach was ok and the water was very clean. You can have long walks along the shore as there are many bays connected to each other.

Overall, I would recommend coming here if you just want to relax. It is not the place to learn about the local culture or meet other locals. It is a place to be pampered. If you want to feel that you are in the Dominican Republic, you need to go elsewhere. We did have a trip to Puerto Plata and this gave us a little idea of the local life but clearly insufficient compared to the experience if you stayed somewhere closer to the locals.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gergana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Casa Colonial for your holiday vacation. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that New Years is our absolute peek week and so yes, prices are a little higher at that time of year. We do offer special travel incentives from time to time, so please do sign up for our newsletter to be kept informed on when these are available. Your observation about food prices is correct - the cost of providing outstanding ingredients on a Caribbean island can be higher than what one may be used to. We do hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My fiancé and I just returned from the most incredible 5 day vacation at Casa Colonial. If you are looking for a romantic, boutique resort that provides exceptional service, great food, comfortable beds, a lovely spa in a beautiful setting then Casa Colonial is the place for you.

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor before but I wanted to share my thoughts because my experience was THAT GOOD! Also, I read a negative review on here that completely baffled me so I want to make sure you know the facts about Casa Colonial. Let me first start by saying that I am a 38 year old real estate broker and have spent the past 17 years living in NYC. I have traveled overseas and been to many beautiful hotels, spas and restaurants around the world. My fiancé calls me a "clean freak" and often says I am too particular when it comes to customer service. Casa Colonial's level of service was outstanding. The staff is unbelievable! They are warm, attentive, genuine and make you feel right at home.

I had an itinerary planned for each day but the comfortable bed made it nearly impossible for even a type A New Yorker to get her day started. Each morning we arrived 5 minutes before breakfast ended and each time we were greeted with smiles by the wait staff. No fake smiles, they don't exist here. It truly a family resort in so many ways.

We really enjoyed having breakfast and lunch outside at Veranda with views of the ocean and wonderful dinners at Lucia. The hotel" welcome" drink (they call it "Fruit Juice"- a combination of grapefruit, orange and passion fruit juice) was so delicious that we ended up ordering that every day (with and without rum). Miquelina, (who worked at Veranda during breakfast and lunch) recommended we try their "Crazy Colada". She brought one for us to try at the beach and it was delicious!

We made a reservation a couple weeks in advance for the "romantic dinner on the beach" and that was quite spectacular. (Edwin, our waiter was fantastic!) I won't go into detail about the beach dinner or dessert but trust me, they make it such a memorable evening. We had two massages during our stay- the couples massages on the beach in the oceanfront gazebo, and another couples massage in the Bagua spa, both excellent.

The hotel itself is stunning and beautifully designed! The infinity rooftop pool with four jacuzzis than run along the edge and overlook the ocean is just breathtaking. I can't say enough about this wonderful resort. Casa Colonial truly is a gorgeous hidden gem in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
What a compliment that your stay with us prompted your first resort review. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to all staff especially those you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We love hearing that our customer service is truly appreciated. We were thrilled to have had the opportunity to host you and your fiancé and we hope you will stay with us again soon – perhaps for your honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing