We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for privacy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for privacy!”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

It is so private, and every staff member is very attentive because it only has 50 rooms! Very relaxing. Loveee it!

Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    65
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
311
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Casa Colonial, and our first time in the DR. I was interested in the hotel because of the rave reviews in Frommer's and Fodor's. I had seen pictures of the hotel online, but Casa Colonial is even more beautiful in person.The hotel grounds are just perfect, with manicured lawns, white ivy-covered walls, huge trees, and tropical flowers.
Casa Colonial has only 50 rooms, so the service is attentive; they offered to drive us in a golf-cart whenever we were leaving the hotel to explore the nearby shopping center (5 min walk) or golf course (2 min walk). Room service was excellent, and very fast.
We stayed in a garden-view suite, which is the plainest and smallest room they have. It was one oversized room, with a king-sized bed, a desk, a sitting area, a balcony, and a huge marble bathroom with a soaking tub (Kohler), separate glass-walled shower, and double sink. There are Frette bathrobes and linens, too.
The beach has golden sand, clear, warm water, and helpful staff members to bring towels, arrange beachchairs and umbrellas, bring snacks and drinks, and keep an eye on everything. There was definitely some seaweed on the beach, but it was concentrated at the water's edge, and it wasn't a problem when we went for a dip.
The rooftop infinity pool and hot tubs have a view of the beach, ocean, and the mountains beyond. We had a late breakfast at the AquaBar (the pool's restaurant) on our last full day, and also had drinks by the pool in the afternoon.
The food at the hotel is terrific, portions are generous, but dining there is not cheap: dinner at Lucia is a romantic, special occasion. One tip: We learned that wait-staff at the restaurants in Puerto Plata will not bring a bill unless asked for it specifically. This was true at Casa Colonial's restaurants, as well as at Pizza Hut and Hemingway's Bar.




.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nymira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCer2001
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My girlfriend and I came down to the Dominican Republic for vacation and we picked the North Coast because of its proximity to my girlfriend's brother, who is spending a year living/working nearby. All of the professional guidebooks (Frommers / Fodors, etc.) said Casa Colonial was one of the best places in Puerto Plata (and perhaps the whole country) and they were correct.

I can't speak for other resorts in the area, but Casa Colonial one was one of the best places I've ever stayed. The service was amazing (everyone was very friendly and welcoming), the grounds were immaculate, the accomodations absolutely were incredible., and the beach set-up was great.

The pictures on the website don't do the place justice. It was even more incredible and special in person. Given that it was the off-season, there weren't many other guests staying at the hotel. As such, we felt like we had the entire place to ourselves.

Every morning we enjoyed breakfast at the Veranda restaurant. It was such a wonderful way to start our day. The food was incredible (I recommend the Dominican breakfast) and the patio overlooking the ocean was so peaceful.

We had dinner at Lucia several nights as well. The food and service was great, although the lack of other diners made the place feel somewhat lonely.

A couple of reviews mentioned a sulfur smell near the pond. We noticed that a couple of nights, but it wasn't very strong at all. We had an oceanfront view, so the smell never bothered us.

The only criticism I had of the hotel was that we couldn't use the pool our last night there because they were filming a promotional video for the hotel. We would have appreciated a little advance notice about that. Nevertheless, the hotel staff was very apologetic.

Playa Dorado also left a little to be desired. There weren't many other good dining options nearby. We went to Al Fresco, which was in the Playa Dorado mall. It was pretty good, but certainly not the same quality as Lucia. I think that next time we will venture out a bit more to explore restaurants in Puerto Plata.

All in all, Casa Colonial was amazing. The hotel was perfect. We had such a relaxing time. We will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCwestsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my husband to celebrate our aniversary and it was a wonderfull and unforgettable experience. Rooms are very confortable, exquisite decoration, very clean and have anything you can need or ask for. The restaurants have delicious gourmet choices with a high quality service. I personally recommend the grilled lobster with "fried yuca balls" . Also the breakfast was awasome... variety, quality and fast service...The staff is always focused in giving you the best service and are available whenever you need their help or assistance.
Although the beach is not the best in town, as it is not white sand, the hotel facilities and swimming pools and jacuzzi let you forget the beach and enjory other areas.
I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at Casa Colonial. We've traveled all over the Caribbean and this was our first trip to DR. Almost everything about the property was suburb. One of the best we've experienced. It was a great place to relax.

The grounds were quiet and graciously manicured. The room was beautiful -- very luxurious. High quality linen, spacious bathroom, great tub, and it smelled great. The restaurant was pricey but the food was excellent and the service was consistently great.

We had low expectations of the beaches on the "gold coast" of the Dominican Republic but we were pleasantly surprised. While the sand was not white, the water was warm and generally pleasant. The beach in front of the hotel was well kept and clean - the service was excellent (attentive re: umbrellas, towels, drinks).

Our other concern (besides the beach) was the reports we had heard about the noise from the neighboring resorts. While we did hear parties going on occasionally - once the balcony door of our room was closed, there was no noise. I can only remember noticing the noise twice while walking to dinner.

The service was excellent - five star all the way. We mentioned when we checked in that we were celebrating our birthdays that weekend and on our third night, we came back to our room to a lovely surprise -- rose petals, candles and a bath drawn for us. It was such a thoughtful gesture that was right in line with the rest of the service we received at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Sometimes I feel foolish reading the reviews of certain members I hesitate to book this hotel based on some negative reviews but after searching for an alternate to the all inclusive I was left with Casa Colonial as the only choice, to my surprise the Hotel is not only the best one in the region but perhaps one of the better experience I've had in the past couple years, excellent services, superb food and surprisingly an amazing Spa that has nothing to envy of any well know spa in the world and if you go there do not forget to have your favourite drink while swimming on the infinity pool on the second floor. Highly recommended a real bargain compared to the services you get. This is my first time at Casa Colonial but definitely not my last.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We are returning guests here in Casa Colonial..............we love it.....the staff makes you feel very special. The food presentation, and the variety is first class, not to mention how delicious it is.
We always come back here because of all the right amenities they offer to their guests.


Madelaine and Vince Caronongan

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madelaine471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,703 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing