We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic escape in Puerto Plata”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2007

WOW!!!! Truly outstanding place with wonderfull staff and fabulous food!! Our family had absolutely fantastic time at the Casa Colonial. We will definately come back and recomend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DMosteika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2007

The hotel is beautifull desing, clean and elegand, service and food are exellent, prices value for money, staff well trained by management, nothing but the best we will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank viajes2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

The only thing I can say is Casa Colonial is a complete disaster. The hotel looks like a bad copy of great hotels such as "The Delano." It is cold, white, boring and you have seen it a million times before. The "luxury" hotel is smack dab in the middle of Playa Dorada, a complex filled with VERY low budget all inclusives. It is true what many have already said...you will hear the funky chicken dance blaring from neighboring all inclusives as you sit on the dirty beach full of vendors who try to sell you anything and everything. The "pond" on the property smells like a septic system that needs to be cleaned. You can even hear the music from the musicals/activities of the all inclusives in your room at night. Forget sitting on the balcony! Then there is the service....words alone can not express what a joke it is....No one knew how to make a vodka martini at the bar...and then they charge you more than $20 for the experiment! The food is extremely expensive and a bit like eating on a airplane. One day my salad was served with ketchup because there seemed to be a shortage of dressings?!Other options for dining in Playa Dorada include "Pizza Hut" and a small sushi place called "Al Fresco" that used mayonnaise on the sushi. Yes mayonnaise...the staff at Casa Colonial told us the sushi place was the best option besides the hotel itself...wonderful...I had a facial in the spa and it was quite obvious that none of the staff had a clue about what they were doing...a scary thought for your face...I was so happy to leave and I will never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank NewYorkCityElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyeshaAbreuHolm, Director of Sales & Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2007

We were very surprised with the comments posted in Trip Advisor of your recent experience at Casa Colonial, Beach & Spa. .

Please rest assured that we sincerely appreciate your comments ,and you can count that we will take them into consideration, to make all the necessary changes in order to avoid any similar experiences in the future.

We are very proud of the fact that Casa Colonial Beach & Spa has proven itself as one or the more exclusive products of the Dominican Republic ever . If possible we would like to have the opportunity to compensate you for any inconveniences experienced during your stay in Casa Coloniel


Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

A beautiful and intimate resort; prefect for a romantic get-away. The bedroom and bathroom was large, well decorated and comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the grounds well maintained. The spa was very nice. The hotel staff was attentive, especially the Beach Staff who also provided an added sense of security. There was a variety of interesting foods on the menus, everything was very good and the portions large. The only complaint would be the cocktails, they were plain and over priced. Grateful it rained all but one nite; we were spared from the resort next door’s so-called entertainment. Enjoyed our beach view room on the ground floor; great access to the beach and the patio was a great place to start the day by watching the sun rise, listening to the ocean and enjoying great coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GRPelletier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We didn't understand the discrepancies in the reviews we read here until we got there, and now it all makes sense. The facilities are 5-star and fantastic. My husband and I needed 4 days of R&R badly in a warm place, not too far away from NY. We definitely found it there and had a great time. We were lucky though - if it hadn't rained 3 of the 4 evenings of our stay, the music from the neighboring resorts would've been supremely annoying. (The 1 night it didn't rain, no ocean-front room was exempt from the unnecessarily loud chicken-dance & macarena-type music being blasted for the whole beach to hear.) So we were happy about the evening rain.
The downside was the service. Extremely friendly and nice people, but many were poorly trained (by 5-star standards) and probably under-incented. Examples: The restaurant service on 2 occasions couldn't tell us when their restaurants closed, and once when they did, it conflicted with the published in-room info. At the pool restaurant, in-room literature said it's open til 6pm - and that meant literally. We were given the check and asked by the waiter to leave promptly at 6 pm because they were closing. Definitely not 5-star. In the garden, enjoying a dominican cigar and some drinks (having had to walk to the bar just inside to order) when the downpour started 30 - 45 min later, there was no help to get us and our drinks,etc. inside. But they did open the door for us. Once when I walked into our room while the turn-down service was there, I found a guy sitting on the edge of our bed w/ the remote watching tv while the maid cleaned the bathroom. He jumped up when I came in. I could go on. Again, we aren't the kind of people to really get caught up on these details (we maintained a good sense of humour). None of the violations were really egregious deal-breakers (i.e. not BAD service), but definitely not 5-Star either.
So I could see, if you highly value that level of service during your vacation, how you'd probably be very disappointed at Casa Colonial. But if you just want great rooms, fantastic facilities, and friendly people and don't mind some slippage on the service details, then I'd agree it's a gem of a place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ceiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

My husband & I,our 12 yr.old daughter and her friend, had a truly unforgettable 5 day tropical vacation at Casa Colonial. From the moment we arrived we felt transported to a magical, magnificent, and relaxing oasis of calm.The architecture and decor of Casa Colonial is dramatic and breathtaking! Old world elegance meets modern, chic design, creating a luxurious ambience.The staff greeted us with exotic, delicious drinks and from that point on throughout our stay made all our needs a top priority.
Our rooms were incredible! We were all thrilled with our beautiful suites and outdoor decks overlooking the ocean. We had room service deliver a delicious breakfast every morning. The food was promptly and graciously served and the staff never failed to get our orders exactly correct. Dining in the other two restaurants was equally memorable as was our workouts in the well-equipped gym and our spa treatments. The pool and whirlpools set amoung the treetops was a delightful place to luxuriate, eat inspired cuisine, and enjoy tropical drinks . This resort will not disappoint you. The staff is extremely attentive, insuring that their guests have a truly extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank visla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Just to set a baseline, I have traveled the Caribbean and I've stayed at other Small Luxury Hotels of the World. I chose Casa Colonial because I thought that it would live up to the SLH title the same way that all the others did. It did not. While the building is beautiful - including the spacious and well-appointed rooms, the property is situated on a well-trafficked beach between several all-inclusive resorts. But that isn't the real problem with the property. Casa Colonial has all of the appearances of a top end resort, but when you scratch below the surface, it falls short. If it billed itself as a normal resort, I wouldn't mention it, but I think one can expect more when a property promises more. I had to ask twice on three occasions in one meal for such elementary items as the menu, the wine we ordered and the check - this happened at several meals. The yoga on the beach that was advertised was no longer available. The room service was great, except that they only had one type of white wine. There was a fully-staffed concierge desk with smiling and eager congierges, but they never seemed to be able to get us what we wanted - again, simple things like a private sail or the aforementioned private yoga class. That said, the food was good and the staff was pleasant. Also, I promised my travelling companion that I would note that she had one of the best pedicures ever at Casa Colonial. If only the rest of the resort lived up to the toe experience.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DistractionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £140 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing