We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
445
71
14
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
71
14
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolboutique hotelrecommend casadominican breakfastsmall luxurybeautiful small hotelwe ordered room serviceocean frontdominican republicthird floorromantic dinner on the beachnicest hotelplaya doradainclusive resortsrooms are largebeach area isour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2007

There is no doubt the premises are beautiful, and the rooms are amongst the best I've ever stayed in, so let me start off by saying that.

But with that being said, I think there are much better values to be found in Playa Dorada. The hotels next to this one (Gran Ventana, Occidental, etc) are nearly as nice, are all-inclusive, and are much cheaper. We paid roughly $300USD after the 26% tax/gratuity, and that only included breakfast. The beach was small, and did not have any activities included, unlike the resorts around us. I also had a billing issue with the hotel manager, and it still has not been resolved a week later, so be careful of that no matter where you go in the D.R.

If I was to go back to Puerto Plata (and I think I'd much rather explore other islands first) I would recommend staying at one of the all-inclusive resorts in the area, rather than Casa Colonial.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMcManusNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyeshaAbreuHolm, Director of Sales & Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2007

We are very sorry to know about your experience while staying at Casa Colonial Beach & SPA.

Your comments and ratings had really amazed us all as, since the opening of the resort we have achieved the highest scores of the country which have appointed the hotel as the best property ever available in the Dominican Republic.

Casa Colonial Beach & SPA is the one and only boutique hotel of the country; otherwise it would have never be possible for us to qualify to become a SLH property, the first ever of the Dominican Republic and Puerto Plata.

Nevertheless, we would like to have the opportunity to analyze what exactly went wrong during your stay with us and will appreciate if you could give us the opportunity to amend any inconveniences experienced during your stay at the resort.

Unfortunately, we disagree with your review posted in Tripadvisor, as Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is without any doubt the best hotel of the island, oriented to the most exclusive clientele without any limited budget and seeking for an unforgettable experience not necessarily All Inclusive.

The regular customers of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa are experienced travellers which book at least 7 holidays per year through Small Luxury Hotels of the World and the money is the last issue. They never consider to book and all inclusive property and the price is never questioned.

There is a significant element that distinguish the real high end customers from the rest that sometime book a high end hotel, resulting from their expectations and know how of good living experiences not only when traveling, but of their daily life; as they are used to experience only the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Our April stay at the Casa Colonial Beach & Spa was one we will long remember . The room, The Spa, The Staff, The Food. The Beach, The Beautiful Tropitical Gardens and so much more were all First Class . I would love to hire the Very Detailed oriented Designer .Every detail of the Hotel was prefection.There are 50 rooms but for most of our 8 day stay we felt like and we were treated like we were the only guest. So, if you can, book a stay at the Casa Colonial.

PS: Book in advance the "Bagua Ocean Front Massage" the massage table is located on a platform over a flowing pool of cascading water down by the Ocean. For 80 minutes the world around you will stop and all you hear is the Ocean and the Fountain. You will relax like never before....Enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PBVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

WOW!!!! Truly outstanding place with wonderfull staff and fabulous food!! Our family had absolutely fantastic time at the Casa Colonial. We will definately come back and recomend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DMosteika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

The hotel is beautifull desing, clean and elegand, service and food are exellent, prices value for money, staff well trained by management, nothing but the best we will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank viajes2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

The only thing I can say is Casa Colonial is a complete disaster. The hotel looks like a bad copy of great hotels such as "The Delano." It is cold, white, boring and you have seen it a million times before. The "luxury" hotel is smack dab in the middle of Playa Dorada, a complex filled with VERY low budget all inclusives. It is true what many have already said...you will hear the funky chicken dance blaring from neighboring all inclusives as you sit on the dirty beach full of vendors who try to sell you anything and everything. The "pond" on the property smells like a septic system that needs to be cleaned. You can even hear the music from the musicals/activities of the all inclusives in your room at night. Forget sitting on the balcony! Then there is the service....words alone can not express what a joke it is....No one knew how to make a vodka martini at the bar...and then they charge you more than $20 for the experiment! The food is extremely expensive and a bit like eating on a airplane. One day my salad was served with ketchup because there seemed to be a shortage of dressings?!Other options for dining in Playa Dorada include "Pizza Hut" and a small sushi place called "Al Fresco" that used mayonnaise on the sushi. Yes mayonnaise...the staff at Casa Colonial told us the sushi place was the best option besides the hotel itself...wonderful...I had a facial in the spa and it was quite obvious that none of the staff had a clue about what they were doing...a scary thought for your face...I was so happy to leave and I will never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank NewYorkCityElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyeshaAbreuHolm, Director of Sales & Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2007

We were very surprised with the comments posted in Trip Advisor of your recent experience at Casa Colonial, Beach & Spa. .

Please rest assured that we sincerely appreciate your comments ,and you can count that we will take them into consideration, to make all the necessary changes in order to avoid any similar experiences in the future.

We are very proud of the fact that Casa Colonial Beach & Spa has proven itself as one or the more exclusive products of the Dominican Republic ever . If possible we would like to have the opportunity to compensate you for any inconveniences experienced during your stay in Casa Coloniel


Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews