We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and extremely low-key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2007

My boyfriend and I just spent 3 lovely days at Casa Colonial. The hotel is beautiful - the rooms are very spacious and the staff was generally extremely attentive. Although the beach area is well kept and pretty peaceful, I wouldn't say it's the most amazing beach ever. Every 3 minutes someone comes over to try to sell you something, which can be annoying when you are trying to relax.

Overall our experience was great and we would love to go back. The best part about the hotel for us was the pool on the roof with the four jacuzzi's facing the ocean. It's open all night and was so relaxing that we didn't get out - until about 2am.

One other thing to note - it was practically empty when we were there. Never more then 5 other people in the restaurant or on the beach. I guess that is good or bad depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank zter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2007

While the property is very nice and the room was actually quite good (bar a few inoperable elements, but none serious), there is way too much downside for the place to charge the rates they do ($500/night). First and foremost, the service is TERRIBLE - slow, unaccomodating and dismissive. A few of the women were good - the men for the most part were nasty, especially the 'manager' of the breakfast restaurant. The food is tolerable but not great. It is however absurdly expensive. The other comments here are true - The ONLY other places to eat within a 30 minute drive are Pizza Hut and a really bad version of a TGIF's called Hemingways. I wouldn't mind spending $500 a night and $100+ per person for a meal if I received Four Seasons-level service - Casa Colonial is a Ramada Inn in the middle of nowhere. Go to ANY other island in the Caribbean for a much better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sporttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyeshaAbreuHolm, Director of Sales & Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2007

We were very surprised with the comments posted in Trip Advisor of your recent experience at Casa Colonial, Beach & Spa.


Please rest assured that we sincerely appreciate your comments ,and you can count that we will take them into consideration, to make all the necessary changes in order to avoid any similar experiences in the future. However, the fact that Casa Colonial is a Boutique hotel, our regular high end customers have never complained of not having All Inclusive packages available. It is my understanding that the clients that book similar products, all over the world, are basically looking for the best only, like service, quality, flexibility to eat at anytime, and last but not least, do not like buffets or selfservice of any kind, like the regular all inclusive properties.

We are very proud of the fact that Casa Colonial Beach & Spa has proven itself as one or the more exclusive products of the Dominican Republic ever . Furthermore it has been named the "Gem of Playa Dorada" one of the best new 100 hotels of the world, a masterpiece, among others. No wonder why Casa Colonial is the only SLH (Small Luxury Hotels of the World) ever in Puerto Plata.

However, we would like to have the opportunity to compensate you for any inconveniences experienced during your stay in Casa Colonial Beach & SPA

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

I recently visited Casa Colonial with my girlfriend (we are in our mid-twenties) and had an incredible four-day stay. The accommodations were even nicer than the website had led us to believe and we were pleasantly surprised by the high level of service we received. The restaurants were phenomenal (one restaurant is for breakfast and the other is for lunch) and the service at dinner was the best I have ever experienced. Upon special request we were even served a private candlelit dinner on the beach.

We had breakfast every morning in our room and either went to the private beach area or the beautiful rooftop pool to spend the rest of the day. It was very quiet and relaxing during the day and we were not bothered by any of the music from the all-inclusives that seemed to bother other people in their reviews.

There is a small "mall" only minutes away to purchase any groceries / alcohol you may need and we literally left the hotel premises twice in our four day stay.

I HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone who wants a relaxing few days to do nothing but sit in the sun and enjoy great food, drinks and service.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

There is no doubt the premises are beautiful, and the rooms are amongst the best I've ever stayed in, so let me start off by saying that.

But with that being said, I think there are much better values to be found in Playa Dorada. The hotels next to this one (Gran Ventana, Occidental, etc) are nearly as nice, are all-inclusive, and are much cheaper. We paid roughly $300USD after the 26% tax/gratuity, and that only included breakfast. The beach was small, and did not have any activities included, unlike the resorts around us. I also had a billing issue with the hotel manager, and it still has not been resolved a week later, so be careful of that no matter where you go in the D.R.

If I was to go back to Puerto Plata (and I think I'd much rather explore other islands first) I would recommend staying at one of the all-inclusive resorts in the area, rather than Casa Colonial.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMcManusNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyeshaAbreuHolm, Director of Sales & Marketing at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2007

We are very sorry to know about your experience while staying at Casa Colonial Beach & SPA.

Your comments and ratings had really amazed us all as, since the opening of the resort we have achieved the highest scores of the country which have appointed the hotel as the best property ever available in the Dominican Republic.

Casa Colonial Beach & SPA is the one and only boutique hotel of the country; otherwise it would have never be possible for us to qualify to become a SLH property, the first ever of the Dominican Republic and Puerto Plata.

Nevertheless, we would like to have the opportunity to analyze what exactly went wrong during your stay with us and will appreciate if you could give us the opportunity to amend any inconveniences experienced during your stay at the resort.

Unfortunately, we disagree with your review posted in Tripadvisor, as Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is without any doubt the best hotel of the island, oriented to the most exclusive clientele without any limited budget and seeking for an unforgettable experience not necessarily All Inclusive.

The regular customers of Casa Colonial Beach & Spa are experienced travellers which book at least 7 holidays per year through Small Luxury Hotels of the World and the money is the last issue. They never consider to book and all inclusive property and the price is never questioned.

There is a significant element that distinguish the real high end customers from the rest that sometime book a high end hotel, resulting from their expectations and know how of good living experiences not only when traveling, but of their daily life; as they are used to experience only the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Our April stay at the Casa Colonial Beach & Spa was one we will long remember . The room, The Spa, The Staff, The Food. The Beach, The Beautiful Tropitical Gardens and so much more were all First Class . I would love to hire the Very Detailed oriented Designer .Every detail of the Hotel was prefection.There are 50 rooms but for most of our 8 day stay we felt like and we were treated like we were the only guest. So, if you can, book a stay at the Casa Colonial.

PS: Book in advance the "Bagua Ocean Front Massage" the massage table is located on a platform over a flowing pool of cascading water down by the Ocean. For 80 minutes the world around you will stop and all you hear is the Ocean and the Fountain. You will relax like never before....Enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PBVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

WOW!!!! Truly outstanding place with wonderfull staff and fabulous food!! Our family had absolutely fantastic time at the Casa Colonial. We will definately come back and recomend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DMosteika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

The hotel is beautifull desing, clean and elegand, service and food are exellent, prices value for money, staff well trained by management, nothing but the best we will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank viajes2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £144 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing