We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, Wonderful & Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Magical, Wonderful & Romantic”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My wife and I just returned from Casa Colonial and felt compelled to write about our magical experience over the past week. From the moment you arrive you are struck by the beautiful and tasteful architecture and appointments, by the kind and welcoming staff and with the lush manicured grounds. The small nature of the resort adds to the feeling of being part of something exclusive and allowed us to develop several friendships with other guests and with the staff. Casa can honestly boast not only one of the best restaurants on the island but one of the best restaurants we have ever experienced. Lucia’s host, Ramón, always met us with a smile and immediately whisked us to a great table where we looked forward to each new course.

We found Israel, the concierge, to be very knowledgeable and very helpful. The bartenders Louis, Luce, Kennedy and Hector are the consummate professionals. From the pristine beach to the beautifully designed infinity pool; every space is designed to inspire relaxation. The spa treatments were fantastic, the gym was surprisingly spacious and well equipped and the romantic beach dinner for two is highly recommended. We can’t say enough good things about every minute we spent at the resort and are looking forward to returning soon.

For the review that I just read that did not find the resort as wonderful as we did I have two recommendations. First if you are traveling to any country where the primary language is not English, learn a few practical words and phrases. Imagine someone from Portugal approaching you in New Jersey and getting upset that you did not fully understand Portuguese. Secondly another American trait that will garner you more attention when you are dying for a drink and sulking that no one is around to get it for you…try tipping a few pesos and see how much more pleasant your stay will be.

Tony & Linda - Oxford, MI

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demonsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    65
    14
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
311
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

There are many things to like about Casa Colonial: wonderful food, an absolutely terrific spa, a gorgeous pool, and a desire to please by the staff. Unfortunately, there are other things that leave it well below comparable resorts at which we have stayed in the past.

First, the beach just isn't very pretty. The place is surrounded on both sides by noisy second-class hotels that blare awful music, morning, noon, and night. In addition, there are innumerable vendors strolling the beach all day. All polite enough, but we go off to these places to be left entirely alone, not to have someone come along every five minutes selling everything from chewing gum to sunglasses. In addition, service on the beach is close to non-existent. There is a guy down there who will help with setting you up with the umbrella and pads for the sun chairs -- if you ask him. But you'd better ask. There is no waiter on the beach. At other comparable hotels where we have stayed there are always waiters prepared to bring drinks and food. When we wanted a drink, I had to go looking for someone to bring it -- and I didn't always succeed.

Second, the pool is gorgeous and we spent more time there than we did at the beach, but the service problem was even more annoying at the pool than at the beach. There is small bar and restaurant adjoining the pool (with great food) and there were two guys behind the bar all day (talking very loudly all day long). We were never offered a drink or anything to eat, and had to get up and ask every time. Just not our idea of complete relaxation and good service. For less money, we have stayed at equally luxurious places and had much better service.

Third, the staff is simply not well trained. They lovely people, but they just don't know what they are doing and, we suspect, understand less English than they appear to. In the restaurant (where the food, again, is just super) we could not successfully explain that we wanted both a drink before dinner and wine with dinner. We could get one or another, but never could manage to explain that we actually wanted both. No one expects to go to a spanish speaking country and have everyone speak English perfectly, but there really were times during our week at Casa Colonial when we could not find anyone with whom we could communicate about even the most basic questions. Generally, having spent many comparable vacations in Mexico in Cabo, Puerta Vallarta, and on the Riviera Maya, we found the staff at Casa Colonial to be under-trained and, except for the spa, quite difficult to communicate with.

Fourth, as others have indicated on this site, we had concerns about the security of our valuables. We locked passports and wallets in the room safe, but my wife's ipod and cell phone were from the room. We only discovered this on the plane coming home. We informed the hotel, and they were quite concerned, but no offer was made to pay for the items, which we know for a fact certain were stolen.

Having said all of this, this is a place that is short of being fantastic for the reasons above, but it is also wonderful in other ways. Great food and excellent spa. Our suite was quite lovely with a clawfoot tub, although not really as spacious as some we have stayed in at other resorts. On our last night (I had arranged this in advance) a beautiful dinner on the (now quite empty) beach with torches and candlelight. When we returned to the room (and this was a surprise), we found rose petals on the bed and on the floor, candles everywhere, and a filled tub with rose petals there too. A beautiful and romantic night for us both.

It's a beautiful place that needs some improvement. Just not a place to which we would return when there are so many places in the Caribbean and Mexico that have nicer accommodations, prettier beaches, better service, higher security, and lower prices.

PS Don't bother going into Puerta Plata. Nothing to see. No place to walk, and a succession of bars and second-class restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spafan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We just returned from 5 days at Casa Colonial- what a blissful way to start 2011! Having traveled quite a bit in the Caribbean and always staying at comparable hotels- I can say without a doubt that Casa Colonial is my absolute favorite.

The hotel has everything you expect from one it's caliber- in my opinion even going above and beyond- Frette linens, claw foot tubs. It has an incredible restaurant on the property- Lucia- which has such a big menu you won't tire of eating there. The beach is spectacular. The staff wait on you hand and foot and the pool is dreamy. We also had excellent spa treatments- the Thai massage with Ted is almost a religious experience.

It is paradise and the images do not do the hotels charm and beauty justice. It is everything you are looking for in a 5*, tasteful, intimate hotel in an amazing location. We (shamefully!) never left the property- we were just so happy with everything they offered right there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katylady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Casa Colonial this Christmas holiday. Our first impression of the facility did not disappoint. It is a beautiful small hotel with a fantastic spa and gym. The Lucia restaurant and the Veranda restaurant served top-quality meals. Our junior suite overlooking the ocean was spacious and impeccable. The landscaping is exquisite. If it is a quiet luxury hotel with outstanding service you are looking for, this is the place to be. From the general manager (Basilia Diaz), the concierge (Karen), the bartenders, doormen, waiters and all other staff, we were always greeted with a smile and quick assistance. A few steps out the back door is a beautiful beach. For us, a plus was that a very good golf course was a 3-minute walk from the hotel. Shopping is close by.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Lovely. Beautiful lobby. Beautiful rooftop pool. Staff who love you and want to take care of you. The restaurant Lucia was by far the best food we had in the DR, and the food by the pool, by the beach, and at the second restaurant were delicious as well. Sure, the beach area is a little small (but well outfitted), the rooms feel a little too big (maybe they need larger art or more furniture?) and you're definitely paying for everything. But for us, for one night, it was worth every penny.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Summer10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My now husband and i have been spending the holidays at la casa que canta in ZIH, mexico for the past 3 years and this year, we decided to try somewhere new because it is our honeymoon.
Since we are so used to small luxury boutique hotels we came across casa colonial. there were so many good reviews, we thought to go and check out for ourselves.
If you are looking for somewhere clean, sophisitcated, and quiet with a clean private beach...this is the place to be....The food at lucia is fabulous, although a bit pricey and dining service is slow...but overall the staff is friendly, polite, and very welcoming...the rooftop pool with the jacuzzis was my husband's favorite.
I might come back this spring by myself to do some writing.
music is great overall...international lounging and stylish...if you want to go, check out the reviews cause the website would be a turn off if you depend on that.
one thing i wish that it is just for adults only though...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polished72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed at the Casa Colonial Beach & Spa for 6 days and, for the first time in our travel experience, just hung out at a hotel and decompressed - in style. We typically are really active, and hike, snorkel, scuba dive, ski or go to historic sites each day during our vacations, but the stay at Casa Colonial immediately followed a stressful 6 weeks at work, and we couldn't have been more satisfied. The rooftop pool was great, as was lunch service there. The gym and spa also factored in to our sedentary approach. Dinner at their restaurant was top notch each night. Plus, we stayed in one of the penthouses, which was spectacular, including the clawfoot bathtub on the balcony. Really nice. The only detractor would be the location - Casa Colonial is the only really nice place in the immediate vicinity, so you're ensconced among much sketchier places, and the beach and water quality left a lot to be desired. That said, if you're looking to just relax, read, and enjoy a 3rd-floor view of the Caribbean while enjoying a few Presidente beers each day in style, this is the place. We would certainly return if we were just looking for a place to unwind after a stressful time at work.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfeStreetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,771 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Property: Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing