We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rum runners”
Review of Brugal Rum Center

Brugal Rum Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride
Ranked #7 of 47 Tours in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come and learn what makes Brugal a distinctive and worldwide awarded Rum. Be guided through our history, process and enjoy a tasting of some of our best rums. Passion, dedication and hard work. The core qualities which have defined us for 128 years. The five generations of the Brugal family have held firm to these, making our rum so distinctive and authentic, "La Perfeccion del Ron".
Sydney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rum runners”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the factory as part of a half day city tour of Puerto Plata. Although not terribly exciting, it was intersting to see a modern mechanised factory at work. We had our teens with us on the tour and it was nice to show them “behind the scenes.” You’re not allowed to take any pictures inside the operational part of the factory unfortunately. After viewing the factory you go through the gift shop. My husband enjoyed tasting and comparing the various types of rum they sell and I enjoyed the air conditioning. We had decided not to buy any of the rum while we there, but we were sorry later to find the same bottles at the airport for almost double the price. And for those wondering...yes there’s washrooms – nice ones in fact.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    146
    102
    30
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Headed to this factory at 9.00 AM”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited this factory early in morning, which made the tasting at the end a bit weird, but you could definetly taste the difference between mixer rum and more expensive rum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lizomanny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I think I got ripped off”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

so I went to the rum factory, puerto plata domincan republic. bought this rum called "brugal 1888" said it was aged for 14 years at 50$ American. came in a nice box however,

outside the box says dated 2006, and that equals 14 years. inside the box on the bottle it says 2013. so there ya go, I paid 50$ for rum I thought to be aged 14 years, not one year. they clearly got me good,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bellanoel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Rum factory”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

During our half day tour around the city of Puerto Plata we´ve got to this factory. Looking as in the modern business you go through the whole process of rum production. It is forbidden to take photo inside but outside is ok. In the end you come to the shop with plenty of bottles for reasonable price of 4 -6 USD. Good to see it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chet Redpath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, very friendly”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

See above.

At that time, they offered a quality domino Brugal Rum logo set at a very reasonable cost, which I have to this day. It is of high quality including a brass escutcheon pin in the center of each piece called a "spinner".


They made great tropical drinks, and when we retuned to our cruise ship, we hit our bunks and didn't rise until the next day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chet4sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brugal Rum Center also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Brugal Rum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing