We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brugal Rum Center

Brugal Rum Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.99*
and up
Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride
Ranked #5 of 42 Tours in Puerto Plata
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come and learn what makes Brugal a distinctive and worldwide awarded Rum. Be guided through our history, process and enjoy a tasting of some of our best rums. Passion, dedication and hard work. The core qualities which have defined us for 128 years. The five generations of the Brugal family have held firm to these, making our rum so distinctive and authentic, "La Perfeccion del Ron".
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We went as part of a cab tour. It was neat to see. Nothing too thrilling but fun. I enjoyed the tasting after and bought some rum. Best prices we saw for rum as well!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystallionM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    138
    96
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Part of the city tour, very interesting to see how the rum is made. Bought some rum from the shop very cheap.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I thought that we would have a chance to see how the Brugal was made and the machines they used but it was a different experience

Although I enjoyed my self it was not what I expected. We walked up to the factory we were told about the companies history and hope the rum is made then we walk inside the factory and we are on a bridge where we can see down stairs were all the machines are and the workers then we continue to walk into a show room where you can buy the Brugal and the tour is over , not very exciting but the prices of the rum are great definitely worth buy at the factory then outside plus they let you try about 4 different rum which was a plus

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rossy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rum runners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the factory as part of a half day city tour of Puerto Plata. Although not terribly exciting, it was intersting to see a modern mechanised factory at work. We had our teens with us on the tour and it was nice to show them “behind the scenes.” You’re not allowed to take any pictures inside the operational part of the factory unfortunately. After viewing the factory you go through the gift shop. My husband enjoyed tasting and comparing the various types of rum they sell and I enjoyed the air conditioning. We had decided not to buy any of the rum while we there, but we were sorry later to find the same bottles at the airport for almost double the price. And for those wondering...yes there’s washrooms – nice ones in fact.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Headed to this factory at 9.00 AM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited this factory early in morning, which made the tasting at the end a bit weird, but you could definetly taste the difference between mixer rum and more expensive rum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lizomanny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brugal Rum Center also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Brugal Rum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing