We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Square in the Middle of Town

Right in the middle of the "downtown" area. Not much to do right at this landmark, but a great spot... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2018
KMB_GA
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Puerto Plata city tour

This was part of our tour along with the tram to the mountain. Lots to see and do just not enough... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2018
coocozza
,
Beamsville, Canada
Read all 198 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Plata
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
from US$20.00
More Info
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
67
77
45
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
77
45
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian architecture downtown puerto plata central park san felipe town square colorful buildings beautiful square large church feeding birds other attractions city tour photo opportunities take pictures great pictures walk around private tour cathedral
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

It has changed since 2016. There are a lot of one way streets and the traffic flow is a lot better!! Also, this is the first time I didn't see beggars. We entered and exited stores without having to worry about beggars asking for money. My husband is a native of the Puerto Plata so we visit with our children often. It was very nice, peaceful and pleasant for our entire family.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank JolfaieAlmonte24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Located in the Plaza with the church and other Victorian buildings. Unusual architecture. Not a destination but included with the Plaza stop.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Part of the city tour is a stop at the Cathedral square including this little gem which is perfect for photo ops of our big group. Feed the birds nearby, pet the feral dogs and then go into the cathedral. Nice that they have cleaned this up a lot, previously you would be bombarded by kids selling you garbage or people trying to pick your pockets.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This was in the town square, next to the cathedral and near small shops. The buildings in the area are painted in many colors, which ads to the vibrancy in the area. Overall very appealing for a quick tour of the city.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank twins2tymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Town square was very nice
You get a feel of the city
Located beside the cathedral
Many things to do around there ... there is a few street performers with whom you can take pictures
You can feed the pigeons
You can buy a coconut and drink it for $1

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank monikaanisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews