We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the square in the downtown.”
Review of Victorian Times

Victorian Times
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Nothing much there, just went there for taking photo, but since I was there, so I went there to see what it is exactly. It is just a small park in the downtown of Puerto Plata. Lot of homeless hanging out there... Some small shop for tourist to shop, but not much there.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank nyhome007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"victorian architecture"
in 5 reviews
"downtown puerto plata"
in 5 reviews
"central square"
in 4 reviews
"san felipe"
in 6 reviews
"colorful buildings"
in 2 reviews
"feeding birds"
in 2 reviews
"large church"
in 2 reviews
"local culture"
in 2 reviews
"nice place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 2 reviews
"city tour"
in 6 reviews
"take pictures"
in 4 reviews
"great pictures"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"cathedral"
in 24 reviews
"costumes"
in 6 reviews
"landmark"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

This is a cool city center with a gazebo in the middle and the Cathedral at one side.

Surrounded by bright colorful buildings that I like for photo oops.

There are 2 statues at one end if the square too and a tourist shop on one corners

There was also a “coconut cart” where for $1 you could have a family open a coconut and drink the juice.

We stopped here as part of an all day city tour that was an Carnival excursion.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank travelinm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

It has changed since 2016. There are a lot of one way streets and the traffic flow is a lot better!! Also, this is the first time I didn't see beggars. We entered and exited stores without having to worry about beggars asking for money. My husband is a native of the Puerto Plata so we visit with our children often. It was very nice, peaceful and pleasant for our entire family.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank JolfaieAlmonte24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Located in the Plaza with the church and other Victorian buildings. Unusual architecture. Not a destination but included with the Plaza stop.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Part of the city tour is a stop at the Cathedral square including this little gem which is perfect for photo ops of our big group. Feed the birds nearby, pet the feral dogs and then go into the cathedral. Nice that they have cleaned this up a lot, previously you would be bombarded by kids selling you garbage or people trying to pick your pockets.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victorian Times also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Victorian Times? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing