We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Villas, Lifestyle Resort, DR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Crown Villas, Lifestyle Resort, DR”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were guests of a Shareholder and were treated wonderfully. We stayed in villa E31 and our housekeeper, Felipa Martinez, was wonderful. She paid such attention to detail in preparing our food and in cleaning our villa. Our villa was beautiful and someone came to clean the pool just about daily.

The food and service at the VIP restaurants was good. We ate on the non-VIP side a few times and were not impressed on that side. I would only visit this property if I had VIP privileges.

The beaches on the VIP side were beautiful. We did not visit any beaches on the other side. Overall, the VIP side of the resort was beautiful and the service was great. I cannot comment on the non-VIP side too much.

I've been travelling to the Caribbean annually for over 20 years and this was, by far, my best vacation. I look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Only go if you are the guest of a Shareholder or VIP member!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for posting such a nice, positive and honest comment about our property on trip advisor; we sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a pleasure to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm hospitality that characterize us and that you were able to experience it at its most. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Thanks one more time…

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    128
    78
    61
    72
See reviews for
297
102
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Crown Villas where we stayed was so in need of an upgrade. It looked like they took furnishings from all over to make it work. Bathrooms were old and breaking. Windows needed to be replaced, and the Villa had a horrible odor. The food at the restaurants were not good at all. The buffet was horrible and they had the same food every time. I will not be going back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Dawn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Dawn I, we wish to express our sincere apologies for any instant of inconvenience that you may have encountered during your recent stay with us

We sincerely lament that your vacation experience did not meet your expectations fully but hope you do reconsider visit us again.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I traveled with a group of 19 and we shared a 3-bedroom villa (#48) with 2 other couples. We were guests of VIP (gold) members. The pool was great and the daily personal chef (Jose Daniel Urena) for breakfast was great as well as the daily maid service (Yokairo Mercedes). After the first night, the other couples took the tour and bought into the property and were upgraded to a 7-bedroom villa overlooking the ocean. It was gorgeous as well. We chose to stay in the original 3-bedroom villa and enjoy the place for ourselves. We enjoyed it all...the breakfast, the pool, the service. The fresh fruit each day was awesome and a fridge stocked of water, soda, juice, as well as alcohol (for those who drink).

Beaches - the beaches were great, our favorite was Serenity (chicken sandwich & crepes are delicious). NV beach was the next favorite (thin crust pizza was pretty good). Harmony beach was also nice (try the ice cream - Scoops & I heard the burgers were fabulous).

Food/Dinner - Overall we enjoyed the food and pretty much tried as much as we had time for. Our favorite was Simply Gourmet - the Jerk T-bone steak which is served sizzling on a hot stone. We also went to Jazz and Casablanca buffet which were pretty good. I didn't find the desserts to be outstanding, but ok. We also made it to the Azul and was a little disappointed with the long wait for our entree and then the steak was not cooked as ordered. We ended up asking for additional appetizers/soup because it took so long. So, Azul was probably the least favorite place. The clam chowder was good. The chicken wings at the Sports Bar were very good.

Service - The service was beyond what we could imagine. Everywhere we went, we were served. Calvin and Jeff our concierges were great and made sure we had everything we needed. All the staff was courteous and helpful.

Excursions - We did the city tour and it was good. We really enjoyed the cable car ride up the mountain. Please be aware of the natives trying to sell everything to you for U.S. dollars.
We also went to Ocean World which had great dolphin and seal shows. The souvenirs are priced a little better here as well.

The Sunday welcome party is mind blowing....the show, the food, the accommodations. There were people serving at the port-a-toilets to assist guests. I also enjoyed water aerobics at the Tropical with John Cina. He gave us a great workout!!

We enjoyed our stay and would do it again!! It was a much needed vacation for us - a working couple with two younger children who needed a restful getaway. We enjoyed exploring the area in the golf cart, eating, hanging out at the beaches and in the villa.

Room Tip: The Crown Villas are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbaH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Melba, on behalf of the management we would like to thank you for taking part of your time and posting this review on trip advisor.

Comments as yours help us to maintain our commitment with excellence and keep providing our guests with the best services possible

Thank you one more time & looking forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were there for 8 days all got sick, definitely have refriegeration problems. We had a 6 bedroom villar which was beautiful but the food definitely took away from the ambience.
The limo which ws suppose to pick us up at the airport where on strike, so ended up taking 4 difererent trips for 2 people. ONe thing if you are not going to buy or upgrade the service does go own hill. Have tried it 2 times will not go back

Room Tip: The maid service was great, it was the people trying to seel the property that were too over powerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mary W, we wish to express our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay with us

We very much appreciate your feedback, as it is through this medium that we are able to address guest issues and discrepancies and be able to provide a high level of guest satisfaction.

We sincerely lament that your vacation experience did not meet your expectations fully but hope you do reconsider visit us again.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just got back. Spent 7 days in a private villa 3 bdrm suite 3 and 1/2 bath. Loved the house it was great to have our own pool and large yard for the kids. Yes they serve you breakfast in your villa everyday, however, the only freshly made item is the eggs, there are catering trucks that bring the pre-made food (pancakes, French toast, rolls, bacon and oatmeal) that is heated up via microwave. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast we said 9 am however we usually ate around 10am, never earlier than that. The villa also came with 6 cats that constantly try to get in the villa and try to get on the table every morning to eat breakfast while you are eating.
Ok, now for the resort, it is beautiful place, it is huge complex. VIP is the way to go. We went via RCI so we did not get a golf cart and had to rely on shuttles to get around. By the last few days your tolerance of waiting for shuttles runs very thin. Bring a lot of cash because if you buy anything via credit card they charge you 18% tax for using the credit card, even for excursions. Also by the last few days you are tired of giving a tip here, money there it does get exhausting.
The staff is friendly and helpful, especially if you tip.
The food is NOT up to standard for a all inclusive resort. There are several restaurants, you must make reservations the first day for each night to eat dinner. Here is what we found: el pilon (Dominican ) was ok desert "dulce de coco" delicious! Indochine (Asian ) appetizers were good but entrees yuck! Bellini (Italian) pasta ok but pizza sauce is yuck! Trapiche (Mexican ) food was ok. Rodizio (Brazilian ) very good. The buffets are all same nothing great, we found ourselves eating a lot of bread and water, huh! We heard the blue lagoon (seafood) was horrible from several people. Actually when conversing with other guests they also felt the food was poor quality. Which brings me to the member status. This is the resorts main focus, if your a member you have a golf cart for traveling around the complex, you have what appears to be better treatment and better quality of dining. If they put this focus on their guests they maybe would get more members. There clearly is a separation of members verses guests. We went to the "tour of the grounds" um, they mean a sales pitch wanting to buy your time share to increase opportunities for their members. Ugh it was exhausting to keep saying no, no, no,No!
If you don't go with high expectations you will love this place but for the cost of all inclusive they need to focus on food! Again the resort has a good concept and the villa was great with our own pool and place to hang out.
We would go again, now that we know what expect. But it's not at the top of our list! Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Great to get a villa for a large group, we had 8 4 adults and 4 kids loved having our own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GloGlo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear GloGlo23, we are really sorry that we did not meet all your expectations nonetheless we appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
Your comments are taken very seriously and we will be discussing it with our staff regarding the service

Thank you once again and see you next time

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is our first real family vacation with our children and it was not what we had wished for. I will start with Monday, we arrived at our Villa and there were bags of garbage pilled up the on the curb that was there until the next day not a big deal but an eye sore when your thinking of paradise, we had about 6 goats that visited us at the Villa almost daily along with 2 large pigs, our boys thought it was awesome but not something you usually see at a resort. We were infested with cockroaches (YUCK) I called and they were supposed to send someone to take care of it but no one showed up. Also being directly next to the helicopter landing area was not enjoyable, our kids were woken up 2 nights due to it landing late. On Tuesday morning we couldn't shower due to the water not working, they did come out and fix that at some point but would have been nice to take a shower before our excursion, 2 different times we lost power in the Villa. The staff and ground were great but as far as our Villa it was old, outdated and a disappointment. We went with intentions to look at buying into the property but after the first day we decided we didn't even want to look at that as an option. We had hoped to find a vacation spot for our family every year but I don't think we would come back. We did 2 excursions and highly recommend the Freestyle Catamaran. We made the best of the vacation and made lots of memories and I guess that's whats most important.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Jennifer F, we wish to express our sincere apologies for any instance of inconvenience that you may have encountered during your recent stay with us

We sincerely lament that your vacation experience did not meet your expectations fully but hope you do reconsider visit us again.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was three couples and I took them to celebrate their fifty Birthday. The villa was amazing and the price was great. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. The food was great as well plenty of restaurants to choice from as well as a buffet. Although we did get out to do some hiking, zip lines and horse back riding you never really have to leave the resort. I plan on going back Nov of 2015 for my son's 30 birthday. Make sure you check out the hookah bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Michelle S, on behalf of the management we would like to thank you for posting this great review on trip advisor.

It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests enjoy our services and facilities and at the same time a great honor to know that you are already planning on coming back

Thank you once again and we are waiting for you with open arms!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.5 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: | Lifestyle Tower, Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classical Mediterranean style Villa, with red tile roof, archways and stone columns with a magnificent tropical garden. The Villa offers a private swimming pool, a superb location, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. Also included is a maid and a golf-cart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata
The Crown Villas At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing