We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Mileage May Vary!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Your experience at this resort all depends on how you get there. If you are an owner or rented directly from an owner - good for you! God help you If you get there from RCI or some other timeshare deal. You'll pay twice as much for the all-inclusive package as the owners and even if you pay for VIP access you won't get a golf cart and you can only eat at the best restaurant a couple of times.

The villa and pool we had were very nice but only the bedrooms were air conditioned - go figure! The buffet food is pedestrian at best - stay away from it if you can. The sushi, food, and service at the VIP beach was very good. Six out of the seven us came down with diarrhea at some point during the trip and we didn't leave the resort the whole time we were there.

Forget about shopping while you're there and make sure you don't forget anything because you'll pay through the nose for things if you can even find what you're looking for.

There was also a lot of construction going on while we were there, they don't take credit cards for any of the extras like golf, and the "free golf" I got offered cost me over a 100 USD. It was a goat track with used balls!!!!!

It's still a very beautiful place and if you rent directly from an owner (check the internet) you'll have a much better experience not to mention cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nick1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed at a nice 4 BR villa, booked it through the member who is a friend. It had a personal pool, a chef came every morning to make us breakfast, we had a bbq at our pool one night, which was really good (lobster!). Maid service, golf cart, etc. The VIP party was wonderful, music, etc. They restocked fridge every day (per our requests) with pretty much anything we wanted. I can't say that the buffet food was amazing, but VIP gourmet restaurant was very good.
We booked though this website:
www.cloud9holiday.com

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ycollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Overall the vacation wasn't bad, pretty relaxing. But the resort did have its ups and downs. We, a family of 5, are members of rci but chose to go through an owner because that ended up being cheaper. When we got to the airport, we immediately had a taxi ready for us. The drive to the resort was about 30 minutes. When we got the resort we were immediately approached by one of the sales reps who asked us if we would move out of our villa into a suite because they overbooked. We said no since we were mainly looking forward to the villa and our own pool. When we got to the villa, we were supposed to get a 3 bedroom, but instead got villas 2a and 2b, which both have 2 bedrooms and share a pool. This kind of took away from the overall villa feeling since the two units were seperated. As far as the villa goes, it was alright. Our villa, because we are not members of the resort, was not the nicest. The furniture was outdated, the sliding doors didn't lock, tv remotes didn't work, there were tiny ants in the kitchen, and the beds weren't that comfortable. Other than that, it was alright. Our pool, however, was excellent and we were right near the ocean and vip beach. Since we were "VIP" -which pretty much everyone there is- we had a maid make us breakfast every morning. She was very nice, but like a lot of the staff there, didn't speak much english.
The VIP beach area was nice, 2 bars and a sushi bar that were worth visiting. The actual beach was alright, the water isn't crystal clear and it is pretty rocky. But there were some waves for boogey boarding or body surfing. We got to take a kayak out which was very fun. VIP world was really no big deal, we went there once to get a sandwich and it was closed early. As far as food goes, it was pretty mediocre. Casablanca buffet was alright, but making reservations for all the other restaurants was a pain since we didnt even have a phone for three nights. No one told us that you could only go to VIP Gourmet twice each week, but the two nights that we did go, it was excellent. Getting food and drinks is pretty slow and everything seems to be on island time. There are no clocks, so bring a watch because no one ever knew the time. Bring lots of ones or fives for tipping - the bartenders are great and so are some of the staff. Get a golf cart if possible, it was definitely worth the extra money. Since it is a resort, you should know that they will try to sell to you. It was somewhat ridiculous because they would track you down to go on their little tour, once even taking us away from the bar. But overall it was a nice, relaxing vacation if you can get past the not-so-good food, outdated villa, and sales pitch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBAag10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This place is a scam. On the surface you're wowed by the helicopter and beach side beds, but in reality Lifestyle's Resort is a JOKE. The food is HORRIFIC, the residences are poorly built and don't have consistent hot water for showers or reliable air conditioning. We made phone call complaints daily that the mini fridge wasn't replenished along with shampoo and conditioner. Most importantly, we both (and the MAJORITY of the people we spoke with) suffered from traveler's diah... well, you know what I'm saying. Now, I've travelled internationally my entire life to places throughout Africa and Europe and NEVER have I been so sick. I know the precautions; don't drink any of the water, even to brush your teeth; don't eat fresh vegetables; don't eat undercooked meat. It was useless. The place may look clean, but it ISN'T. We wound up spending an additional $700 on excursions just to get the heck out of the horrible hotel. Oh, and be prepared to be sucked into several sales schemes to buy into the place. We ducked out like a bat out of h***, but we heard horror stories of people being liquored up and coaxed into signing under false pretenses. Also, we met a couple who was essentially snatched up by the hotel next door by some of the employees and convinced to stay there; That's horrible sportsmanship if you ask me. Please, save yourself. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderlustrousDeChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My husband and our teenagers had a great time at this resort. We stayed in a villa that was unbelievable! The service was by far the best that I have experienced. We enjoyed all the VIP areas that was part of our reservations with a club member. My experience booking with a member was a delight. She answered all my questions, concerns and took care of everything for me. I don't know if I can share her name but I'll try Patti Borghese [--]. The resort is lovely, clean and had many restaurants you can choose from and non were awful as stated in other blogs. Gee, you can't please everyone! The beach was beautiful and as you should know this is not the Caribbean waters, it is the Atlantic Ocean. I would describe the waters like the coast of Florida NOT BAD! Pretty blue color, small waves-when calm you can see your toes. It was clean and a delight in itself. I would definitely go again-we all miss it already and are discussing going again next year. Truly a nice place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foreversunworshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Hola!
We arrived at the airport and were greeted immediately by our shuttle driver. Now, before I go on, I want to inform you of how the resort is set up. Their are different colored arm bands; from best to worst: gold metallic - owners or guests of owners, blue metallic - RCI VIP and red metallic is general RCI....I saw some other regular bands that had nothing to do with RCI, they were light green. So, to move on...We get to the resort and they were expecting us and met the shuttle at the curb, and took us directly to our Villa. We arrived and were very happy with what we had been given, Villa 2C. I knew immediately that this was an older Villa but it was still very nice and the pool was amazing! My wife and I chose a room where the ceiling was leaking with water and Romeo from RCI had it fixed that same day. He was very accomodating.
The maid was great every morning and very nice. She would be found singing in the kitchen as she was making our breakfast every morning..DELICIOUS. The VIP areas are amazing, if you do NOT go as VIP, you are not going to be treated anything but a tourist on vacation. The VIP areas were well worth the price of 47.50 per person per day. The guy from VIP world came on the 1st full day to see if there was anything that we needed in our villa. We like to drink, so we requested some Dissarrono, Rum, Vodka and they gladly stocked our Villa with alcohol as requested. However, I did not understand until later in the trip as to why they were being so nice at the beginning.
One thing, if you are planning on going to the Carribean and want the pristine water that is calm and clear, Peurto Plata is not the place you want to go. The water was very cloudy and wavy, which is to be expected since it is the Atlantic Ocean. There is however TONS of beach glass that can be found which was really exciting if you are into that! The food, the buffet was always good, the Blue Lagoon was well below par...almost disgusting, the Bellini was really good!. If you are able to book the VIP Gourmet restaurant every night, do it. The food at the gourmet restaurant is amazing and beautifully presented.
When we first arrived, we really wanted a golf cart because it would have made everything much easier for us. The golf carts are for members ONLY(gold bracelets), dont waste your time trying to get one! However, when we would call for a shuttle, it was typically there in 5 minutes from the time we called in order to take us where we wanted to go.
As far as service, the waitresses were always there and very friendly to get you whatever it was that you needed. The biggest obstacle in the Dominican was the language barrier, some are very hard to understand and did not know any english. However, they played American music in the VIP areas. LOOK OUT for the people in the white polo shirts that say VIP and they look put together. They constantly were bugging us to meet with them for a short time to talk about VIP. They made promises that we would receive hats and tshirts for going. We finally scheduled a time to meet with them at 3PM two days prior to leaving the Dominican. We went up to this VIP area that is off the beat and path and listened to their sales pitch. It was horrible and became very uncomfortable once we said that we were not interested in buying into the LHCV. We then asked for our Tshirts and hats and were told "they are for members only" and then the attitudes began to change towards us. It was a VERY uncomfortable feeling to be on vacation and feel like we did something wrong. So beware of them!!
The VIP party on Sunday night is amazing, so much food, terrific entertainment and the drinks were plentiful! The food was set up in a buffet and once again, it was awesome. They really know how to take care of VIP's and you really felt as though you were a high roller with the way it was demonstrated!
Tipping, take a lot of singles to give as tips, they work there for very little money and they were very gracious for a tip. My wife took some trinkets to give to the maid such as bracelets, hats, necklaces and other things that they are unable to get or would pay a lot for.
The VIP beach was great, the beds just make it very luxurious! The drinks were awesome, I could go for a banana mama right about now. Beware of the long Island Ice Teas, my wife can attest that they will put a hurting on you! She had 2 and was unable to find her upright position again!
We did 2 excursions, with VIP you get free tickets to Ocean World, this is about a 3 hour trip including time there. My wife did the dolphin swim and it was amazing and she really enjoyed it! We also booked a catamaran through Mel's Tours and that was the best thing that we could have done. It is most of the day but really enjoyable. You really get to see the island and enjoy the carribean blue waters of Sousa beach when you are snorkeling. Do the freestyle catamaran and you are going to be sure to have a great time. The crew on this ship are terrific!! Mel's Tours came to our Villa to get everything booked and Linda was a doll!
Overall, it was a great vacation, if I were to travel to the DR again I would stay at a Lifestyle resort but I would be on the south side of the island to experience the true Carribean water. If that doesnt matter to you, then this would be a good place. If you have ever traveled and been to a Sandals resort, you know what top of the line everything is and this will be well below what their standards are. However, it was still a great vacation, the food could have been much better in the general areas, that was one thing that was extremely dissapointing to me personally.

Feel free to email me if you have any questions!

Hope this Helps!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SH95007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This was our second vacation at lifestyle crown villas. We three couples knew what to expect and looked forward to lounging by the private pool. A visit to the VIP pool area daily was a must. Premium liquor is served there, and they make just about any drink you could want, the way you want it. The VIP staff are great. The welcome party was awesome. We've booked each trip through owner Mark Austin. He takes care of everything. The VIP staff knows him by name. He offers a golf cart guarantee which we took advantage of. The three women in our group loved riding around in it. The guys walked. We will be booking again for 2010 with Mr. Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
239 reviews
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,556 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: | Lifestyle Tower, Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £78 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classical Mediterranean style Villa, with red tile roof, archways and stone columns with a magnificent tropical garden. The Villa offers a private swimming pool, a superb location, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. Also included is a maid and a golf-cart. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata
The Crown Villas At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing