We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...................”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...................”
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We traded our timeshare in Maui for a week here with extended family...eight in all. Check in was effortless...we were handed sangria and greeted by a lovely woman who works for RCI named Andrea. We were promptly brought to our villa...upgraded from a 3 br to a 4br with 4 baths. The place was very. very nice...villa 45...secluded backyard, clean and well stocked. I did see a couple bugs and critters, but nothing horrible. I attributed this to our surroundings, not uncleanliness. All rooms had seperate thermostats and A/C. The villa was great except there wasn't enough living room furniture for 8 people and it was very uncomfortable furniture.

Onto the food....hmmmmmmm...this is where my review gets the mixed feelings. Because we booked through RCI and not a member, which was cheaper, we paid a pretty penny for the all-inclusive. We are not food snobs, and I realize all-inclusives do not have the best caliber of food...but some of what we were served left us speechless. Andrea made our reservations for the whole week, so getting into the restuarants was no problem (thank you Andrea) but one place gave you great food, another horrible...what's up with that? We didn't starve, but for the price we paid, I would have liked better food. The maid who cooked our breakfast in the morning did her best with what she had....some of the meats and cheeses??????????? eww. The food at the VIP beach and pool was ok...not WOW!

The weather for the week..Jan. 9-16 was horrible...and then there was the earthquake, which we felt...all that I cannot hold the resort responsible, but it put a huge damper on our vacation. I felt there was nothing to do if the sun didn't shine...my husbands fishing trip was canceled three times. Puerto Plata is not the type of city to explore yourself, especially if you do not speak Spanish. I felt a little trapped.

The resort is clean, pretty, lovely employees, all friendly and eager to please. I went on the presentation to buy into the resort.....nice idea....if I were rich. It's not a timeshare, it works very different and even if I had the money, Puerto Plata would not be my choice. All in all, it's not a bad place, I wish the food was better and there was more to do inside the resort and out. If food and activities aren't on your wish list, this is the place to go.

A little side note....there were a lot of stray cats and dogs. We are animal lovers and enjoyed their company...they would come by and hang for awhile, then take off...if you do not like animals or are allergic....please be kind and shoo them away...they have no real home and are helpless.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NC123Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    118
    72
    54
    64
See reviews for
269
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

7 out of 10, awesome staff. the beach was not to great but it sure is a good place to go and get some rest and kick back. If you are in the mood for a party, would not suggest it.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtl Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We had been to this resort 12 years ago when it was fairly new ... Major improvements over the years -..We originally stayed in a 3 bedroom villa through RCI, Very nice, but needed a little upgrade for a/c in the common rooms, but bedrooms had a/c. We were moved to a 5 bdrm villa and then a 6bdrm (we were 6 ppl) after purchasing a membership at the resort- BOTH VILLAS WERE BEAUTIFUL, OWN POOL, CHEF COOKS BREAKFAST IN MORNING, MAID SERVICE. ALL WAS EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circorp1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We enjoyed our stay at LHVC Crown Villas immensely due in no small part to the efforts of Andrea, our concierge. From the moment that we met, she made us feel special and went out of her way to ensure that our every wish was fulfilled - it was like having our own personal genie in a bottle!

The VIP Beach was stupendous - right out of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous! We also had a pool in the backyard of our fabulous villa and enjoyed made to order breakfast every morning on the patio beside the pool.

It was a vacation to remember!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindiboggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Although not a 5* as claimed, quite enjoyable, nice facilities, and a superb concierge named Andrea,who ensured anything we needed was available to us. Her background as an animal trainer enabled her to ensure we were kept comfortable and happy with the resort. The staff at all levels were helpful, and our cook Judy made great breakfasts. Other food was average, try and book the VIP restaurant, the Italian was terrible.

Dolphin encounter next door at Ocean World was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Service is what this resorts does best. You get a personal concierge. Ours was the fabulous Andrea Feuer, she was there to satisfy our every need. Even if the answer was initially NO, she found a way to make it happen every time. Another strong point for the resort is the food--amazing!!! Usually all inclusives end up being the same old stuff repackaged day after day. The selection of good food was amazing, especially the Sunday beach welcome party. The villa was very nice, especially the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcorinaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Your experience at this resort all depends on how you get there. If you are an owner or rented directly from an owner - good for you! God help you If you get there from RCI or some other timeshare deal. You'll pay twice as much for the all-inclusive package as the owners and even if you pay for VIP access you won't get a golf cart and you can only eat at the best restaurant a couple of times.

The villa and pool we had were very nice but only the bedrooms were air conditioned - go figure! The buffet food is pedestrian at best - stay away from it if you can. The sushi, food, and service at the VIP beach was very good. Six out of the seven us came down with diarrhea at some point during the trip and we didn't leave the resort the whole time we were there.

Forget about shopping while you're there and make sure you don't forget anything because you'll pay through the nose for things if you can even find what you're looking for.

There was also a lot of construction going on while we were there, they don't take credit cards for any of the extras like golf, and the "free golf" I got offered cost me over a 100 USD. It was a goat track with used balls!!!!!

It's still a very beautiful place and if you rent directly from an owner (check the internet) you'll have a much better experience not to mention cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.0 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Confesi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Villas are the ultimate in luxury and exclusivity, as each is a small estate home with sumptuous, private three and four bedrooms that offer guests a unique and exclusive vacation experience. All of these villas are a classical Spanish Mediterranean style architecture, with red tile roofs, stucco plastered archways and distinguished stone columns with generous tropical gardens where hibiscus, bougainvilleas and other magnificent tropical plants abound. All have a private swimming pool, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. The villas are furnished with rattan, elephant bamboo and a natural Caribbean wattle work and are equipped with air conditioning, overhead fans, and cable television. The Crown Villas are part of the all-inclusive Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort and guests have access to all the facilities of the Resort (excluding the V.I.P areas). A personal maid and an exclusive menu in each of the seven Resort restaurants complete these perfect accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata
The Crown Villas At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing