We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FUN !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Mangos Golf and Beach Club

Los Mangos Golf and Beach Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A unique 9 holes Golf Course for the family with kids and singles. Located in Costambar just 10 minutes drive from Puerto Plata. With elevated greens, this course can be tricky for any golfer. Short par 4, but the par 3 can be a test for anyone.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had several rounds here and enjoyed it very much , even more so than at Costa Dorada partly because it was so much cheaper ! but setting price aside the staff were friendly and TICO my caddie was a top bloke ! really helpful and spot on with lines and club advise . The course plays very differently to what we are used to and you will need to adjust your game and club section accordingly ... the second time round was much better ! perhaps thats why other reviewers found it difficult . Go on, give it a go and just have swim and a nice meal afterwards if it doesnt work for you !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    9
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“do not expect much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a 9-hole executive course. It is not in good shape, the greens are crab grass. With that said, the caddies will dig your ball out wherever it goes and do a pretty good job of helping you put on an unreadable green.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KingOfRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is not a golf course at all!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This course is a good for nothing course. It shouldnt even be called a course actually. Each of the 9 holes has tee boxes and something resembling a green - that is it. There is no concept of fairway in this course. And greens were not really greens. I would say just dont waste your money on this club. Even if you got a free coupon from elsewhere and you have to rent clubs -dont do it. The clubs we rented were really old and crappy. Do yourself a favor and dont waste money here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DesiTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful place....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful little 9 hole golf course, gorgeous pool area and lounge chairs. Great food, and service. Spa....Not expensive at all. If you are in Costambar, check it out!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drea049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc, ut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice people, overpriced course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We walked over on a rainy day thinking maybe we could squeeze in 9 holes between showers. The price was $60 without a cart which I thought was overpriced for an attractive but not particularly well-maintained 9-hole course. We elected not to play. On the plus side, we had some nice cocktails which were quite tasty while we waited for the rain to stop. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Mangos Golf and Beach Club also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Rio San Juan, Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Los Mangos Golf and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing