We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it.”

Howard Johnson San Pedro de Macorix
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro de Macoris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howard Johnson San Pedro de Macorix
Reviewed 26 July 2007

The staff was very hostile to Americans. Housekeeping did not even leave fresh towels when they cleaned the room. I had to track someone down to ask for them. The rooms were terrible. The pillows were made of flat yellow foam, the blankets had holes in them, and the doors didn't lock properly. It was a dump.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MrsDubyaAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson San Pedro de Macorix
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2007

We found this hotel in a rainy night on the way to Santo Domingo.
The room was clean and equipped with a fridge. The bathroom was very bright and with hot water, bathtub, hairdryer and sufficient towels.
For a good and comfortable sleep was the bed too noisy.
The dinner wasnt really good as well as the service of the waiters.
Although the hotel was full due to a conference, it was very quite during the night. The got sports facilities but we didnt use them.
USD 50 where a bit to much in my opinion but there was not much choice

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DANYSTYLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2005

There was no running water in my room, lucky for me that my sister was staying in the room across from my room. When I asked for my room to be changed I was told that someone with the keys to my new room to help me and no one ever showed up. I went to the front desk to complain I was told that there was no record of a room change. I called to request a pillow and was told that the hotel does not carry extra pillows. I was having lunch and when I went to sit I was told that I could not sit at the table I wanted because that table is for the "Americans" I responded "I am American" and the waiter said "no it's for the White Americans". I also asked when was the pool going to be cleaned and was told "When the Americans arrive" I responded "would that be the White Americans" and the waiter answered "YES". I went to place a complaint with the Manager and was told that he is not in the building that the next person in charge was the chef. My sister's bed was drenched in water dripping from the A/C. We called front desk everyday and on the last night they sent maintenance and he moved the bed and placed a bucket where the water was dripping and left.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jjsmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Queens Village, NY
117
Reviewed 30 July 2003

San Pedro de Macoris is a poor town, and definitely not tourist central. I like to think of the hotel as a fading beauty. It must have been something grand in the 60s and the 70s but it is now in decline and situated in a poor neighborhood. The rooms are nothing fancy, but are kept clean. There's a pool but no gift shop. If you take the all inclusive option, be warned that while the food is tasty, and the staff is charming and helpful, the offerings are limited and eaten in one location only --a thatch topped gazebo where you battle flies and mosquitos. Located on the on the seaside--it's a ngihtly hot spot for the local-- there are a lot of little rum lined up on the sea strip called the Malicon. The beach is about 15 minutes away by cab.
Warning--you definitely need to speak some Spanish to stay in this area. If you don't mind soaking up the local culture, and aren't afraid of traveling via public transportation or via rental car this is cheap deal. If you aren't open to exploration than stick to the major resorts.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Brince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: las de las esquinas son espaciosas
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jose Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Macoris
6.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#4 of 12 in Juan Dolio
9 reviews
6.0 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
172 reviews
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
1.1 mi away
Apartahotel Guaraguao
Apartahotel Guaraguao
#1 of 2 in San Pedro de Macoris
13 reviews
7.2 mi away
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson San Pedro de Macorix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Pedro de Macorix

Address: Avenida Gaston Fernando Deligne, San Pedro de Macoris 21000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > San Pedro de Macoris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Pedro de Macoris
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson San Pedro de Macorix 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Pedro De Macorix Hotel San Pedro De Macoris
Howard Johnson Macorix
Howard Johnson San Pedro De Macoris
San Pedro De Macoris Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson San Pedro De Macorix Dominican Republic/San Pedro De Macoris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing