We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is no alternative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Campo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Campo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There is no alternative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We just came back from a 6 day stay at Casa. We have gone many times over the years and to many other resorts. We have rented a villa the last several years and this is where it really separates itself from other resorts. The villas are beautiful and having a warm and attentive staff cater to your needs is so nice. This year we brought my 83 year old father and his lady friend along with my 13 and 14 year old boys. Our butler Agapito was great (we had him last year and requested him again). Great food choices, great service and the tennis is superb too. We have been to other resorts but for us there is no alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCEricS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We would firstly like to thank you for taking the time in writing a review. We are happy to hear you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us for past years. We strive to make you feel at home while with us and our staff are the ones responsible for this. On behalf of our entire Casa team, thank you and we hope to once again have you with us and be part of your family’s summer memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    245
    69
    46
    44
See reviews for
267
317
15
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just came back from a blissful and enjoyable 4 night stay at Casa de Campo. We haven't been to Casa de Campo since the year 2000, which our family use to go almost every year for summer vacations for four years in a row. The physical facilities of the reception building, and rooms have changed for the better and it is sooo beautiful and relaxing! It's like a home away from home with the excellent service Casa de Campo is famous for. I went for the trap shooting 3 days in a row at the Shooting Center in the afternoon, which assistant and instructor Eugenio was so helpful which helped me get my confidence back since I haven't done trap or skeet shooting since our last time at Casa de Campo in 2000. I missed playing tennis and golf(for lack of a golfing buddy), cause we were too busy relaxing at Minitas beach. However a word to Casa de Campo's F & B on its restaurants, La Casita, La Piazetta, you better improve the menu selection and its service. The menu selection of La Piazetta is the same as in the year 2000, it looks tired. With regards to La Casita, if we are paying top money for beautiful marina view, food and drinks, why is the bar and its equipment(a beaten up flat top bottle cooler) in such deteriorated condition. I sat at the bar before dinner at La Casita and was disappointed at the bar's condition. It felt like a low end country style DR bar.Also a word to the Housekeeping Dept Mgr. I know that your staff has to do their work to keep the rooms ready and clean, but please despite the privacy and quiet at our room's door, please have your staff do the minimal talking and moving furniture and if they do it, to do it quiet. We were in room 116. We were awaken early in the am by the loud talking of the housekeeping staff. and the noise of opening and closing the doors of HK's closet which was next to our room. Anyways Casa de Campo is quality and it's much better than the crowds at the all inclusive hotels of Punta Cana.

Room Tip: King Beds are the most comfortable but all of the rooms near the reception building are good.Make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing time here in Casa, even more so that you liked the renovations so much. We can tell you enjoyed the shooting center as you went 3 times; it is definitely one of our more popular activities and Eugenio is a great instructor. We are sorry that we didn't exceed all expectations and will be passing your concerns to the corresponding departments. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you and we hope to have you back really soon as you are already part of the Casa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel is as good as wine, the older the better.

I went to the hotel not in the all inclusive plan, but it really is the best. Service, activities, social life, night life, The beach, the pool, the food, everything gourmet!!!, everything clean!!!, Very Clean, house keeping 2-3 times a day, a golf kart to move up and down.

I really enjoyed my weekend!, know the whole area, been in many hotels (4-5 stars), I will give casa de campo 5+1 Stars!!!

Room Tip: They are all good!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much for review, your review title "They Still the BEST" gave me a great insight on your stay. We are thrilled you enjoy all our amenities and are so pleased with our staff, we strive to make everyone's experience exceptional. On behalf of our entire Casa team thank you and we hope you will be joining us real soon as you are already part of the Casa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville,Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are a golfer, you will love Casa De Campo. Teeth of the Dog is a great golf course. Otherwise, its a big resort that is way spread out. The beach is ok. If you like to watch the beach there is no room much for that. You get a golf cart when you arrive which is really neat for the first few days. Afterwards it sorta gets old having to take it everywhere you go. The recreated village is really neat on top of the hills. I would rate that one of the highlights. The restaurants are all very nice. No complaints there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

While I received a great rate on the trip during the off-season for the resort, the service in the summer was significantly lacking. Many of the restaurants were closed, and there was no advance notice of this. Additionally, other restaurants only had one or two items available from their menu. I am not sure if this is because they only actually had a few items to prepare or because the staff did not feel like making anything other than the minimum. Either way, the service for a high-level resort was very sub par. Many members of the staff gave me the impression that we were bothering them by being there. Its a shame because the resort has outstanding features and should be a superb experience, but it seemed like they did not want people there in the summer.

Room Tip: Try finding a villa. They are slightly more expensive than a room if there are only two people, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much fro taking the time to review us, we are truly sorry to hear your vacations was not what you expected.
We do have restaurants that are closed some days during the off season, this is informed to our guests prior to arrival, as well as through an internal newsletter called “Today and Tomorrow”.
Concierge also tries to keep all in house guests informed. We hope that at some point you reconsider and visit us again.
We are sorry to hear your vacations were not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

first let me say that i am reviewing Casa de Campo resort not the hotel itself. During our stay we played golf, ate at all of the restaurants, and used the hotel pool and facilities. From the time we arrived my family and i realized we had made a terrible mistake in coming here. Service in the restaurants was slow and we were the only ones eating. their 28% service charge add on to everything we did and ate was absurd !! Supermarket in the Marina double charged us on groceries.Said our credit cards wouldnt work so we paid cash and then found when we got back that the charges went through. Rode horses one day, that was a disaster and so boring. Horses could barely walk and the guide spoke no english. During our stay we found no employee of the resort that spoke english. Tried to get change made at the hotel front desk was impossible. Asked bellman at the hotel about beaches with jet ski rentals. He sent us to a beach that cost $175.00 for round trip cab fare 10 miles away and guess what NO JET SKIS. Found out that they were outlawed on the island by the government 3 years ago. Im thinking he should have known that rather than send us on an expensive taxi ride. If you go and i recommend you don't , take lots of cash in small bills because you will need every penny of it and then some.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Rraulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Director General at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, 7 October 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming to Casa de Campo to celebrate your vacation, we apologized for the inconveniences you may have during your stay. At our hotel one of our main priorities is to ensure the satisfaction of our guest reason we have transmitted your concerns to our management department in order to no repeat similar situations.

We hope to have the chance of receiving you back at our resort and change your perspective about our services and facilities.

Kind regards,

Daniel Hernandez
General Manager
Casa de Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We spent the thanksgiving weekend at this property. Was quiet yet had a nice family buzz. Beautiful villa style rooms with golf carts to get around. Wonderful restaurants and reasonable prices for the quality and portion. The nights get quiet and dark but nice to enjoy the peace and tranquility. Rooms are away from the beach but a lovely drive in your private golf cart.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
7.4 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
36.1 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
38.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
38.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
39.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo

Property: Casa de Campo
Address: Carretera Principal | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa de Campo Re)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean - Casa de Campo - a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including a private beach, expansive marina, tennis and polo facilities, and three championship golf courses - including Pete Dye's masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, number 1 in Caribbean and 52 in the world. And, if all this still isn't enough, Casa de Campo contains a full-size replica of a 16th-century Mediterranean village and amphitheater, filled with art, history, and cute little European-style cafes. More than 20 restaurants and 15 bars and lounges at Casa de Campo offer a dizzying number of ways to unwind or enjoy meals. Feel like a kid again, driving your golf cart to move within the resort. You will have much more fun than anywhere else! But more than anything, Casa de Campo is a state of mind and a way of life rather than just a mark on the map. For new guests, we welcome you to experience our warm hospitality. And for those who have already experienced our incredible resort, we can't wait to welcome you back. Daily cleaning service, included in your room rate. Complimentary 4-passenger golf cart. Separate bathroom with glass-enclosed shower. Even a relaxing bathtub and private lavatory. Front desk and concierge services 24 hours, 7 days a week. We strive as much as possible to make our casa, your casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Casa de Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing