We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Simona(La Romana)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Sol Azul(La Romana)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
B&B Villa Luna(La Romana)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Karma(La Romana)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olimpo Hotel(La Romana)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hostal Silvestre(La Romana)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ki-Ra(La Romana)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Caserma(La Romana)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia La Romana(La Romana)(Great Value!)
US$272
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Los Altos Residences(La Romana)(Great Value!)
US$336
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,539 results
Traveller rating
1,038
302
85
61
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
302
85
61
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteeth of the doggolf cartcasa de campohorseback ridingdye forebeach clubskeet shootingall inclusive packagelago grillgreat golfdominican republicgolf triple cirquegolf courses areminitas beachall inclusive planpunta cana
Filter
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,539 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

this is a terrific resort that covers a lot of ground. It is set on acre upon acre. There is an extremely professional and friendly staff. This is a hotel I would return to again and again. The golf course was just steps away, which my husband really liked.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Roz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Plan on allotting a lot of time to getting from point a to point b here especially if you are graced with a slow golf cart. I would strongly encourage management to make a dedicated golf cart lane on the main road (like the one to the beach from the registration area) as we felt like we were taking our lives in our hands several times when impatient drivers sped around us. The swim up pool bar and the beach restaurant (the seafood platter was outstanding) were our favorites. I had fun trap shooting for the first time thanks to the terrific, patient instructor. Our group activity was a catamaran trip to Catalina Island. The sapphire colored deep water was gorgeous when juxtaposed to the teal shoreline water and light sand. Snorkeling equipment is available to borrow, giving great viewing of ocean perch, clown and angel fish, coral, and interesting rock formations. I could have visited there every day. Don't miss if given the opportunity. Our room and common areas were meticulously clean. The bed was very comfortable, but a lightweight blanket would be a nice addition as the comforter was too hot/sheet alone too cool. I'm not a golfer, but it was beautiful to eat breakfast overlooking the courses overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in May 2014. First off, don't come to the DR in May. The heat is oppressive and humidity and bugs are horrible. That, however, has nothing to do with the coming review. I can see why this would be a great resort for folks that want to golf for the majority of their stay during the cooler months, definitely a nice venue if that's your priority. The rooms are nice and the villas (from what I saw) are even nicer if you are looking for a nice home base. Unfortunately, when I am on vacation, I don't like sitting around my room, so it's not a major selling point for me or my fiance.

I've traveled to tons of resorts throughout the Caribbean and Mexico. Unfortunately, most were of better quality than Casa De Campo.

Guests of the hotel get a personal golf cart to travel in for the duration of their stay. This is completely necessary since most everything on the resort is far away from your room or villa. While the first day was a cool experience, sadly the 15-20 minutes it takes to get anywhere on the resort is quite annoying after a short while. Also, wear glasses while you are driving or you will get wind burn as the carts do not have windshields.

Food: The Food here is of terrible quality for the prices paid. The only decent meal we had was at Le Cirque and it was simply a good meal, nothing to write home about. The food at the marina restaurants was almost inedible. The restaurant at the hotel near the pool has a decent dinner, but again, when comparing to other resorts in other countries, this place is severely lacking. The breakfast buffet at the Lago Grill might be the biggest rip-off at the venue, pricing out at $37 per person (with service charges included). We went once and never returned as the quality of food is comparable to fast food. After speaking with other friends and guests that were in attendance, everyone agreed it was better to skip breakfast.

Tips/Service Charge: What are these and who gets them? The resort does not tell you what these chargers are for and how to tip properly. When asking for an explanation, most waiters said it was not part of their tip. Then what is the "service charge" for??

Rooms: Nice, clean, certainly not "5-star" but certainly solid. TVs are 90% in Spanish.

Maid Service: Excellent, very friendly and thorough maid service.

Beach: Extremely small and tons of bugs. Water was very warm. Do NOT come here if you enjoy spending most of your days at the beach. This is not a resort for that.

Casa De Campo has some really unique qualities and will certainly appeal to the golf set, but the value is simply not there.

Room Tip: Villas on golf course are nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we do appreciate our guests feedback as this will help us improve our services. We are glad to hear our rooms and activities were up to your standards. Regarding the food we are sorry to hear it did not fulfill your expectations, We will definitely pass the information along to the corresponding departments for those restaurants. Again we appreciate your feed back and hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed three nights in an elite room with a breakfast package that included a round of golf. The room was great and have zero complaints about it as it was unquestionably five star. The food and the service, however was most certainly not five star. Though the complaints are minor inconveniences, as opposed to vacation-ruining ones, they are sufficient enough to warrant pause or at least temper expectations when comparing this hotel with other luxury five star places.

1-Breakfast food was average. Breakfast meats were of below average quality and certainly not comparable to what you would see at good, or even average US breakfast buffets. And if your package does not include breakfast, an $80 breakfast for two is a bit of highway robbery.

2- Add 26% to every price you see printed. 16% Dominican VAT plus 10% Resort Fee. While allowed by law, this should be more transparent. For example what if any of the 10% resort/service fee goes to the workers? There is a line for additional tipping so maybe you really should add 35% to every price you see. Again, more an annoyance than anything else. But I'd like to know what I am paying for upfront and would rather see the prices trued-up for all fees.

3- Room service was not on point. I requested that upon return to my room a bottle of Champagne be waiting on ice on a champagne bucket. Had to call again and wait for it upon my return. Again, minor point, but these people are in the high-end hospitality business - ensuring a patron's bottle of champagne is set on ice is not an atom-splitting request.

4- Inconvenience of having to present your guest card upon signing of every single check in the resort. If they are going to be such sticklers about proving your identity, they should just give you a bracelet and call-it a day. Less of a hassle than carrying your little identity card around like you were living in some totalitarian state.

5- Great Golf, OK Beach. If you are going for a Golf Vacation, you will do well. Beach is not a white sandy beauty that you may expect. While the beach is sandy, once in the water expect uncomfortable rocks. Not excellent.

Overall good experience but enough little hassles to give me pause before travelling four hours from the east coast. Florida, Puerto Rico resorts probably offer equal value propositions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for 5 days with friends at a 6 bedroom, ocean front villa equipped with swimming pool whirlpool and friendly staff. You purchase your own food and drinks but then the staff takes care of everything from morning till night. Golf carts are supplied so you can drive all around the huge gated compound which includes 3 golf courses.It was a most enjoyable experience
We stayed 3 nights at the hotel which has a central reception area, dining facilities and various sporting activities. It is not a typical hotel; you have townhouse condo type rooms. Once again you get your own golf cart to drive to the beach, the marina and a replica village.
It is not cheap of course but we had a great time,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RHSCRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews