We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was Our HoneyMoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“This was Our HoneyMoon”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved it. We are both amateur polo players and that is why we picked this resort. We arranged it so it was all inclusive and since it was off season for the polo, the polo pro and grooms at the time were more than happy to let us help to exercise the ponies by letting us have little scrimmages. Mind you this was a few years back so it is not a current review, so a lot may have changed, but from fellow members of the polo community, I hear that it is still as good if not better. We aim to return this year!

The food and accommodations were outstanding and we were treated like royalty when we were there . We look forward to the golf courses!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing Casa for this important occasion, we are glad to hear you and your husband had such an amazing time. You were truly able to explore our Polo facilities and enjoy Casa de Campo's "The Sporting Life".

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your kind words and we hope you visit us again as you are already part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    261
    72
    49
    46
See reviews for
300
345
17
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Casa de Campo is really a paradise. Since the moment you arrive till he moment you leave you feel how special and top noch the place is. Altos de Chavon is a must. There are different world class golf courses, some of them with amazing views to the sea. Polo club as well.
The drinks selection an the cocktails are the best. The restaurants by the beach and La Marina offer the best food and service around. Visit this resort and you will find out why is considered one of the best resorts in the Caribbean.
I enjoyed my stay there and I would be back in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominicalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sharing with is your recent experience with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay while in Casa.

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you and hope to have you as our guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The service is incredible, the food was delicious and the amenities were mind blowing!
My husband and I are starting to plan our next trip to Casa de Campo. It is not only a great place for a romantic getaway, going with a group of people would be spectacular!

Thank you again for a beautiful stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FotoErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

this is a terrific resort that covers a lot of ground. It is set on acre upon acre. There is an extremely professional and friendly staff. This is a hotel I would return to again and again. The golf course was just steps away, which my husband really liked.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Roz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jumomof3
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Plan on allotting a lot of time to getting from point a to point b here especially if you are graced with a slow golf cart. I would strongly encourage management to make a dedicated golf cart lane on the main road (like the one to the beach from the registration area) as we felt like we were taking our lives in our hands several times when impatient drivers sped around us. The swim up pool bar and the beach restaurant (the seafood platter was outstanding) were our favorites. I had fun trap shooting for the first time thanks to the terrific, patient instructor. Our group activity was a catamaran trip to Catalina Island. The sapphire colored deep water was gorgeous when juxtaposed to the teal shoreline water and light sand. Snorkeling equipment is available to borrow, giving great viewing of ocean perch, clown and angel fish, coral, and interesting rock formations. I could have visited there every day. Don't miss if given the opportunity. Our room and common areas were meticulously clean. The bed was very comfortable, but a lightweight blanket would be a nice addition as the comforter was too hot/sheet alone too cool. I'm not a golfer, but it was beautiful to eat breakfast overlooking the courses overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in May 2014. First off, don't come to the DR in May. The heat is oppressive and humidity and bugs are horrible. That, however, has nothing to do with the coming review. I can see why this would be a great resort for folks that want to golf for the majority of their stay during the cooler months, definitely a nice venue if that's your priority. The rooms are nice and the villas (from what I saw) are even nicer if you are looking for a nice home base. Unfortunately, when I am on vacation, I don't like sitting around my room, so it's not a major selling point for me or my fiance.

I've traveled to tons of resorts throughout the Caribbean and Mexico. Unfortunately, most were of better quality than Casa De Campo.

Guests of the hotel get a personal golf cart to travel in for the duration of their stay. This is completely necessary since most everything on the resort is far away from your room or villa. While the first day was a cool experience, sadly the 15-20 minutes it takes to get anywhere on the resort is quite annoying after a short while. Also, wear glasses while you are driving or you will get wind burn as the carts do not have windshields.

Food: The Food here is of terrible quality for the prices paid. The only decent meal we had was at Le Cirque and it was simply a good meal, nothing to write home about. The food at the marina restaurants was almost inedible. The restaurant at the hotel near the pool has a decent dinner, but again, when comparing to other resorts in other countries, this place is severely lacking. The breakfast buffet at the Lago Grill might be the biggest rip-off at the venue, pricing out at $37 per person (with service charges included). We went once and never returned as the quality of food is comparable to fast food. After speaking with other friends and guests that were in attendance, everyone agreed it was better to skip breakfast.

Tips/Service Charge: What are these and who gets them? The resort does not tell you what these chargers are for and how to tip properly. When asking for an explanation, most waiters said it was not part of their tip. Then what is the "service charge" for??

Rooms: Nice, clean, certainly not "5-star" but certainly solid. TVs are 90% in Spanish.

Maid Service: Excellent, very friendly and thorough maid service.

Beach: Extremely small and tons of bugs. Water was very warm. Do NOT come here if you enjoy spending most of your days at the beach. This is not a resort for that.

Casa De Campo has some really unique qualities and will certainly appeal to the golf set, but the value is simply not there.

Room Tip: Villas on golf course are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we do appreciate our guests feedback as this will help us improve our services. We are glad to hear our rooms and activities were up to your standards. Regarding the food we are sorry to hear it did not fulfill your expectations, We will definitely pass the information along to the corresponding departments for those restaurants. Again we appreciate your feed back and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed three nights in an elite room with a breakfast package that included a round of golf. The room was great and have zero complaints about it as it was unquestionably five star. The food and the service, however was most certainly not five star. Though the complaints are minor inconveniences, as opposed to vacation-ruining ones, they are sufficient enough to warrant pause or at least temper expectations when comparing this hotel with other luxury five star places.

1-Breakfast food was average. Breakfast meats were of below average quality and certainly not comparable to what you would see at good, or even average US breakfast buffets. And if your package does not include breakfast, an $80 breakfast for two is a bit of highway robbery.

2- Add 26% to every price you see printed. 16% Dominican VAT plus 10% Resort Fee. While allowed by law, this should be more transparent. For example what if any of the 10% resort/service fee goes to the workers? There is a line for additional tipping so maybe you really should add 35% to every price you see. Again, more an annoyance than anything else. But I'd like to know what I am paying for upfront and would rather see the prices trued-up for all fees.

3- Room service was not on point. I requested that upon return to my room a bottle of Champagne be waiting on ice on a champagne bucket. Had to call again and wait for it upon my return. Again, minor point, but these people are in the high-end hospitality business - ensuring a patron's bottle of champagne is set on ice is not an atom-splitting request.

4- Inconvenience of having to present your guest card upon signing of every single check in the resort. If they are going to be such sticklers about proving your identity, they should just give you a bracelet and call-it a day. Less of a hassle than carrying your little identity card around like you were living in some totalitarian state.

5- Great Golf, OK Beach. If you are going for a Golf Vacation, you will do well. Beach is not a white sandy beauty that you may expect. While the beach is sandy, once in the water expect uncomfortable rocks. Not excellent.

Overall good experience but enough little hassles to give me pause before travelling four hours from the east coast. Florida, Puerto Rico resorts probably offer equal value propositions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
7.4 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
39.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
39.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
36.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,149 reviews
36.1 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Resort & Villas

Property: Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Address: Carretera La Romana - Higuey | La Romana-Higuey, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean—Casa de Campo Resort and Villas—a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including an expansive marina, tennis courts, and polo facilities. Casa de Campo is also one of the most sought-after Dominican Republic golf resorts featuring three championship golf courses — including Pete Dye’s masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, the #1 ranked course in the Caribbean and number 39 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de Campo Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing