We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm not sure if it's worth $USD25” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altos de Chavon

Altos de Chavon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
La Romana City Tour
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm not sure if it's worth $USD25”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This trip was a part of an island excursion that we did. The amphitheater was nice and the village had nice views. I don't think I would have liked to pay an entry of 25$. It was good as a part of a package.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    220
    84
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Big Letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were on a cruise and thought this sounded like a great cultural learning experience. But once on the bus, could tell this wasn't going to be exactly what we imagined. if you want to go to a poor country and see how the better, the much better, half lives, this is definitely the place. Built by a movie mogul and styled after an Italian village, the streets are paved in cobblestone and the buildings all have an Old World feel. We were shown the amphitheater where Beyonce, Elton John and Alicia Keyes and others have performed. Unfortunately, I doubt if any of the locals in La Romana were able to come see them. We were shown million doors homes and a multi-million dollar golf course leading up to the village where multi-millionaires, or as our driver liked to say, multi-multi millionaires like Bill Gates, have homes. There was a beautiful church that was blocked so you couldn't enter, an exhibit a stones native to the Dominican the souvenir shops, if you wanted to call them that, were fashioned more like they were boutiques and way overpriced for tourist shopping. There were only 2 restaurants and they were small and one was costly. The actual Altos de Chavon Museum, which should some history of the first natives, was small and while our guide had us wait an hour for him to walk us through, we could have walked through it ourselves and simply read the exhibits and got as much out of it, if not more. Everyone on our cruise who took this tour was thoroughly disappointed and wanted their money back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“breath taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you like to travel in time and experience a town built into the past surrounded by an exhuberant landscape andh many of the modern conveniences around you. This is the place. A true architectonic achievement.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Tico2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelps, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The church was beautiful as well as the view of the river below. It reminded me of an old Roman arena. And the river view came right out of a prehistoric movie!. What a grand sight!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatile Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

On a recent cruise ship stop to La Romana , DR we decided based on reviews to take a trip to Alto de Chavon. We did not do a tour. We just took a bus over for $5.00 pp. Alto de Chavon was beautiful. It's a great photo opportunity, but not much more. We were there, walked around and got on a bus back to La Romana within an hour. There were not too many artists in what was billed as an artist colony. What was there was overpriced. But the $5 was a definite bargain in that it provided for a nice ride through the countryside, time to wander around Alto de Chavon, take a lot of pictures and get back into town to do some shopping.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altos de Chavon also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Altos de Chavon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing