We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$411
US$390
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$293
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$437
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$325
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$248
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$771
US$578
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,090)
Filter reviews
7,090 results
Traveller rating
4,874
1,268
552
244
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,874
1,268
552
244
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal gourmetking kongswim up roomle chanterelleroyal suites guestsroyal lobbypalladium complexroom servicebutler servicecheese fonduelas torresnew sectionel bohiotravel clubromance suitelobstersports bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,434 - 3,439 of 7,090 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This was our second trip to punta cana. Can't say a negative thing about this resort. We stayed in the new section room 5631. The room was more than expected,beer fridge filled ever day,yahoo! The butler went out of his/her way whenever we required something. If you needed a ride anywhere and at any time , a simple phone call to the front desk and the boogie bus was there within 3-5 minutes. By staying at the royal, you get preferred reservations at all the alacarte restaurants through out the resort. There were several times we arrived late for breakfast at the royal buffet and by having the gold bracelets ,they still allowed us in to eat. The royal pool bars have a better selection of drinks than the other resorts on site. If u don't see what u want ,just ask as the good stuff is hidden behind the bar.The royal gourmet restaurant was good as long you got there early for dinner.(lobster,filet, etc).Service was very good and the staff spoke english very well,unlike the last time we were in Punta Cana.Overall our expectations were well met. The beach is the beach its awsome. A lttle hint for music lovers,the bars all play merange? music. Bring a couple of your own cds and the bartenders will play them. 9 out of 10

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ezydawgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Vacationed here for Christmas week 2010 and was very happy with our choice to stay at RST. The beach is second to none in the carribean, the pool is quiet and luxurious and the champagne flowed freely. The ONLY downside for us was the food.

This was our 4th trip to Punta Cana and it's the same story everytime, 1-2 days of the trip we are with stomach cramps/pains and using the restroom. We expected MUCH better food at the RST as per all of the reviews and it just didn't live up to expectations in that department. Don't get me wrong, the Royal Gourmet restaurant was a magnificent setting and the service was ideal but the food (although better than all previous all inclusives in the DR) just didn't make the grade.

If you are a foodie, I would not recommend the Dominican Republic at all. If you can sacrifice a little in this area, there is nowhere that comes close for the price. All in all, still had a 4 star trip even with the tummy aches.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tan_Haole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Here is my honest review… Took a bit of time..

April 7th to 14th 2010
Royal Turquesa

We had a swim up room. It was absolutely fabulous. I usually prefer a room on the top floors because I find it less damp. The bed was super comfortable; I loved the 2 person shower. The bath did not drain well so we didn’t use it, preferred the shower. No problem at all with the room or the location. Most locations are great and a short walk to the lobby.

We were brought to our room by a butler. I don’t wish to name names but we really didn’t like him that much. He was quite arrogant. Next time we return we will try to get another one from the start. But that is very minor. It is just to let you know that any butler will help you, you don’t have to stay with the initial one that brings you to your room. We talked to someone else that had another butler and they loved him.

Beach: We did have to get up early to reserve chairs with palapas. Around 6:30 or 7:00. There were 4 people beside us that had 8 chairs every day. Four in the shade and four on the beach. It was disgusting when you see people walking around looking for chairs. We were on vacation and not willing to start discussions but if they read this maybe the will feel guilty. On the day we were leaving we discussed going and removing their towels and leaving them a note with only one chair saying it was not nice but we didn’t but we had a laugh about it. The service on the beach was great. We loved it.

The food: we had lunch quite a few times at the Royal turquesa it was quite a treat. From 1 to 3 every day. A different menu. Lovely and the service was excellent. We may have enjoyed the lunches more than the dinners at this restaurant because we were less people. Anyway loved it. The meals were great. The salmon, steak, shrimps, duck were all very good. Say hi to the 2 Franciscos and Alkouray for us if you go… Say you saw there names on the internet

For supper at the Royal Turquesa we also liked but maybe the Bamboo more… It was more cozy and not as busy. We ate a couple times at the Buffet and it was good also. Have the fruit flambé… and add soft ice cream.. Yum… Also for breakfast ask for a cappuccino very good. The only restaurant we really didn’t like at all is the UVA. Ouffss won’t go back there. The menu is very limited and not very good. Really nothing special at all. Sorry… But this is our opinion (we were 8) and only one person really liked his meal.

We went to hemingsway. Liked it also. But it is really hard to get a drink that taste the same twice. The strawberry daiquiri were different every time. The best at the hemingways but depending who made them. Champagne was my choice of drinks but couldn’t get it everywhere.

We also liked the Royal Turquesa lobby. Had a couple really nice coffees there. The fridge that is self serve if very nice and a nice touch. Didn’t use the internet because I had an engagement to not touch any computers or get in touch with my children(young adults)

The weather was the most rain I have ever had in April but we still were able to go to the beach every day. It did rain in the room of some other guests during the night but it was promptly cleaned. We were ok being on the first floor.

We had some lovely walks. If you are brave you can go to the village. For cheap coffee there is a grocery store 3$ US each. The exact same that you buy at the resort for 6 or 7. Don’t wait until the airport because it is 8$. To get to the grocery walk on the beach were the vendors are. A short distance and there is a restaurant called Captain Cook. Cut through there and you will reach the street. Directly across from the street there is a grocery store. You can buy all kinds of things there. 105 pesos is 3$ US. A tip is ask the girl how much before you line up. They do cheat you a bit. If you have pesos even better because most things have prices on them. If not ask before. If you want you can get the coffee 2 for 5 from the vendors. It is more of a hassle but that is the price we paid. I also bought some vanilla but fresh in the husk. Also these are the best prices don’t wait for the airport because you will pay more. This year at the duty free we didn’t see many bargains. Buy your rum in the shops or grocery. Make sure the seal is not broken..

For the jewelry and paintings we found the best deals at the palace lobby. They come about 2 or 3 times a week. We paid 30$ us for a large painting. Silver turquoise rings 22$.

We went to one show it was ok. We tried hard to find some Dominican music in the lobby and had trouble. I would love to have more. Did find some one night in the Bavaro lobby but breaks for pretty often so didn’t get to hear that much.

We had a lovely week. We loved it and will return next year. We were in the Bavaro section last year but enjoyed the perks of the Royal Turquesa so much we will return. We have travelled to maybe 10 resorts and this is the first one we have returned to. We tipped quite a bit. But they really enjoy something personal. I had wrapped in little cellophane bags some Werther chocolates and gave them out all week. I sometimes had the feeling that they enjoyed the chocolate more than the tip.

Hope this helps… Don’t forget the long pants (or jeans) are required for the a la carte and the Royal Turquesa for supper. We saw quite a few upset men leaving to have to change. So be advised. Sandals are ok.
All in all we loved it and will return. So have fun. Don’t sweat the small stuff and enjoy…

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We returned to the RST this season and they did not disappoint. Everything was great.

The new lobby was spacious and quiet. The lobby bar served great drinks. I've found a new passion for Ron Barcelo Cream!

The beach was beautiful and there were plenty of chairs.

The food was great. There is no real reason to use any other restaurant than the Royal Gourmet. The service was better than last year. I do not think tipping does any good expect for giving to those who are less fortunate. The Christmas Gala dinner was exquisite.

We had a swim-up room this year and absolutely loved it. There is nothing better than having the drink lady bring drinks right up to our pool-side room. Our room was very clean and cool. Our butler was very helpful and readily available.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kscrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We spent 1 week in the resort, swim up suites( not by request or paid for)
Rooms: Amazing, spacious, clean, open shower and toilet area

Locations: The actual building is quite far from the beach or the pool. However, there is a pool right outside the rooms, for people, who do not like beach. We love beach, so this was not a good location for us.

Entertainment: Since this is an adult section only, there is not an entertainment. This part of the resort is dead. People reading books or sleeping. Average age is 60.

Food: Great, but nothing special . This part of resort doesn't have own restaurants, you eat at all teh restaurants as the other guests from Grand Palladium

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagmarsvec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews