We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Royal, the only way to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Royal, the only way to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

My vacation at the RST was great, the service at my swim-up was perfect. Here is my review:
1. The swim-up is absolutely wonderful and the room is so beautiful, no stairs to go up and down;
2. The butler service mostly given by Jahaira was perfect all the time and was always done with a big smile;
3. The cleaning staff did a perfect job during the day and the turn-down was also done perfectly;
4. The whole resort is so clean all the time;
5. The bar staff is always joyful and prompt;
6. All the a la carte restaurants have delicious food, great service and most of all warm and joyful staff;
7. All the buffets have great choices of food and once again great service and warm and joyful staff;
8. The Gourmet and Chanterelle have exceptionnal food and service, special mention for the two young hostesses and for Juan who makes sure that all the guests are well taken care of;
9. The beach is kept clean all the time;
10. The activity staff is cheerful and the activities are fun, I did the gym and dance lesson on the beach (for the activity, you have to go at one of the other hotels of the resort);
11. The shows are great, my favorite was the Circus, but we enjoyed all the ones we saw (we saw about 5 shows);
12. The lobby entertainment at the Palace, the Punta Cana and the Bavaro were always good;
13. The little pizzas and fruit brochettes are great,they are served around the RST pool;
14. The bar service to our swim-up is also very good;
15. The possibility to reserve at the A la carte restaurants was also a great perk to our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gentille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,094
    1,100
    468
    213
    129
See reviews for
658
4,135
72
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

My husband and I picked the Royal Suites at Turquesa after a wonderful stay at it's sister hotel in Puerto Vallarta 3 years ago.
The RS at Turquesa is on a Palladium property with 3 other resorts. The complex is huge! We enjoyed walking on the beach day and night and were seldom bothered by locals selling excursions and timeshares.
We had booked a swim-up suite, which was beautiful. However, the water in the pool was too cold for swimming, even on the hottest day. The ocean was warmer.
Our butlers, Jahaira and David were wonderful. They remembered our names, and were always quick to meet any needs.
The only problem we had with the room was a leaky air conditioner, which was never fully fixed. The room temp was very nice.
The Food: The Royal Gourmet is supposed to be the top restaurant on the complex. We did not find it to be so. The meals from the menu were not good and the temperature of the food was usually room temperature. My husband and I both ordered Rib Eye steak off of the menu one night and asked for it to be prepared medium. The waiter looked very confused, but took the order. When our order arrived, we understood the confusion. What was on the plate was not Rib Eye steak, but Prime Rib. It wasn't bad, so we ate it. Another night we ordered Filet Mignon. The two thin pieces of meat we recieved were so tough we had a difficult time cutting them with a steak knife. Another night we ordered the grilled Lobster. It was overcooked and tough. After these experiences, we opted to eat most of our evening meals at the Specialty restaurants. We were happy with all of these, especially Bamboo and the Mexican Cantina. We did not care for the Brazilian as we found the meat to be dry.
We ordered room service a few times, with mixed results. One day I ordered the Margherita Pizza and it was delicious, with tomato sauce, cheese and thin crust. I decided to order it the second day again and got a totally different pizza, fresh tomatoes, green peppers, cheese and CORN on a thick crust. It was a good pizza, but not what I expected. Another day I ordered a chef salad. I received a plate full of julienned cold cuts and cheese, green peppers and unpitted olives. No lettuce. A friend in another room had ordered a pizza and recieved it with cooked unpitted olives.

The fishing excursion was very rough. You have to cross the reef to get to open water for fishing and the waves were pretty big. We hit one that was about 15' and when the boat went down the back side of the wave, everyone (passengers) onboard went flying. My husband was injured. We did catch 5 fish. I caught the last one. There were seven passengers on board and I was the only one that did not get sick. It took over 1.5 hours for someone to get my husband to the clinic after the boat got back to shore. The fact it didn't take longer was due to a couple we had befriended that were waiting on shore when we got back. She bullied the guys at the Dive shop to call for a ride for my husband. The captain wanted to take my husband to a Dr off the property, but we refused.
We visited the clinic on site twice and were well treated by the medical staff. We visited our Dr when we arrived back home to make sure the treatment had been sufficient and he said that everything they had done was good and proper.

We did enjoy the train, and the golf carts were especially handy, because of my hubby's injury.
Our favorite excursion was the Bavarro Runners. We befriended another couple in our building who went on a similar excursion but didn't get to see or do all the things we did on this one.
We also did a snorkel trip to Catalina Island, which I enjoyed fully, but my husband had to sit on the boat and beach and watch, due to the previously mentioned injury. The waters were clear, calm and warm. I saw a variety of fish and even watched a crab walk around in the grass in the lagoon.
We enjoyed the Michael Jackson show and the Circus Show was spectacular. You don't want to miss either of those.
The sports field needs a little TLC. The mini golf course is all ripped up, but we still enjoyed playing. We loved seeing the huge chess boards throughout the complex.
Overall, we loved the resort. But wouldn't recommend the Royal Gourmet restaurant at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherrilJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

room was excellent - bed was perfect -pillows were excellent
for an old dude i found that there was easy access to the pool
we were located on the ground floor so had no steps to climb
the mini bar was well maintained with soft drinks and beer
also we had a bottle of rum scotch gin and another liquor
the maids were excellent
we tried out the room service one time and it was quick and tasty
we found the restaurants should have been closer to the main lobby-even the the gourmet restaurant was quite a hike for breakfast
at lunch and supper we were able to ride the shuttle
the other restaurants were further away
we tried the japanese excellent
the italian not great and the mexican -the appetizers 1-5 on the menu are full meals themselves
the french and gourmet restaurants were good-the service was excellent
just a note for lobster lovers--this is not the same as we are used to here
wait service at the pool was excellent
we did not park ourselves at the beach so i dont know how service was there
getting a chaise by the pool means getting up at 6 am-make sure you keep your towels from the day before
for the first 5 days we were there people left their towels overnight and were not removed
at any given time only half the chaises were in actual use
i guess management collected all the towels on thursday night because at 6 am friday
i had my choice of location
the chaise lounge issue is the biggest negative
if you go for breakfast and pick up fresh towels you will have nowhere to put them
last year we stayed at the palladium in jamaica and had absolutely no problem
with chaises
free internet access was excellent bonus-- wi-fi in room and computers in lobby
the spa does not compare to dreams punta cana
the masseuse was as good but the surroundings were more clinical
you are not supposed to tip but we find it an excellent way to reward these hard working
people for good service and i am sure that they appreciate it
the butler is more of a concierge - he was on duty 9 -1 and 5-9
overall i would rate this hotel a 4 star
but i would not return mainly because of the chaise issue and the walk to breakfast

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ottawaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The grounds and facilities were beautiful and clean. The room was beautiful and clean, but all the power (including a/c) went out every time you left the room, leaving us to return from a day in the heat to a very humid room. The sheets were still damp by bedtime. Damp sheets combined with the noise from the bar (just outside the hotel) only a short distance away kept us up most nights. As the room was not non-smoking and we are non-smokers the dampness made the room smell of stale smoke. The door on the toilet was just a frosted sheet of glass with no frame, latch or door knob and over a foot of open space, which allows nearly no privacy. This is not a good set up for a romantic atmosphere. The toilet facilities combined with the barely edible food was not a good combination. The meat was flavourless and the steak so tough it was quite a job to cut through it with a sharp knife. Even the fruit was dissapointing. We are not "foodies" by any means, but could not have taken another day of the food. Even with very upset and empty stomaches were left the resort the last morning without eating. This was only my second time on a beach vacation so I don't have alot to compare this resort to, but if all resorts in Punta Cana are similar to this I would never return. We enjoyed our time on the beach, but it was a challenge to find loungers as people had to get up at 7 a.m. to claim a space. There were not enough loungers and I don't want to have to get up at 7 while on vacation just to get a spot to lie down. There were no activities at our section or "resort" and the music was barely audible. It was mostly elderly people reading or drinking quietly. If you like peace and quiet this is a good place. We were bored by the third day and finaly found (quite accidentally) that the pool in the cheaper section of the resort had atmosphere and even activities and music. This resort is called adults only, but there are children allowed at the restuarants in the adults only section, so only the building, pool and beach area are adults only, and you can get adults only pools and sections of beach at nearly any lower priced resort. I read some bad reviews about this resort and put it down to the fact that some people can find anything to complain about, but after having eaten and barely slept here for a week I have realized that there was no exageration in the bad reviews. Thankfully the weather was beautiful and we met some great people. "HI" to Mike and Stephanie from Ajax - we really enjoyed meeting you guys.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Butte Sask.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Would definately stay again at this resort but only at the Royal Suites.It is very big resort but at the Royal Suites it is far less busy and quieter.The food was good and the Royal Gourmet restaurant was a nice touch. The grounds were kept immaculate and the rooms were very nice and clean with twenty four hour room service.The staff worked very hard and always had hola and a a smile for you.Our butler Edward made our stay very enjoyable as he was awesome.He helped us upgrade to a swimup suite which we loved.He also took us to town do do some shopping and showed us around .I recommend staying at his building.The weather was perfct and the drinks good so what more could you want in the middle of January.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prairieboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights up until xmas eve, and I must say it is the best all inclusive hotel I have stayed in. The hotel room is excellent, upon arrival we were given an introduction from our butler who was faultless. We were even given a menu to pick what type of pillows we wanted. The resort itself was very large, the pool and beach were lovely. The food was good from the different buffets scattered across the complex. However the Gourmet Restaurant was top notch with a good waitered service. You can get smoked salmon for breakfast, angus beef for lunch and a fantastic choice of seafood in the evening. If you ever stray too far from your room there is a convienient free taxi style service that will pick you up from anywhere in the resort and take you anywhere you wish. The only negatives were;
Night time entertainment was lacking, there only seems to be live entertainment between 10pm-11pm.
The pool was very cold - we did stay in December so as expected but would be nice if it was heated.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed at the RST for our honeymoon the second week of October. We were very impressed with the resorts. The food takes some getting used to, but we had no stomach issues. The royal gourmet is definitely the best place to eat. We tried others and enjoyed the Japanese restaurant, but we ended up eating the last few meals at the royal gourmet.

Our room was very nice and was always clean. We ordered breakfast to our room everyday and it was always delicious. We did have a problem with the power cutting off a few times. The staff was very quick in responding and had a repair man at our room within five min! We were given two massages for the trouble after I asked. We had just had a couples massage (which was unbelievable) so the spa agreed to swap the massages for a facial for my wife. The spa is very nice too and you have free access if you stay at the RST. Very relaxing and a decent fitness center.

The pool and beach were very nice as well. We never had a problem finding a chair at either. The service was great and make sure you have one of their pina coladas!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryanb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
15.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
3.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

Property: The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 140 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalized service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing