We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent views, service, and value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent views, service, and value!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our first Caribbean vacation, and we are sold! We loved it. We went the last week in April and had perfect weather. It is a short taxi ride from the airport (about 15 min or less). The surrounding area is very well maintained. We felt safe.

Note: There is no ATM at the hotel, so make arrangements for the week at the airport or in the U.S.! Also, there was no cell/WIFI service at the airport when we landed, so we couldn't use our phones to research anything despite having an international plan.

The resort was gorgeous! 5 amazing pool areas, but the most popular was the "common area" with the swim up pool bar. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite with the private pool/patio. We loved it for star gazing, but never used it during the day. The castle also has an amazing rooftop pool and bar area, but for some reason it was always empty, so it was more fun to go to the main pool area. *The beach area was small, but gorgeous and not overcrowded.

Food was good, but similar to "wedding quality". There didn't seem to be a lot of fresh produce choices. This is not be a good place for someone on a special diet (i.e. gluten free, casein free, or vegetarian). As someone who was not dieting in any way, I felt satisfied, but no meal was memorable for it's taste. The atmosphere of each restaurant was amazing, but only 1or 2 are choices for each meal. *The menus are in both Spanish and English, and the choices are very Americanized.

The staff is extremely kind and friendly. They are very accommodating about speaking English when needed; although most people only spoke a little bit.

Most of the hotel was extremely clean, but I will say that our room was not ready when we arrived an hour after check-in. When they let us in, they forgot towels, refilling the fridge, and all the surfaces looked "clean", but as if they could still use a "deep" wash. I didn't let it bother me too much.

The atmosphere was very gorgeous, but also very peaceful and sometimes a little too quiet when looking for nightlight. Everything closes by 10:30-11, except for 1 bar. At the time we went, the whole resort was pretty quiet. I loved that we could always get the best seat in the house (in a restaurant, by the pool, or at the beach), and it felt clean and calm overall. One of the 5 days, they let in 3 vendors, which was a little stressful, but their booths were easy to avoid. Other friends have told me that these kinds of vendors or random beggars is rampant at other resorts and beaches. Also, this place is mostly couples. Not a party locale.

Overall, the all-inclusive package, the views (the beach, pools, stars, etc.), and overall landscape of the hotel made this place an amazing, wonderful stay, and excellent value, especially at the affordable price.

Room Tip: The Castle has amazing views. Rooftop pool and bar, as well as private pool/patio. Great for star ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience at our Sanctuary, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the service provided for all our staff. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,141
    844
    297
    128
    89
See reviews for
628
2,954
65
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here from good reviews posted and friends who live in DR (but hadn't stayed here.) From the start we were pushed to get an upgraded room and was given a "tour" of them. We were told $250 extra per night, then $200 - made up pricing! The room was dirty, the toilet ran constantly, we had to call to have room serviced since some days they hadn't come by afternoon, pillows were horrible, deck was in bad shape - loose boards, loose rails, splintered, mosquitoes! The "outdoor tub" was a strange square tiled hole which did not look comfortable and although there was a wall, there were often workers out there that could see over the wall. Internet was extra fee and it never worked in our room - the IT team came 3 times and we had to wait for them. At check out we were still charged the extra cost! The beach was tiny and full of seaweed! Juanillo beach next door was much nicer and more space. The pools were nice, but yes there were harassing vendors there and not enough chairs.
Also make sure you bring everything you need - the tiny hotel store had nothing, not even a comb and sunscreen was $30! A cab ride for diapers and formula cost us $60 RT! Seclusion has its price.
Food was not very good at all. It was hard to find a decent meal and nothing came as described on the menu. Everything was covered in bland sauces to hide the poor quality of food and cooking technique. Yes, I am spoiled by having good dining options at home - but I have had much better food on cruises and other vacations. They should quit trying to do international or fusion cuisine and just cook good local stuff! The only good meal was the BBQ night at the buffet which had grilled local fish and shrimp. Lots of hidden extra charges at dinner - drinks were not included, only house wine which was not clear on any of the menus. One couple at dinner freaked out over a bill in excess of $150 in drinks that when ordered earlier in the day by the pool were all included. Surcharges of 30% on extras was a huge surprise. A waiter at one establishment tried to get an under the table deal on some of the extras - very unprofessional.
Even complaining to management was a problem when staff claimed they were the manager and then said the manager was out. Since we had a baby we were not eligible to stay at the other sister properties and had limited options. We were also told that all the rooms were booked. Since we were traveling with a baby all we were looking forward to was nice weather, relaxing by a pool/beach and eating some nice meals. Somehow this was a challenge here. The only positive was that the room that was right on the water did allow us to see some great wildlife. If we stayed in the original suite it would have been very disappointing with the minimal ocean view if you could even call it that.

Room Tip: I heard the Hard Rock Cafe was a great hotel. Not sure if it is on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbertems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

As service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, after we have finished reading your notes, we are truly sorry due the fact that we did not accomplish with our main goal: your total satisfaction.

At Sanctuary we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important to us, it is the only method that we can improve our service and knows better your preferences. Your notes have been sending to the departments involved in order to work on it. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced and I assure you, that corrective and preventive measures have been determined with all the departments involved, in order to avoid, similar situations in the future.

Finally, I would like to ask you to give us other opportunity, will be an honor host you in the future and exceed your expectations.

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived at the resort on April 23rd spending a week there. I can conclude that it was the perfect holiday for us, my children, 13, 12, 9 really loved the entertainment provided and the use of the pools. the choice of food available was incredible with the restaurants all offering very different cuisine, The breakfast was a delight with such a array of choices, The children for lunch ate at the Casa Bella or the beach BBQ, while we took our time and ate at the Blue Marlin, Evenings we tried them all but loved The Wok.
Whilst we have been on several similar holidays what stands out at Sanctuary is the service and the Staff and of course the Immaculate grounds and beach.
Moises, Melvin, Ernesto, Roberto, Joanna, Valentina, Isabele to name our family favourites, that really made us so welcome and are such a credit to the establishment.

our only negative comments.
- The Shop in the hotel run by a man is very rude and changed his prices by the hour, suntan cream went from $30 to $20 in a day.
- The Dominican Market sellers in the resort go for the hard sell through children, giving them expensive jewelry to bring to their parents. $30 for a necklace, plus you have to avoid the stands to not get hassled...
However nothing takes away from this amazing holiday experience at this amazing hotel.....
We are already planning to come back next year at the same time, although the dates are not yet available
Advise to Parents
- Its very HOT so bring DVD's for those hot hours, the TV channels are not great for kids in the rooms
- We used factor 50 applied every hour and still got red on the first day, so just had to reduce exposure time.

Room Tip: We had 2 Ocean View suites which were perfect, with a large balcony and good air conditioning,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flandrin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your recent experience in our Sanctuary on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful holiday in our resort, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Service.

We are very grateful with your mention about our associates, thank you very much for recognize their work and for comment the details that they have had with you, our team consists of people that are always ready to go the extra mile, in order to provide an excellent service and to transform your vacations into memorable moments.

Be sure that they will know about your review and you recognition, they will be more than happy to know the good impression that they left on you.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Dirty, smelly, unfriendly staff, vendors at the pool!!! Not at the beach, which there really wasn't one to speak of, but around the pool so everytime you walked by they would be hounding you to buy something. Food was horrible, There is very little lighting at night, and the resort is huge. Kinda creepy. All the tables and chairs were old and rickety, mold everywhere, pools were cloudy. Would NEVER recommend this hotel to ANYONE! All the good reviews I think are people who have never been anywhere and experienced a truly nice hotel. There aren't 5 restaurants to choose from. They are open one at a time, and are NOT good. The drinks were horrible, watered down, Pina Coladas that were literally just poured from a machine, not blended with ice, just poured like milk. There are also NOT 5 pools, there is 1 pool and the rest I believe to be just scenery. And if you do still decide to go there, do NOT stay in the Castle! Creepy, old, smelly, nothing works, everyone that we talked to that stayed in the castle had problems. I hope someone takes that property and changes everything! it needs a complete overhaul and someone to come in and train the staff. I felt sorry for them, they had no idea what was going on...ever.....We asked for a different room the first night, they didn't have another room for us so they sent us to their sister resort, Alsol Luxory Resort. Thank God, because it was beautiful! For half the price, it was beautiful! Clean, friendly staff, no smell, it's only 4 years old, right next to the Marina, So I was kind of happy we didn't like the Sanctuary. It took a while for them to finally get us another room, but it was worth it. Stay at The Alsol Luxory Resort! Even though it's still in the same hotel group, it is run totally different.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reneep59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

As service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, after we have finished reading your notes, we are truly sorry due the fact that we did not accomplish with our main goal: your total satisfaction.

At Sanctuary we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important to us, it is the only method that we can improve our service and know better your preferences. Your notes have been send to the departments involved in order to work on it. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced and I assure you, that corrective and preventive measures have been determined with all the departments involved, in order to avoid, similar situations in the future.

Finally, I would like to ask you to give us other opportunity, will be an honor host you in the future and exceed your expectations.


Best regards,


Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, New York, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

such a great experience at the Sanctuary Cap Cana. Stayed 3 nights with my girlfriend and it was an unbelievable experience. First and foremost, single people stay away! This resort is full of couples and families. So if you are looking to hookup and let loose, I recommend you look elsewhere. This is a true romantic getaway that you can enjoy to the fullest with your spouse. The food all over the hotel was amazing, I recommend trying all the restaurants. Drinks at the hotel were ok, nothing out of this world but certainly were not a deal breaker for me. This is a great place for a honeymoon, anniversary, or any other romantic theme you would like to celebrate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable, thank you for you kind remarks and recognition of efforts. Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This property exceeded our expectations. Rooms were very nice, and they upgraded us (without asking) from ocean view to ocean front. Food was very good. 5 restaurants to choose from. We experienced all of them, and had very good meals. Good house wine....Spanish. Premium liquors at no charge. Exceptional staff. Accomodating, friendly, and warm people.Beautiful pools, lovely private beach, and gorgeous grounds. We would definitely go back and highly recommend this beautiful property. No negatives. Just don't go on the excursion to Soana Island. You are just paying $110 per person to go from one gorgeous island to another. Maybe go ziplining...or to the capital.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbadMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable, thank you for you kind remarks and recognition of efforts. Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Service is excellent. All the hotel is staff is great. All inclusive is a must if you are staying here. The drinks are great. Try the sangrias, the ronron. Several restaurants. Best one is the italian and the paella on the one in near the ocean. The Asian restaurant made some of our group guests food poisoned but the hotel took care of us. The rooms are spacious. And try not to stay in the bovedas as they are a little humid. We were moved to other rooms and all great. They have several activities during the day like dance lessons, drinks and cooking lessons. The beach and ocean is beautiful. If you go on New Year's Eve they through a really nice party with a Dj and the ambiance is really vibrant. Would return, and the price was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsinthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your recent experience in our Sanctuary on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful holiday in our resort, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Service.

We are very grateful with your mention about our associates, thank you very much for recognize their work and for comment the details that they have had with you, our team consists of people that are always ready to go the extra mile, in order to provide an excellent service and to transform your vacations into memorable moments.

Be sure that they will know about your review and you recognition, they will be more than happy to know the good impression that they left on you.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
36.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
1.0 mi away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing