We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,325)
Filter reviews
5,325 results
Traveller rating
3,761
970
351
144
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,761
970
351
144
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin love bar casa bella juanillo beach ocean bar taco truck monarch villa castle pool wok restaurant castle suite royalty villa baby face main pool room service black angel punta espada our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 5,325 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff are amazing. Location, pools, and lobby/bars/restaurants are beautiful. Food is average. Drinks are good and include top shelf liquor. Small and very quiet resort for the most part.

There were a few things that bothered us...
1) Our oceanfront suite in the Castle had a walkway out to the beach. Directly beside the walkway was a sandy area that looked like a trash dump...literally trash everywhere.
2) Only a few of the dinner restaurants are air conditioned and none of the bars are. We found ourselves heading back to our suite early each evening to escape the humidity.
3) Only one of the vents for air conditioning in our suite worked. All of our stuff (clothes, books, etc.) always felt damp. Difficult to sleep at night because of the excessive humidity in the room.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HeelHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear HeelHaven,

Taiguey.

All the comments from our guests are really important for us since feedback is always taken into consideration to improve and being able to offer our guests remarkable experiences.

We would kindly like to ask you if you could please contact us via email at info.@sanctuarycapcana.com to provide us more detailed information from your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to provide you the memorable stay that you deserve.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This place is great but the staff is really makes this place special. They are the best. They really want you to have a good time and enjoy yourself. Our junior suite oceanview was amazing with plenty of space to relax with livingroom that opens to the balcony. The walk in closet was the good size to hang your clothes with room for your shoes
and luggage. The pools were a good time with fun activities..foam party and water balloon toss was a winner. Now the food..plenty to eat..we loved everything but our favorite was steakhouse & Fusion. Dont miss out on these too...the steakhouse surprisingly was delicious and chocolate mousse was to die for. The Fusion was an incredible entertaining and the food/drink were amazing if you are foodie.. notable mentions are breakfast buffet and the seafood restaurant on the water. For late night eats check out sanctuary town..sweets, Irish bar and tacos truck.Take part in the nightly shows its a good time. We have one more day in paradise..I will finish my review....but I know I want to come back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Dawn H,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We arrived at the Sanctuary after a couple of years from our last visit. It was great to see some of the same staff from our first trip 8 years ago. From the bartenders Carlos, Bernardo, and Gilbert, morning breakfast waitstaff Maria and Valentina, Steakhouse Waiter - William, our butler Emilio and there are so many more to thank for a wonderful time. The renovations are still in process including a new building Oceanfront between the main building and the castle that will open in December. The best restaurant was the Steakhouse and we eat their most nights. The gardens are some of the most beautiful in the Caribbean. The new pool was a great addition. The upgrades to the main building were very cool including the updated foundation and chandeliers. The nighttime shows were well done and it was nice to go out after dinner for a show. The Sanctuary Town was a great addition since we were here last and definitely loved the pizza and ice cream. We definitely will be going back on our next trip to Punta Cana.

Room tip: Steakhouse: Order 16 oz Filet mignon for 2 (Cook at the table on a stone)
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florida_waterskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Florida_waterskier,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort once again as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Kind Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing. The accommodations are beautiful and the view from our hotel room was breathtaking! The entire staff at the hotel from the minute we arrived to the time we left was polite, courteous and very accommodating.
The entire staff at Casa Blanca was fantastic. Our waitress, Andrea was excellant and every morning for breakfast we found her smiling face. We could always count on Carlos Santana at the pool bar. Carlos made us feel welcomed each and every day like we had been there for weeks. We felt like part of the family because by the second day, he acknowledged us by our names and knew the kind of drinks we wanted. Junior the cook by the pool bar was courteous and enjoyed his job. Luis, the "game host" and DJ at the Pub has so much enthusiasm and knows how to get a group involved in any activity! Esthephaney..she was everywhere checking on everyone. We saw her at the pool, at the beach, at the restaurant, inside the hotel, steakhouse to the shops! Not sure there are not multiples of her! Sanctuary Cap Cana is very fortunate to have her. The room service staff, Alexis, the housekeeping staff, to the drivers, bell hops, etc. I dont think we ever walked by 1 person who didnt either acknowledge us with a smile or a simple Good Morning! We have definitely found our favorite resort and because of the people above we will return in the future. #customersforlife!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Kimmiesvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Kimmiesvo,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

It was our 50th Birthday trip for 3 cousins who had turned 50 in the past year. Although EVERYONE was friendly and accommodating a few I dealt with the most and who provided us with outstanding and top notch service was Jose at the front desk(the shorter one), Rafael(Concierge), Bernardo(pool bar), Fido and the tall thin girl with the curly hair(entertainment staff), and Maria & staff in breakfast/lunch dining area. The resort was very beautiful and picturesque and away from all the mainstream resorts. If you’re looking for serene, quiet, and peaceful this is the place to go. We started out in a Junior Suite/Oceanview and was upgraded to a roomy Villa. They also have a section called the Castle with absolutely stunning rooms and beautiful views of the ocean. I loved the decor of the resort also❤️

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Steelerfan6785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Steelerfan6785,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews