We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Alot of work for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
1 review
“Needs Alot of work for sure!”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I went there on myhoneymoon and the location is beautiful but everything fell short of "Luxury." Here is a list of things that went wrong with the resort.

* Never got upgrade
*AC didnt work** they had sent someone 2 times yet never moved us to a room with AC
*Some type of alarm kept going off in the middle of the night outside. They couldnt tell us what it was.
****** The staff spoke little to no english. ****
I think this is the MAJOR down fall because service suffered because of the language barrier. Our food NEVER oncee out as we ordered and if you were thinking about roomservice....FORGET ABOUT IT! It took them 1 hour to deliver and once again the order was wrong.

i thought that it was happening to us because we didnt speak the language but a couple leaving the same day ( they spoke Spanish) said they had the same experiance.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmv138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,277
    856
    298
    129
    91
See reviews for
644
3,072
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Is the perfect spot for you and your love one, combining tranquility with a bit of night spice, a perfect place to sit in from of one of the most beautiful beaches a human eyes has ever seeing, and listen to the most amizing conversation between the fresh breeze, the hundreds of palm trees, and the beach all calling for you to join!
Great service, excellent food, and soon to be the # 1 golf course in the world!!!!

No question this place will make you feel smart, rich & athletic :0)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We celebrated our three year anniversary at the Secrets Sanctuary, a beautiful hotel, located in the best resort of the Dominican Republic: Cap Cana.
The staff was amazing, always attentive of our needs, the room beautiful! a beach front bungalow, with a little beach all to ourselves! Great food, and a lot of different restaurants.
We hope to spend all our anniversaries at the Santuary!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgodina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We booked Secrets Wild Orchid in Jamaica for our honeymoon. After reading mixed reviews (Grand Opening 'kinks', drug violence in Kingston, etc), we decided to switch to this property. It was an independent hotel until Secrets bought it in March or April. The property is quite beautiful, and very convenient. Really, we had a great trip and the staff makes the place wonderful.

They need to get some kinks worked out. However, it is their off season so we knew that they would be doing renovations while we were there. Basically, all the reviews we read before going gave us pretty accurate expectations.

Our room was nice and spacious but not overly impressive. It is SO humid there that the air in the rooms never gets dry. Thus. they tend to have a musty smell etc. The cushions on the sofa/seating area were really mildewy smelling. We didn't feel like asking to change rooms just because of that, but it was noticeable. Secrets needs to replace that furniture or invest in some dehumidifiers etc to keep the rooms in better condition.

My only other complaint would the mosquitos! They ate my husband alive - even sometimes inside at dinner! Everyone was saying the same thing too. Management needs to invest in some serious insect fogging and perhaps even provide bug spray with the complimentary in room toiletries ha. Bring it with you - it's $15 and in short supply at the gift shop!

Oh, and do beware that just like all hotel shops, you will pay dearly for anything you forget. Sunscreen - $26, a USED book I found - $25, Tums - $10. I am used to inflated prices at other resorts, but these were some of the highest I have seen.

But, I will say that truly it was a great vacation. The food was quite good. David Crockett (steak house), teppanyaki tables at Wok, seafood buffet @ Seaside, breakfast at Casa Bella etc. All were very good - some of the best resort food I've had. Definitely better than Sandals in my opinion. However, they don't have as big of a selection as Sandals, so if you like giant buffets, this might not be for you.

No hidden charges here. Couldn't handle the house wine because we are big red wine drinkers, so we ordered bottles at night. Inflated, yes ($40 for KJ Cab), but it's like that in US restaurants really.

The grounds were beautiful, the beach and pool area were very nice etc. Really we could see the property coming together in just the week we were there. I think 6 months from now it will be an extremely nice resort.

I just can't say enough about the staff and people. I've been to many resorts where it was clear that they didn't like tourists. That can really ruin a trip for us. The people here were so friendly and warm. Plus, since it's a smaller property, they get to know you after a few days. Tipping isn't expected (except at the pool bar perhaps - sometimes one of the guys there could be a little curt) but goes a long long way.

Juan and Raul in Casa Bella were so sweet and nice, Alfredo at David Crocket, Denis and the other bartender in Love Piano Bar, Marcos and Junior at the (pool/beach waiters), Tony and Hector (entertainers), and Richard (entertainment manager who will bust out some serious MJ dance moves at the Love Bar!) are so nice and fun. They made the trip what it was. For us, we didn't worry too much about the little problems like a musty room because we rarely wanted to be in there bc it was so much fun to be around the staff!

I def say give it a try. Just have realistic expectations if you go in next few months - take bug spray and maybe a travel candle to make the room smell a bit better. Relax, go with the flow and enjoy this beautiful place!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville,Pa.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My husband and I and another couple just returned from a week long trip,we were very disappointed.We have stayed at other Secrets resorts as well as other all inclusives and had been very pleased,this resort fell short of our expectations.Dining was an adventure,90% of the time we were never served complete dinner,rarely received appetizers or only one of us would get what we had ordered,the entrees repeatedly came without side dishes and we were not offered dessert or coffee most of the time.We spoke with the general manager and head chef offering constructive criticism,they assured us that they were trying to rectify the many issues with food and beverage department but even after being invited to a dinner that the chef was to oversee,we were still not served the champagne the chef had graciously sent to our room,we were not served our soups,or were not offered dessert.This was just so frustrating.
We also had issues with our room,a smell from the drain,a running toilet,a broken safe,these were taken care of in a timely fashion.We did not receive towels or wash rags,for several days we replenished our own towels from a linen closet across the hall that was not locked.We made repeated calls to no avail.Our mini bar was never stocked with water,even though you were advised not to drink the water from thespigot ,this should hve been a priority. The linen closet was also a holding place for loads of dirty dishes from room service,a potential health hazard not to mention the stench!
This resort has so much potential,it is so beautiful and the staff is so sweet,I think management t from some of the other Secrets needs to help this resort on its feet.
The pool bar personnel were fabulous,hard working,fun loving gentlemen who helped make our trip a lot of fun despite the negatives.
This is a breath taking beautiful resort,the variety of rooms,and the differnt architecture make it one of the most gorgeous facilities in the Caribbean,the location is fabulous,only minutes from the airport,the entire area is going to be phenomenal,I hope
this Secrets gets its act together.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The property was beautiful. The staff in all restaurants was the most attentive and personable we've ever encountered. Raul and Marlene were among the best. The bartenders at the pool bar were not nice but not very professional and couldn't make a mudslide if their life depended on it. The staff at the other bars was fine.

The room we booked (4 months in advance) was not available so management upgraded us to a Tower MiniSuite with a view of a parking lot. The room was a far as you can get from the beach and common facilities. We complained right away and were upgraded once more to a garden villa. If not for the broken AC in the bedroom and the constant swarm of mosquitoes (something never experienced in 12 years of traveling to the islands), it would have been very nice. The following day we finally got the room we booked. Not too big, not to small, and perfect distance from the common facilities.

All in all, it took us 3 of our 5 nights here to begin to like the place. That was mostly due to a horde of conference folks from Pirelli finally check out and getting over disappointing aspects like; a very small beach, no water sports at all, no night life, constant construction noise all day. We also met some very nice couples along the way, who shared similar experiences and perspectives.

I would imagine that Secrets is working very hard to bring this place up to speed, but for not it's not quite there yet.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonder2wins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Celebrated our 20th Anniversary at Secrets Sanctuary!
The property was breath-taking, the food was superb {favorite restaurant on site was David Crockett}, the staff was truly what set this hotel apart from others - they were all Great!
The Blue Marlin Restaurant is still in the process of being renovated, however they DO offer the same Blue Marlin menu at the SeaSide Restaurant.
It did rain every afternoon the week of 20June -- however, who cares, you are in paradise.
The highlight of our trip was XTREME buggy. We did a 1/2 day excursion for 110.00USD per person for 4.5hrs of total FUN -- it actually made it more fun in the rain b/c we were drenched and muddy! You should arrange excursion b4 leaving the states to ensure availability e-mail: [---]

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secretscolmbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
0.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
948 reviews
2.6 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,746 reviews
36.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,275 reviews
18.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol

Property: Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing