We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveller rating
809
373
164
80
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
373
164
80
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green pool johnny bravo don pablo blue section luxury ambar a la carte restaurants privilege club construction site room facing the pool lobby bar towel game air transat garden grill i love my job brazilian restaurant minute walk to the beach other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We returned this May 2018 after visiting Thanksgiving. Other than seaweed it was top notch. We just love the bar service at the beach and pool. I am telling you top notch. Thanks to the twins Jeffrey and Jensy. Along with the other servers I forget names. Kendry at the pool bar was great. Several of the servers remembered us and made us feel welcome. We did see our favorite breakfast server. Maria thanks you are extremely sweet person and we will try and get back to see you.
The seafood buffet on Tuesday was fabulous again. Snow crab and steamed shrimp this time. Great fixings for salad. One of the best breakfast buffets we have been to and we have seen over 40 of them. A little thing but they have excellent burgers.
I thought the shuttle service needed improvement in November. It is much faster now. Very little wait. Thanks Wander and Kelvin although they wouldn't let me drive.

Room tip: Ask for 81111 you won't go wrong
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Paula,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that you have experienced a wonderful stay during your last visit to Dominican Republic. It through of this communication that our guest give us the opportunity of evaluate our performance and services.

Thank you for recommending us. Our exceptional staff will be proud to know all your nice comments.

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Bahia Principe Bahia Principe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Pros:
-Nice atmosphere on the outside, beach is some of the nicest water out there.
-The employees have good intentions

Cons
- Don't be fooled by the restaurants. They are always "booked" even though they are constantly empty
- The cleanliness and quality of the rooms is a bit deceptive. Many of our rooms came dirty, had malfunctioning tvs etc. If you ask for these to be fixed...you will be given the runaround
-The free airport shuttle is impossible to book, even if you confirmed three times. They will find any reason to cancel.
-The guest services and lobby staff have no power
-You will be pestered by employees trying to sell you cociaine, other services) , and meet up with you outside the resorts.
-You will be pestered by the non-included activity sales. Also, these activities (ATV) are not good. They will also try to bait/switch you to go dune buggying.
-The food is horrible. Most is not fresh, and sits out for an unsafe amount of time. They will keep putting it out until someone eats it.
-There is no chain of command -- if you ask for help, they will all respond with hopeless smiles.
-The resorts stinks of cheap kerosene, it is surrounded by a shanty town and it feels like you are vacationing at the locals cost.
-You will be pestered to by a time share. All the + reviews are from those folks.
-The alcohol is junk. They have mid-line alcohol but it is really diluted and the alcohol from another brand...

If you go expect it to be a budget hotel -- nothing more.

Room tip: Ask for a clean room.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jackoh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We spent a week celebrating our anniversary at Ambar Green. The facilities, pools, and staff all made our first trip to Punta Cana memorable. There were plenty of food options throughout the properties, and it was fun trying out the various specialty restaurants. I appreciated that the wifi worked at the pool and beach. Other guests were also pleasant and respectful which made the trip more fun.

Room tip: We were on the second floor which was fine.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alwaysanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure and a great compliment to know that your experienced an awesome trip in Punta Cana.

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

First time at this resort,not dissapointed. Was first "wowed" when arrived for check-in (which was very quick) to find they had reserved my a la carte restaurants as I had requested via e-mail. Room was impeccably clean and as such all week.Friendly, welcoming rapid service everywhere I went, no lack of employees here. Best drinks/service Lobby bar, favorite restaurant Garden Grill.Much enjoyed Maiko Japanese & Gourmet Don Pablo as well. Being my first solo trip I felt very safe & very well catered to. Shout out to the groundkeepers. Only dissapointment was the seaweed as of mid-week, which was uncontrollable..this one's on Mother Nature !
Would go back in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nat8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Nat,

We greatly appreciate all your comments and feel proud with this kind of opinion. It will be a pleasure to cater you once again.
Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that you loved the experience at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

King regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Really not much you could complain about.
It's pricy but it is a 5 star hotel. The food is pretty awesome, really good.
The hotel itself is really nice. We would go back 100%.
The beaches were nicer in Cuba, resorts are not as nice and the food, we all know about the food in Cuba. If you want cheap go to CUBA. If you want to elevate the overall trip you may want to consider Punta Cana. About $500 to $1000 more per couple. That's the tough call. Still a very good place and would go back.

Room tip: Pool View would be better and at upper floor as well.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GORD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Gord,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed a great stay in the Caribbean, especially at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green. Please be assured that it will be a pleasure to cater you once again to experience our familiar hospitality from our staff.

For a future assistance please contact info.ambargreen@bahia-principe.com

Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews