We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great variety of food but little bit tasteless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great variety of food but little bit tasteless”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were staying at the hotel with 4 more people. Everything was perfect when we just arrived. Tour companies are a little bit annoying and pushy. The food quality was very plain. They have a great selection in buffet, but when you start to select, still ending up with the same food. Meat was dry and tasteless. A la-cart restaurants not worth your time. Very limited menu so we ended up still going to buffet after dinner. The only worth it restaurant is a steak place (at list meat was better there). Overall hotel was clean and beautiful. Even thou the beach was public staff was cleaning it all the time. Minus we were bitten by sand fleas(( The worst what happened was that AMSTAR transportation that we prepaid didn't come to pick us up. After 30 min waiting in a lobby, hotel was able to find replacement for them and told us that they are the same operator. When we got to the airport the driver start asking for more money from us (even thou we prepaid). Not sure what happened either driver was lying and tried to make extra buck or it was a company's fault. Any way, all those tour operators are great and pushy when you just arrived trying to sell staff but on a way back they don't care even to provide a service that you payed for. Honestly,that made me mad big time. An when I was about to complain to Cheap Carribean about it, we found a disclaimer that they don't bare responsibility for those companies, even thou we bought transportation service through them((((((( Any way, its not hotel's fault just wanted to make sure that people know what happened)) Hotel was pretty good!!!!

Room Tip: Do not upgrade. All rooms are the same, you still won't see the ocean. Bus will take you to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Marisha,

It is good to read that everything was perfect when you arrived and you liked our great variety of food at the buffet but you found not totally good at all. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our clean and beautiful hotel.

Please be assured that your observations concerning the tasteless of the food have been shared to the Food & Beverage department. I regret the inconvenient you have experienced with your tour operator.

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,176
    1,937
    947
    362
    258
See reviews for
2,291
2,608
92
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went the first week of June 2014. My wife, my 9yr old daughter and myself. We are a younger couple in our mid 30's.

Our trip started at a different hoyel, Sirenis Tropical (horrible) so we transfered here.

This made our trip. The food was good and it changed daily with a feature theme in the buffet. The rooms were a good size, we had a junior suite and our daughter used the sofa bed which she enjoyed. Good quiet AC and a ceiling fan (spotless) were nice

A full suite (seperate master with door) would of been nice but this was good. Always tons of bottled water in our room and pop/beer.

The bathroom was spotless and shower worked well.

The 4 poils we used were nice, none to deep all just under 6'. The beach pool wad always busy and not enough chairs or shade but all hotels are this way. The other pool was perfect for us (more quiet).

Tons of chairs at the ocean. And never pestered for excursions but if we wanted one they were helpful.

The water parks is for younger kids (lile 6) but well done.

Evening shows were great, top quailty.

The hotel is larger and the bus is gas powered and smells... should use electeic. Also there is an eco reserve im the middle of the grounds that was really a baf smelling swamp... but only when close. That really the only bad aspect of this hotel.

A few more older kid sports/activities would be nice. The zip line area is being built... looks done but not open yet and if free would fill this need.

We will 100% go again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jacobharasimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jacob,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. For all of us is gratifying to read that this Resort made your trip and you really enjoyed every moment here, the good food and the different themes at night in the buffet.

It is a pleasure for me to see that we could fulfill your expectations during your family vacation.
You are welcome to contact me for a next visit.

Your new family in Punta Cana will be delighted to hostess you once again.

Sincerely,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This really was a wonderful relaxing holiday. First we flew with Thomson Dreamliner and this was extremeley comfortable and the service was very good. We arrived at the airport and we had already purchased our Tourist cards on line, so we sailed through customs. The journey to our hotel was about 25 mins and we were greeted by reception with a cocktail. We were told that we had been upgraded to the Gold without any additional cost.
We were taken to our room, villa 20, facing the pool and the beach. Our room was beautiful, large and very comfortable. A basket of fruit was left for us.
We had booked 5 A La Cartes a week before on line and there was only one that the time wasn't appropriate for us. We went to the Japanese, a fantastic evening where we met some lovely people. The Garden Grill were the service and the food was very good and lastly the French where the food was good but the service just average.
The buffet has lots of choice and the waiters are constantly making sure you are ok, refilling your drinks. My only real issue was the food wasn't always hot, warm but not hot.
The entertainment and lobby areas were really great and there was lots of places to go whether you were a couple, with a group or a family.
We took plenty of $1 notes and always tipped the waiters/waitresses. They were very appreciative but they still worked hard serving everyone whether you tipped or not.

Our Thomson Rep was Jose, totally brilliant, definitely worthwhile going to the meeting. He was very informative and very friendly and caring. The best rep I've ever met!

The pool and beach were both great, the staff working extremely hard to make this resort always clean and looking beautiful. The gardeners never stopped, the maid service never stopped, the waiters never stooped, just all the staff were great, always a friendly hola when you walked passed anyone.

There are plenty of buses taking you around the resort, as this is more like a village, but we found we enjoyed walking everywhere and thus helped to work off the delicious cocktails.

There are plenty of areas, pools that will meet what you require. We wanted peace and relaxation and that's what we got. There was only one evening that we were disturbed by really rowdy people at 2am but other than that, perfect sleeps.

We did have a few rain spouts and this tended to bring the Mosquitos out. I was bitten quite a few times so it's definitely worthwhile coming completely prepared especially with a body repellant and anti itch cream. However there's is a chemist in the resort for all your needs.

Overall this was a fab holiday, with the hotel resort staff making it a friendly, beautiful and clean place for us to unwind and relax. No complaints and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was in villa 20 right by the beach and pool. It was 10 min walk to the main buffet and lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michellecook99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Michelle,

Posts such as yours reflect the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. It is a great compliment to know that this trip was a wonderful relaxing holiday, and even more to hear that our personnel offered you the most enjoyable stay thanks to their friendliness and helpfulness.

Thank you for recommending our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you in the near future.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I have recently returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

I have to admit I was a bit wary as I'd read trip advisor before the trip and some of the things said were not very complimentary. However, I have to say that if you believe the bad things about this hotel, then you must just complain for a living!

My partner and I had a fabulous holiday and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. From the gardeners to the managers, everyone always had a "hola" for you. Our room was cleaned every day, with clean bedding and fresh towels. The maids were always helpful, although this was sometimes difficult with the language barrier - but this has only made me more determined to learn spanish so I can say more than por favor and gracias!

My only little issue would be with the mattresses which are far too soft, but this didn't affect my sleep to any great degree.

The pool areas were clean and safe. We were in building 5 so it was quite a walk to the hotel lobby and restaurant so the shuttle was great. I must make special mention of Juan in the restaurant, always ready with a high five and a welcome - "Juan-tastico"!!

The buffet food in the restaurant was good, although I suspect some food may have been cooked on the previous day. Anyone who can't find something they like from the extensive selection is just being far too picky! There's something for everyone.

The weather was fantastic, with only 3 instances of rain, 2 of which were through the night! For anyone who has never been to the Dom Rep at this time of the year, please be careful as we totally underestimated how hot it would be, having only ever been in September. We took Factor 30 with us but ended up having to buy Factor 50 from the lobby shop, as we both got very burnt, and toiletries are very expensive.

The entertainment was good, and there was something going on every night in the theatre, or there was the lobby if you wanted something more quiet.

We had fun in the market place, just be careful that you aren't taken advantage of by the stallholders. You must barter with them on their prices, they expect it. My tip: if they are still smiling when you make your offer, you're still offering too much! When they stop smiling, you know you're close! They all have english names - my favourite was Charlie Brown!

Would I go back to this hotel? Definitely. We both had a lovely time and we would have no problems recommending a stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana. In fact, if we hadn't already booked for Mexico next year, we'd be booking another holiday there!

Room Tip: If you want lively, then ask for a room near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jane,

It is a pleasure to read that you were so satisfied with our services and the great treatment you received from the staff and also enjoyed the good food, entertainment, fantastic weather and clean pools. We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectation during your two weeks in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and you had enjoyed a lovely time that you will definitely come back.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a dream in the Caribbean.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked this vacation last minute with a friend of mine. After checking out all the reviews on Tripadvisor we weren't quite sure which resort we wanted to stay at. We finally decided on this one. when we arrived at the resort we were greeted by Johonna who was amazing throughout our entire stay! She was very friendly, and helpful. Along with Kenia and Louis (If I remember his name correctly) they were also great!

The food was really good which was a pleasant surprise considering all the mixed reviews, but it was good. There could have been more Dominican food, but it wasn't a big issue.

The Room and washroom was fine, and clean for the most part. The only issue I have here is with the lighting, it was a bit too dim, and the light switches didn't always work. Again, not a big deal, but something to be aware of.

The grounds are always clean and tidy, which is good. Any mess left behind by other guests, like glasses or half consumed alcohol was usually cleaned up right away.


Again, when cleaned, the rooms were fine, but the length of time it took for our room to be clean was a bit much. Had to call front desk a couple times to let them know our room had not been cleaned and this was around evening time.

Pools were great, lots of fun and good people. great staff around the pools that did their best to keep everyone entertained.

One thing that was lacking was the nightly entertainment, specifically the disco which played the same music every night, it kind of got repetitive and annoying.

another thing that could have been better was the alcohol, which was kind of watered down. The best thing there was the gin and beer.


OVERALL, it was a great trip, and the resort was very good. I would definitely come back here again. Staff was great, and did their best to make up in areas that were lacking.

Room Tip: The resort is massive and takes quite a bit of time to walk anywhere, choose a room closer to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcmitchellix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate your feedback, which delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to obtain the complete satisfaction of our customers. It is a pleasure to know that our staff was great and corrected the little issues promptly.

It is a pleasure for all of us to read that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you would definitely return again.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

great experience, very lively and great staff. rooms are cleaned daily and the service is very quick. Night life was amazing, the disco on the resort was better than the clubs outside of the resort. Very multicultural and diverse people at the resort, creating an exciting experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Joakim,

I would like to thank you for post your review with your excellent experience. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed the amazing night life and the good disco.

You are welcome to contact us for your next visit.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a two week break at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Excellent value for money! We were all inclusive for 14 nights – good local and some branded alcohol, good choice of food at the main buffet. Food was mainly catered for Americans but there wasn’t a night when we couldn’t choose something. The French and Japanese restaurants are worth a visit; the Mexican and Italian are not. Place is extremely clean and tidy – the gardens are beautiful and well kept. The staff are very friendly, more so if you tip but you can’t fault them; efficient and helpful. Rooms are great, fresh towels every day and bed made twice a day! Lots of Americans there on spring break but there were 4 pools to choose from to avoid the noise! Mini water park for the kids with crazy golf and other activities. Only downside...they need to sort out the evening entertainment! Very good value for money, highly recommend!



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninja1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for highly recommend us and found that it is excellent the value for the money. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed 14 nights of an all-inclusive and good food in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our services.

All-inclusive hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing