We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, poorly organzied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great property, poorly organzied”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Bavaro section of this hotel. The property, pools, rooms and food were great. However, the lack of organization and poor communication of the staff and management made this only an average trip for us.

The place is huge and overwhelming at first arrival. There is very little signage to point the way to anything and what signs there are, although in 6 different languages, were not helpful. The map we were given as part of out check-in package was also not very helpful.

We ate most of our meals at the buffets, which were fine. We ate at one of the reserved dining places which was very good.

The language gap is another issue we ran into. If you, or someone in your party does not speak Spanish, you may have a tough time here; especially with the front desk and some of the concierge staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which indeed is really important for us. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you found worth mentioning some aspects and we really apreciate your time to give us your comments regarding some services they will be taken into the highest consideration.

We really hope we can receive you at one of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort.

In the meantime we wish you all the best!!

Best regards


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,180
    1,942
    949
    363
    258
See reviews for
2,295
2,613
93
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,443)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is excellent ,wheelchair friendly, staff friendly& helpful in particular Martha + pregnant lady and all other staff in lobby bar, Romana (Housekeeper) And reception staff ,Plus Thomson's tour rep Who was exceptional , Last but not least all the Garden & security Staff all went out of their way to make a pleasant and happy holiday. Thank you Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and all your staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are near or within walking distance of restaurant, pools, beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Dianne,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to show you our commitment to excellence.
Regards from Dominican Republic,

Hugs and many sunny greetings from Punta Cana.


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We truly enjoyed ourselves. The beach was just like all the pictures one sees in the travel magazines. Very clean, well maintained and big. Pools were immaculately clean. The rooms were immaculate with a well stocked refrigerator. Plenty of bath amenities, towels, shampoo, and best of all a shower that was easy to operate where one did not need a Ph.D to figure it out. A/C worked to perfection.
I did have one problem with the wifi but it was more to my not understanding the workings rather than it not working at all.
Not sure of how many restaurants but we stayed 6 days and didn't eat in the same one twice, although we could have if we preferred. Buffets, 3 of them, were all exceptional with a huge variety of food to choose from.
The staff, well we didn't meet one that wasn't polite and pleasant. The privilege club did everything for us. We liked that a lot.
Anyway, if you are unsure of where you would like to spend time, I would advise you to look at the Grand Bahia Principe, dollars to donuts, you won't be unhappy. Regards, jim

Room Tip: I prefer any room from the 2nd floor up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmygBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dea guest,

Thank you very much for you winderful comments they mean a lot to us. It is great to hear that you had a relaxing time and that you enjoyed our beautiful beaches.

We really hope to welcome you any soon at one of our Hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

You are one in a million, big hug from the entire team.

Sunny greetings.


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very happy about my trip to bahia principe golden club punta Cana . Since the flight from Miami to my final day Dominic republic . Organized , clean , friendly , colorful , shearful , beautiful landscapes ( the best seeing in a while ) , fun and diverse excursions , and Definitively I will be back with my family , there are activities for all ages . Love the water park , theatre and spa .... Very happy and enjoyable vacation ❤️

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticialuisbahia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Leticia,

It is a pleasure for me to read that you experienced the most relaxed and fun vacation and you were very happy with your stay in Punta Cana.

I wish to see you soon and have the pleasure to meet you!!!!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

1. upon arrival our greeter did not define areas where you can or cannot be served. We found out the hard way...with much embarrassment by being "turned away at the door".
2. Procedure for dinner reservation was absurd. e.g. confirm w/front desk, wait for written confirmation to be delivered to your room by 3:00 pm, if written document is not delivered you call front desk and wait for it to be brought, be sure to take with you to the rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Patricia,

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Best regards,

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecourt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been here twice and plan on going many more times. The good is fantastic, the people treat you like you're part of the family. The rooms are very comfortable. The beach is awesome with the view of the wreckage right in front of you. Water sports were fantastic!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Norman,

It is a real pleasure to know that you had a amazing time here in your first visit.

Thank you very much for highlighting our good food, awesome beach, great and friendly staff.

I feel glad to know that you enjoyed the water sports.

We are waiting for you one more time at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kind Regards,

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is divise in 3 sections, the adults only, VIP, regulars customers. The 3 location are rated 5 stars. We were at the adults only last year, this year since no room was avaliable at the aduts only we decide to go to regular section.
The experience was very bad, not only the level of service and the quality off service also was bad. Only few employe/es have a minimum knowledge of english but it seem they just do not care about customers. You have to ask 2-3-4 time to get something. Even if you ask them in Spanish they do not care.
The quality and choice of foods is also very bad. If you like reheat hamburger and hot dog you are O.K. This apply also to the various restaurants on site.

We will never ever return. We ask opinion to others customers and their comments were same .

By no means this is a 5 stars it is not even a 3 stars. One customer travelling with kid had to wait 4 days before getting a bed for is kid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Denis282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Denis,

Thank you very much for taking a time and leave your comments about your stay with us.

We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services. We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing