We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Punta Cana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #60 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Punta Cana”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Great resort for family , service was a little lax but I found tipping helped a lot. The beach was a little shuttle ride from the villa I was in but pool was steps away. Not a bad place too bring the kids the food was better than average and the weather was amazing. I would suggest getting off the resort and doing yours but Shiite carefully and ask people who have been before. Negotiate everything!!! Don't ever pay what they're asking there is plenty of room for wiggle.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Joe,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in Punta Cana. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an awesome experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,143
    1,918
    929
    356
    252
See reviews for
2,256
2,582
90
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,431)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My fiancé and I had a wonderful time. I felt like it was a very nice environment, the staff was extremely helpful and nice and the people we meet we friendly as well.

The only real comment I would have to say I had the whole vacation was the initial check-in. We got there earlier than the check-in time, which is 3:00 pm. We checked in and then really did not get a lot of information from the staff. We went to eat and then when we returned we were able to get our room key card. I am happy to say that the second gentlemen that assisted us was much more personable and through out the week whenever we saw him he always made sure he said hello and that we were having a good time and asked if we ever needed anything.

The resort is huge and they have shuttles that run all day long to take you back and forth. However, if you walked it would only take a few minutes and we did walk a few times.

The rooms are all the same. The are large and very clean. However, there is an additional fee for the safe in the room. Which we did use and you pay for the safe at check-in. We stayed in room 22103 on the first floor. It was perfect location and very quiet. Which we loved!!! We even had a gentlemen ask if we wanted a coconut while we were sitting on the balcony. It was cool to watch him cut it up for us and that was the first time I had an actual coconut.

The pools were clean and the temperature was perfect. The main pool of course we much more crowded by the bar. However the pools in the center were not as crowed and we did swim there one day just to try it out. However, we spent most of our time at the main pool.

The beach was clean and nice. There was a lot of seed weed, but I am sure they cannot do anything to prevent that but they were there to clean it up. We never had any problems finding a lounge chair and the water was nice and refreshing.

We ate that the buffet a lot and Carlos was our favorite waiter for dinner. The buffet was average and we enjoyed it. Carlos treated everyone as if they were VIP. We ate at the al cart dinners the last four nights and must stay we did miss having Carlos as our waiter. However, all the staff was very friendly and accommodating, but we just had a special bond with Carlos and thoroughly enjoyed him on a personal level.

We had an awesome time at the resort and can not say enough about the service.

Big question is if we would ever go back…..Yes and we have already booked our next trip for December 2014. However, we decided to try the Ambar resort this time and we cannot wait.

Room Tip: Need to get a lounge chair early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Tricia,

We are proud to hear that we have provided you a wonderful time with a very nice environment, clean rooms, nice beach and friendly and accommodating staff.

It´s wonderful to know that you already booked for coming in December, next time to our adults only section.

Warmest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have been to many many different resorts in Punta Cana. Out of all of them i can honestly say this is my favorite and I plan on returning. Staff is very friendly and take great care of guests. Lots of activities to do ( mini golf, Bike riding, water park, and non motorized sports for free). Great food & bars, big bed rooms, nicely sized complex and stunning scenery.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaslyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel which pride ourselves and now this is your favorite one.

It will be a pleasure to cater you once again to experience the Dominican spirit of its people, the quality of our services and facilities, and another amazing experience like this.

Many hugs for you!!!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Huge hotel and you cannot see people!!! Not crowded. Wonderful food, excellent service, top bedrooms, very clean. Both the room and the whole hotel were spotless. Spotless gardens! I had the time of my life!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LigiaDiasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had the time of your life at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an awesome experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Punta Cana,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I love all the attentions from everyone they make me feel like home. This hotel was wonderful and I'm going back soon. Love the staff especially the manager Mr. Coca he was the best people like him make you wanna came back. Thank you so much for everything see you guys soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberto0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Roberto,

For all our family in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, it will be a pleasure to read such marvelous comments, and a big reason to continue striving towards excellence.

Please feel welcome to contact our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts that we will be always at your disposal.

Thank you for preferring us!!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We went for two weeks and it was the best time of our life . Everyone was wonderful very helpful and kind. Love the restaurants el mexicano, el pescador, the garden grill mikakos, they have the best food ever, also the buffet was delicious and very clean. I'm so happy that I'll be back in February. Thank you mr. Coca. I recommended to everybody and to my friends and family. Love you all. From the Garcia family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliepeynado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Garcia Family,

Thank you for acknowledging Mr. Coca and the wonderful staff here. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience. It is a great news to know that you are coming in February.

It will be a pleasure to cater you once again and continue providing you the most amazing and wonderful experiences.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Looking at other reviews can't believe what I'm reading, I think these people stayed in a different hotel to us. The hotel is supposed to be 5 stars I'm sorry it would struggle to get 3 from me. Our room had a very musty damp smell and not very well lit. There was a leg missing from our bed, the bath was scratched on the bottom and didn't look clean at all & there was a bit of chewing gum stuck to the bathroom floor until 2 days before we left it would've still been there had we not got a phone call on the 12 th day to ask if our room was alright.
On the 2nd day we went to the beach and at lunchtime we went into the BBQ beach restaurant for a drink of water so we took a drink from one of the water machines, we drank one cup and on the second half way down noticed floaters in the bottom like algae by that time it was too late we'd drank more than one. We did inform the rep about this and one of themembers of staff at our reception. The next day I started to have a terribly upset stomach and diarrhoea and my husband wasn't much better. The diarrhoea continued throughout the rest of the week we tried going into the pharmacy for medication to stop it but they didn't have any so that has to tell a story. By the next Tuesday I was so ill I went to the Doctor in the complex who said I was very dehydrated and referred me to the hospital as my blood pressure was so low and my pulse was very fast, the hospital was a scary experience the put me on IV fluids and medicines and took blood tests but the wanted me to stay in as I had a bad case of gastro interitis, I discharged myself and got a prescription for 3 different kinds of medicine. The diarrhoea continued the rest of the holiday I can safely say it is the worst holiday I have ever been on and I know speaking to a good few people we were not the only ones who were ill.
What was meant to be a holiday of a life time will be remembered for the wrong reasons, we were there to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and my 50th birthday and cost us just under £3000.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Diana,

I sincerely regret that you consider this was a very bad experience at our Resort and the situations that you have brought to our attention.

I would like to inform you, that for weeks, our management has put in place a program with additional measures to reinforce the established sanitary procedures, so that we can guarantee the safety and health of food, drinks and facilities.

We sincerely hope that you are totally recovered and feel better and for any additional assistance, don’t hesitate to contact our Customer Service department.

Yours respectfully,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,674 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
923 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#57 of 110 in Punta Cana
10,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
2,066 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
324 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing