We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VACATION EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
TORONTO
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEST VACATION EVER”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This place was just amazing. Great food. A lot to chhose from. Difference theme every night at the buffet if you just do not want to wait for the la a carte. Entertainment was fantastic. Staff were more then helpful. Curtious and Respectful. Beach was very clean and nice to walk on. Water very clear just like expected. Pools were wonderful to enjoyed the fast a curtious bartenders at the pools very professional people. What a wonderful vacation we had. Even my daughter who is a fussy eater enjoyed all the food and ate more then normal. She has been asking over and over again to return to this resort and that is why we are returning on April 2010 as April 2009 we had an unfortunate sickness in the family and 2008 we decided to try the Bahia Principe in Jamacia to she how it stood up to Punta Cana. Both were great but I would return in a flash to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VACATIONIST07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,235
    1,987
    977
    381
    284
See reviews for
2,380
2,666
97
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I read so many reviews before my trip and felt like I owed it to everybody to write one too.

Before I got the real experience I kind of thought all the people complaining about the bland food and hit and miss staff were just hard to please people that would complain about anything. However we have been to other 4 and 5 stars resorts in and around the Carribean and have seen better, so I felt I should write about it to give a heads up.

That being said, we did enjoy ourselves, regardless of the shortcomings. Some of the main complaints we had were the hit and miss staff. Some of them were really nice, but other couldn't care less. At a la carte restaurants it took them forever to get anything out too you. Not so good when you are traveling with an impatient toddler. It didn't bother me much that they didn't speak much english, as I actually found this normal. However what did bother me was that I felt the nice one's were trying so hard just for the tip, and they didn't come across as genuine nice people.

The maid was our biggest pet peeve as she would never come to our room when we were out even though she was in and around that villa the whole day long. Some days she came only in the evening to our room, when our toddler was sleeping and another day we didn't get any maid service at all. This might not seem like a big problems if your towels were not soaking wet or if the whole bathroom and room floor wouldn't be heel deep in water as the shower does not have any border on it whatsoever. They also made a habit of moving furniture around the other rooms at noon when our baby was trying to sleeping.

Moving on to the food, people are right, the buffet has lots of choice, but everything is bland and after a few days it gets really hard to find something to eat. You can survive on it, just don't expect to enjoy it. The morning omlets are good. So are the afternoon grill varieties and the A La Carte restaurant food is not bad. The Italian A La Carte was actually really great, with fantastic appetizers, the other one's nothing to write home about, but better than the buffet. We only drank and used bottles and filtered water, didn't eat any deli ( it didn't look too good) and out of the 4 of us I was the only one who got diarrhea, but it wasn't horrible, I took a few immodiums and was as good as new.

The Animation was not really too much present. We had our own entertainment anyway, so we didn't care much, but as far as I could see, they had a brief stint in the morning on the beach and then at 3pm at the pool and that was about it.

It is a very large resort with a few different resorts all rolled into one, and I knew that going in. We stayed close to the beach as we had the "Royal Golden" package but it was quite a walk to the lobby/restaurant area. That's not really a problem as they have shuttles. What did bother me, is that the shuttles idle at all times and the gas vapours are not pleasant, not too mention they are not good for the environment. I really would have been much happier with electric powered vehicles shuttling people around, but that's just a side note. The Royal Golden upgrade we got was totally worth it, we got our own reception area, beach towels in the room upon arrival, our own internet 15/min / day one extra A La Carte and a room very close to the beach and better service everywhere as they do treat people differently by the color of your breacelet. I would definitelly recommend the upgrade, we paid and extra $50 per person per trip.

The drinks at the pool and beach are kind of watered down, if you want a real one you have to go to the lobby bar, but they are all o.k. for cooling down.

I didn't enjoy the mosquitos too much, I had hoped they could spray for that seeing how Malaria is endemic in Punta Cana, but I'm guessing this is a problem in all resorts.

Wow , this is getting to be one of those really long reviews.

Anyway, the beach is great, but fairly crowded, it's not easy finding a lounger with a bit of shade if you get up late. There are plenty in the sun though. We walked up and down the beach and found most of the other resorts beach fronts were much less crowded.

And yes, there were topless women and men in speedo's but I'm sure you can find that at any resort and it really didn't bother us too much :) it was more fun than anything.

On a positive note, the grounds are beautifull, the weather amazing, the beach and water are great, but that would probably be true at other resorts.

Keep in mind, people only write about the bad stuff :)), but there is a lot of good and we did have fun. A few small things here and there shouldn't ruin your vacation, but I'm just writing them down, so you are aware and so that you can have a decent comparison with other resorts. I can honestly say I will try the Iberostar next time and that I'd much rather go back to Cuba than the Dominican. That being said, don't worry, you will have a great time anyway! :)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoAndAHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana was an excellent resort. We had a great time, food; service and the location were great. My suggestion is that you experience it directly as your experience is what you make it. Having said this, the hotel is at a great location and the service and food is excellent. The spa is magnificent and the massages are very well done as well. I recommend this hotel to all kinds of audiences. It is a 5 star. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of things to do so your vacation will be amazing!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Although we were told quickly when we registered where we could eat and drink etc... it is large resort and we were often turned away from restaurants and bars because we were in the wrong side or didn't have the right wrist band. It would have been much easier if they coded the the areas with symbols or colours so it is evident right away. Our room was a nice size and convienent location, worthwhile to be diamond club. But the lighting was very poor quality. Minibar was a bit of a joke. Beach and pools were very nice. The staff were for the most part were indifferent and only somewhat helpful. We were there 3 nights, and 2 nights we were pre-booked to restaurants for dinner, although we were told we could switch, the restaurants we wanted were not available when we requested them. Kayaking was great, worthwhile to use the included watersports hobie cat, windsurfers etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmpbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Vancouver Island British Columbia Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This was our second trip to the Dominican and to the Gran Bahia Principe Golden ......we had a wonderful time on our first trip and decided to go back. We were not disappointed in the least with the hotel, service...all aspects of service, food and if anything, it was even better. We were close to the beach and pool, and we were put into adjoining suites with our daughter and two granddaughters which made it so convenient to be together.
The meals were well presented and there was so much selection that even the pickiest eaters would have been able to find something to satisfy them. We were well looked after in the buffet and at the four ala carte restaurants that we went to and were treated like dignitaries.
The rooms were well maintained with fresh linens and towels and whenever you needed something extra, you had it within a few hours. Our safe wasn't working when we got to the room and within an hour there were two people there to repair it...unfortunately it could not be repaired that night but at 8 a.m. the next day there were two more people waiting when we arrived back from breakfast, and the problem was fixed right away. Our adjoining room had a door lock problem and a bathtub stopper problem...again, it was fixed immediately.
We did have a few problems with a few French Canadian tourists at the hotel from Quebec, and I will say, the majority of them were wonderful, but it seemed some of the older ones thought they had the run of the resort and would actually move up from the back and knock you out of the way to get on the little shuttle buses. It is a shame because these few give all of them a bad name and that is not the way it is. With so many wonderful people working at the resort you would think that these people would know some manners.
Will we go back.....no question about it.....hopefully next year...it is a priority!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyindominican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
englewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2010

we were there for five days, and we feel we didnt get enough thats how good it was that we are planing to go back in june ...The resort itself was beautiful and very accomodating, very specious, we didnt feel crowed it which is a good thing for us, The employee were very professional in every way, (every employee was dress with their uniformed nice and neat) very friendly staff... The food was excellent everynight they have a Variety food of different country ...the shows, the drinks the disco even the kareoke were Awesome... we will totally recomend this place to anyone from family to couple you wont regret it...just like the song of Bahia Principe said..( YO Volvere, eheheh A Bahia Principe)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriaenglewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We had a great time over a one week stay.

Luckily our rooms were right by the pool and the ocean. It did seem like some people had quite a way to travel. You get used to your route, though, and keep going to the same places. A big resort begins to feel familiar by the end of the week. You get to know staff as well. I enjoyed the size since you can walk around. If it's not for you there's the trolley that runs back and forth.

People seems all riled up about there being parts of the resort you can't go to. It's not worth the upgrade from what I could see. The good stuff is for everyone and is right by the beach.

The beach is awesome - you could spend whole days there having drinks, swimming, walking up and down. There are thousands of people but you find your spot. We spent most of our time there. The pools are also nice and big with swim up bars.

The drinks are good - not too strong. Have the local rum. Tip the bartenders. Tip everyone. They love it, the money means a lot, and they really deserve it.

Didn't see too many kids, but there were some families - many couples and groups of friends. Lots of people over from Europe, some from Canada and the States.

Understand you are on a vacation and relax. Dominicans will just ignore you if you are one of those irate people. Just go with the flow and they will take care of you. It can be hard for some people after traveling.

Things to bring: the essentials + floats for the pool (or they sell them there) + cold drink containers so you don't have to use tiny cups (also sold there) - everything you could possibly need can be found at the shops. If you are going to buy cigars, get cubans on the beach, but there are some nice enough dominicans at the shops.

Do some excursions. We did one called Ocean Festival or something like that which entailed snorkeling, swimming with reef sharks (harmless) and manta rays (no stingers). It was awesome.

Rooms were really big and quite nice. Bed was a little hard and so were the pillows. My alarm clock was broken and some of the lights wouldn't work. It didn't really matter very much. Tip your maid though. It is appreciated and they leave things like some flowers for you and towels made into swans, etc.

Food was quite good. Check your reservations for the a la carte restaurants asap to get good ones. We liked the French. The Japanese was good but not great. Spanish was pretty good. I heard Texmex is good. The buffet is always nice. It's tempting but stay away from eating too much of anything - especially the seafood.

Entertainment was fun and a good effort. Michael Jackson show was fun... circus was fun... riverdance was as I expected a little strange.

We wanted to stay when we left, which is always a sign of a good vacation. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
957 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#54 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing