We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - but will NOT return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great - but will NOT return!”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Until they fix the gym! My husband & I just spent a week at the resort - in my husband's words "multi million dollar facility with a five cent gym." If you do not care about the gym this is a great place. The beach is amazing & the pools fabulous. The resort is extremely large but well maintained and the train will shuttle you from place to place if you don’t want to walk. The staff were very friendly, the place was very clean and the food was decent - stick to the buffet or the Japanese a la carte (the Mexican, Mediterranean & Steak house specialty restaurants were disappointing). BUT, when we pick a hotel we also look at the gym facilities (how else can you justify 4 pina coladas and dessert everyday!) The gym was rated as 4 out of 5 by most tour operators – it was a 0! None of the 5 bikes or 3 treadmills worked and the flooring is nothing short of a disaster. The gym staff asked us to complain as they were constantly apologizing to guests about the state of the place and had no way to make improvements themselves. There was another gym in the facility that was much better and had working machines but we were not allowed to use it as we were not in the right category – very frustrating. Again, great resort overall, good value for money, but for us, our 6th trip to the Dominican at various resorts was not what we expected.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,182
    1,942
    950
    365
    258
See reviews for
2,297
2,614
93
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,443)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Great value for the money. We stayed at the Royal Golden section from Nov. 28 to Dec. 5. The grounds are absolutely beauitful. The beach has lovely white sand and is a great for walking. Loved the pool. The room/bathroom are large and no problems with the maid service. The resort is huge, but the trolley service makes it easy to get around. Overall a fabulous vacation and we would return again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We just came back last night from Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana, where we spent a wonderful week with friends. We had the Royal Golden Rooms, very close to the beach and the adjacent triple pool. Rooms were huge, with a nice visiting area, spacious balconies, very nice bathrooms (with jacuzzi). Great amenities - everything you needed was already there for you. The food at the buffets and the patios by the beach was pretty good. The A La Carte Restaurants were a bit dissapointing (especially the Japanese and the Steak House). The best one by far is El Pescador (Mediterranean cuisine) where you can order a full lobster meal. Also, the all inclusive drinks are very sugary and contain no alcohol (very watered-down). They should charge a bit more when you book, and instruct their staff to actually use alcohol when you order a drink, not just sugar and flavor. Either than that, this is a wonderful hotel and I'd return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Short and sweet the trains are the only way to get around and they are NOT every 5 minutes, kids club doesn't exist and the fondling on the beach and poolside are totally inappropriate for children. Lots of topless if you don't care about that, food only mediocre at best. We have been to lots of all incl. this is not in the top 5. The Bahia chain is geographically too large for what it is trying to support. 2 of the 5 restaurants were closed? and the local store won't give change for 5 dollars when buying a coke. Roomservice didn't always answer the phone either. The offsite merchants don't keep their hands to themselfs and if you're not experience you won't feel safe. Not much shopping and overall won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decemberbride07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My wife and I just got back from 7 days of relaxation and heaven in the Royal Garden section of this resort. The rooms were absolutely amazing. The ocean was very nice. We really enjoyed the drinks, the service and the buffets. It was almost like paradise. I can't imagine why people would not recommend this resort. Other than the ignorant smokers who would smoke wherever they wanted, this resort was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sportsfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I know it is a bit late to write a riview now for an august vacation but I felt I had to do that because of others.I try to brief every thing: rooms are good (we stayed in royal golden section of transat holidays which are the best rooms,however this resort has surprisingly
no oceanview rooms),spacious and clean,maid service good,pools good except one of them(swim up bar pool near beach dirty and over crowded) resort is huge you have to get a ride(always available for a little wait) to move around which will waste your time
food is good in the buffets and a la cartes all good.beach and night entertainments good
Our major problem was with the srvice and staff.staff were not friendly at all (except bartenders in swim up bar near the beach)we were a group of people including our travel agent ,we all had problem with our keys. We were given keys that only worked for one day or half a day we had to go to the lobby (long way) to get the new key several times during our stay.
Another major problem was lighting, the whole resort is annoyingly lacking light in the night time (except in casino).
In casino the manager`s policy was to prevent and stop people from winning in any way(at the black jack tables the manager change very fast the dealers giving good and winning hands to us and letting the dealers winning for the casino continue for hours at the same table)
over all it is not a five star for sure and I don`t recommand this resort.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We just got back last night. The resort is really nice. Everyone is friendly.

The beach is beautiful and it is quite breezy on the beach. I have to say there wasn't enough children activities throughout. The children shows except for the Lion King were "lame".

The rooms were clean but definitely a musty smell.

The food at the main buffet restaurant was quite bland and had their Caribbean flare to it which did not sit well with my picky eaters 3 and 6 year olds. They basically stuck to noodles and roasted chicken legs and french fries. They had a great variety of foods and desserts to choose.

The breakfast line ups were not pleasant in the mornings...there were a couple mornings where you had to wait a very long time for eggs and bacon....which did not sit well with many!

Spotted a couple roaches at the main buffet restaurant and the Barbecue Restaurant at the beach.

The nightly entertainment for the kids was "poorly" thought out. The main theatre had some great shows, one in particular was the Michael Jackson show. Get there early for the perfect view and seat.

The staff were always very friendly and very happy to please.

Bring plenty of nice clothes to wear and accessories to go with your outfits. Everyone was dressed up in the evenings and the beach was a fashion show of different styles of bathing suits. Lots of beautiful people...male and female.

There were no hagglers on the beach and felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing