We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT AWESOME CLASS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I really can't explain how good the Gran Bahia principe Ambar is. Me and my partner have 1 week of our holiday left, fingers crossed it will be as good as the first! I am writing this while sat in the lobby.
You are treat like royalty here and nothing is too much trouble

The staff - Excellent
The food - Excellent
The resort and it's grounds - Excellent

If you are stuck between hotels in punta Cana do yourself a favour and book into here you will not be disappointed!

Also,
Kelvin who works at the beach bar and Santa in the lobby bar are absolute stars!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 343yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Welcome to our Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort. We are proud to know that you are having an excellent time with us.
We do not know how to thank you for this wonderful comment.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an unforgettable experience at Dominican Republic.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,685 - 4,691 of 10,507 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our second visit to the property and we were not disappointed. Although there have been changes from last year it is still a great place to stay.

Food was excellent with a fantastic selection at every meal in the buffet. Yes, I agree it was not always hot but do you really have buffets at home that serve buffet food hot? A la carte selection is fantastic and we especially liked the Dominican fare at Los Corales. Actually every restaurant we went to that served goat and lamb did a great job on it. I only wish I knew what spices they use.

The hotel is extremely clean. It is a great idea that they have, providing hand sanitizer as you enter each and every restaurant. The staff are always cleaning the buffet areas and replenishing the dishes. Found everything to be very clean.

We had no problem with service. Remember you are on vacation so stop being negative. Lighten up and relax. Do you have somewhere to be? Relax and enjoy your time away from the pressures of home. Try talking to each other and don't complain.

Not sure what people expect the management to do about the tourists that put towels on chairs early in the morning? It seems to me that it is a no win situation for the resort managenent. Why do people think they should reserve chairs when they are not ready to sit on them? Let someone else enjoy while you are off doing whatever it is you do.

Yes, our room was a little noisy. We were in block 62. Again, the problem is with the tourists and not the hotel. People can't you consider others and stop shouting in the middle of the night. What makes you think anybody wants to listen to you.

We will definitely return an will recommend this resort. We had a great vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Janice S,

Thank you for choosing twice the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection!
We thank you for your feedback and we appreciate that you recognize the effort we make to be better every day.

We would love to host you again and next time exceed your expectations!
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 days. Check-in was slow, room wasn't ready and we didn't get the type of room we wanted (at first; had to return next day) and we got pulled into the "drama" of some "upset" folks complaining about it. Our room was ready after an hour, but it was because I literally didn't move from the desk and had someone assisting me. in retrospect, we should've just went to chill at the beach or walked the complex until whever the room was ready. We would recommend this resort for those that enjoy beautiful beaches, comfortable rooms (not ultra modern, but liked that it had a separate shower and plenty closet space/drawers). The food, while not always hot, was delicious, and there is a microwave to get to the temperature you want. The ala carte restaurants get filled quickly with those staying 1-week+. The staff is #1 and very accomodating. Your vacation is what you make of it. Not alot of dancing people, but we'd get up to dance because we enjoy it. The shows, while on other parts of the resort, was only a trolley ride away, but we always enjoyed the walks. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND AND PLAN TO RETURN NEXT YEAR- ready to hit the beach when my room is not ready :)

Room Tip: We were in Building 63, which is closest to the Lobby/Main buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Optomist420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Customer,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to experience the magic and relaxing time that we can offer to our special guests. Comments like this help us to continue striving towards excellence and at the same time is an opportunity to improve our services.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This year was our 3rd consecutive annual visit with the people at Ambar. I cannot adequately express what a wonderful time we had. This place just keeps getting better, and better.

But – off the hop - I must comment on the negative reviews I’ve read, which lead me to utter astonishment. I am seeing complaints about English TV, banners on doors, food quality and volume, balcony size, and everything else up to, and including, the staff not genuflecting. Seriously? Let me get this straight; you travel across the globe - toward paradise - in order to fret about whether you can watch TV, or have a ribbon on your door, or access your personal brand of liquor?

Look, (for those of you who have not yet been); this is a beautiful resort in a beautiful place, and it's the Ambar people who transform it into paradise. Ambar is as much a state-of-mind, as it is a state-of-being.

But do yourself a favour. Go to your local book store, get a dictionary, and learn a little Spanish. When you pack your bags, make certain to bring along your best manners, and do not forget an ample supply of respect. These three things go a very long way toward ensuring a marvelous stay in an equally marvelous place. Above all, keep two things in mind: [1] That 'inclusive' does not translate into 'exclusive' suddenly upon your arrival - you're not the only one there, and, [2] Servicio no significa siervo, (service does not mean servant). These wonderful people are not there for tourists to bark at just because an all-inclusive fee has been paid in advance.

Tipping? Yes! Great idea! If your tour guide says $1 per round of drinks, and $2 per day in your room is more than enough, then they’re out of date. This may have been the case, once upon a time, but start at a minimum of $2 per round, and $5 per day in your room, and you'll be up to date, (more or less). And for those people who never get tips, (the cooking staff and groundskeepers etc); how about a handshake and a congratulation for a job well done?

Yes, there may be a few flaws, but all you need to do is report them and then retire to the pool and it'll be taken care of. Q: When's the last time you had personal access to the GM of any entity, spoke to him directly, and then watched him produce a notepad and make a record of your conversation? Hmm? A: Exactly. These people care.

A footnote about the food; if you want, all you can eat, top flight, towering, glazed, sculpted, ‘Food Channel’ fare 24/7, then you should be bobbing around on a cruise liner somewhere in the briny blue. The buffet selections at Ambar are delicious, varied, and ample. And their a la carte restaurants are excellent, (if this were not so, then, why is it so important to book well ahead?).

My wife and I have never, ever, had a bad time at Ambar - and at least half of that is due directly to manners and respect for the great people who are trying their very best to be all things, to all people, all the time. And they do a very good job of it.

I want to mention some people in particular: These following employees of Ambar have definitely mastered the art of customer service excellence, (a feat akin to trying to tie one’s shoes while running at full speed), and they do it effortlessly.

When you come to Ambar, these people are exquisitely adept at their craft, and after 3 years, we consider them as our extended family: Antia Martinez Hidlago who works non-stop behind the scenes in C/S, Ygnacia in Housekeeping, Franklin & Felix in La Palmyra and Don Pablo, Maura in Las Brisas, & Elvis, Maximo, Hugo, Domingo, Yensy, and Marleny in Bar Piscina Los Corales.

Extra special mention for excellence goes to; Bianca, (also of Bar Piscina Los Corales), for her world class attention and ability to make us welcome. Of the tens of thousands of people she cares for, in any given year, she actually remembers us - by sight - year after year.

All of these outstanding people and their group of peers, made us feel as though we were their personal charge - although we know that we were merely two, among countless many.

Thank you so much again to one and all.

Feliz Navidad y Próspero Año Nuevo. Nos vemos el próximo año.

MrB.

Room Tip: Rooms are always first come-first serve. So, if you have a special need for a specific room, then m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Mr Brian,

Thanks to repeater guests as you is that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years. Please be assured that our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar will continue being like your second home.

All the special people you mentioned will appreciate your comments and they will be happy to know that they are part of your memorable experiences in the Dominican Republic.

It is a pleasure for us to welcoming you and your wife year after year, and that you feel distinguished.

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kindest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

wonderful place nothing bad to say. pillow service, room service, drinks, food just everything was wonderful the sevice on the beach and the pool were great by the end of the week they would just bring you a drink no need to ask or wait. and no children

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lori849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Lori,

It is a pleasure to read that you experienced a very and enjoyable stay in our wonderful adults-only Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, especially because of our great food and drinks.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again! All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I spent 10 very relaxing days pool side -- only worries were where we would eat or drink next. Positives were the food, meticulous & beautiful grounds, beach, service and staff. My husband and our neighbor's wife are early risers, so getting a shady spot and chairs at the pool was never a problem. We were disappointed with the lack of quality entertainment. The Friday evening Caribbean party that we paid to attend was a joke! We spent 45 minutes there and watched a bunch of Dominicans dressed in costume dance around to with people in the audience -- no show, no food, no drink as promised. Maybe that came later. While our neighbors got their bathroom decorated with flowers and towel animals and chocolates every night, we got chocolates twice - and came back one day to find them gone from the nightstand. Word of warning -- avoid the Privilege Club presentation, it's a timeshare regardless of what it's called. All in all, this was a fantastic vacation and we would definitely go back and recommend it highly. Book the Don Pablo restaurant early and often! It was by far the best ala carte.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room - some are better than others, of course, but it depends on what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissJudy4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and for mentioning our beautiful grounds and beach, great service and amazing staff. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.

Thank you for recommending us and it will be a pleasure to cater you once again! All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I must say that I was going to this location backwards as this was not my choice but I enjoyed every minute of it.
We were 3 couples and all of us liked it.
Pros:
Food is OK to good
Rooms are comfortable and clean
Small resort within a very large resort
Adults only
Excellent drinks
Wonderful staff
Beautiful Beach
Nice pool
Loved the BBQ at the beach snack bar

Cons:
Got to get up very early to get a shaded spot at the pool ( I don t know how early but I do know it has to be before 7 am )
Since we were 3 couples we had to get a spot at the beach by 7:30 am if we wanted to be next to each other
Food was good to OK but the scramble eggs at the Beach Snack bar were always cold ( even when it was a new batch ! )

We all had an excellent time and I would definitely go back because they really aim to please.

One advice I would give management is although having no control over beach towels can be a good thing I think that if you would put the control back at 1 per guest it would avoid some people who really don t give a dame about others to save hot spots at the beach and at the pool.
Since the quests have no responsibility over the beach towels they grab as many towels as they want, wake up early, and save spots at the beach and at the pool !

This was my 5th time at a Grand Bahia Principe Resort , my first in a Luxury section and this was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigBirdMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Customer,

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge to maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose this paradise aimed to please name Dominican Republic as their holiday destination.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

We are looking forward to cater you for your 6th visit at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kind greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £132 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing