We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy 65th anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“happy 65th anniversary”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

fourth time in six years. nothing as change, it's still the same. first class hotel , excellent food ,very friendly staff, cosy, quiet, clean on hole site and at the beach very relaxing ambiance. the words are missing. and of course my wife was very plesed of her birthday gift. gaetan

Room Tip: corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaetan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Gaetan,

One more time congratulations for your wife birthday!!!

I greatly appreciate your good comments, it is a real pleasure to know that you spent an amazing vacation with us.

Thank you very much for highlighting our good food, beautifuul beach, friendly and helpful staff.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen for 4th time our Resorts as your holiday destination. Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

When there is a will, there is a way :)

Many Kisses from Punta Cana.

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,889
    2,481
    1,042
    367
    226
See reviews for
820
7,048
136
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our second time to this resort and had a great time again. We go there to stay off the phones and electronics and it works for us. The resort was very well kept, people are doing their best to make you well welcome. We took friends with us this trip, their first time there and they got into the groove quickly.. We asked for and received the rooms we wanted and also received the times we requested for dinner at the restaurants. I have to mention two people who really made the trip enjoyable. The first is Juan Lopez who greeted us every morning with a smile and a Mimosa for breakfast. He also was our waiter for a few of our dinners and is a real character. He made sure we a great time. The second was a young man by the name of Jensy who served drinks on the beach. He had a lot of area to cover but did his best to make us happy and it was very much appreciated. It was very apparent that both of these people liked what they did. I have read a few other reviews and don't know what people expect when they come to this island. Go to the Four Seasons or the Ritz if you need constant attention. If you want to take a 4-5 day rest this is the place to do it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: top floor rooms take a few hours to cool off when you arrive so be patient
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Ron,

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

All our team working, will appreciate your wonderful comments.

Looking forward to welcome you next year for your 3rd visit and provide you an incredible stay as always!


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic vacation at the Ambar. He is a celiac and cannot eat gluten and the staff was more than accommodating at all of the restaurants as well as the buffet. Our favorite spot was the pool although the beach is absolutely breathtaking. The staff was always extremely friendly and polite to us. Especially the two female bartenders at the pool, Biana and Marlene. The room was beautiful and spotless. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Molly,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen for second time our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar as your holiday destination. For all our team working is rewarding to read that once again we were able to meet your expectations with an equally enjoyable experience.

Regards from Dominican Republic!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This will be a short but sweet review. First time visitor, totally impressed by resort. The beach is beautiful, staff were courteous, helpful and extremely friendly. The food in the buffets was excellent with a different theme each night. The al a cart restaurants were slow and the buffet food was actually better. (2 hour dinners in al a cart). The total Gran Bahia resort is very large but transportation is good and fun. The Punta Cana section has the best night life, stay away from casino, they actually charge for drinks, even with wrist band. Would recommend the Ambar for non children couples, wide range of ages. The only downer was the getting catamarans and snorkel equipment at the beach. It is contracted out and it was hard to get a boat or snorkel equipment because they didn't have enough. Plus the people were not friendly and quite rude. The hotel should take it over or find another group to run it. That's it, only complaint, vacation was terrific and will be back in December.

Room Tip: The Ambar is close to beach and pool, all rooms are good. We stayed in 64 which was right next to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldjBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thanks for your comments and for let us know your experience, we feel so glad to read that you had a wonderful time here.

I want to thank again you for highlighting our gorgeous beach, beautiful Resort, good food and friendly, attentive staff.

We are waiting for you the next December, it is going to be a pleasure to receive you once again.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

You are one in a million!!!

Many kisses from Dominican Republic:)

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ambar the week of April 7th. Our overall experience was excellent! The grounds were beautiful and the staff work very hard. The staff is very friendly however we witnessed some rude guests. These are the people who turn it around and say that the staff are rude. If you want a vacation in New York City and the fast pace then you should vacation there. This is an island. People need to relax and stop being so demanding. I treat people how I like to be treated.

The food was very good at all the restaurants and the buffet was just as good! The waiters were overly attentive. We treated them as people and would enjoy conversations with them instead of being demanding and complaining. I asked how there day was and about themselves. I go on vacation to enjoy different cultures and the language. I don't speak Spanish but I enjoy learning!

Our room was clean and the fridge was stocked daily. I wrote a nice note the first day and asked for lots of extra water...AND we received LOTS of extra water! The fridge worked fine and the beds were comfortable. Staff came twice a day with clean towels and yummy chocolates on our pillows each night. We were in room 65310 and it was great...in the middle of the complex so a perfect location for us.

We go on vacation to relax and to have fun. I don't go with a list of criteria to be met. If your attitude stinks so will your vacation. Leave that at home and perhaps yourself.
This place isn't for snobby people..go to your Ritz-Carltons' for that!

We loved this resort and definitely are returning next April!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ottawavalleygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Garry,

I would like to thank you for recommending us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation as well as the service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

One more time thank you for highlighting our good food, Restaurants, beautiful beach, pretty grounds and the helpful, friendly staff.

We hope to see you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Kisses and Hugs from Dominican Republic!!!

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Back from Ambar on weekend of 13/6/2014. having spent two weeks at this lovely hotel and location. If in any way some of this review seems slightly disappointing it's only because of an illness to my wife second week which took the shine off the whole thing. Having said that there is a doctor on site at the hotel 24/7 and appointments are easily available. you do not pay for consultation, you only get charged for any treatments. He speaks excellent English and there is a pharmacy in the medical center. An excellent set up and service.
Travelled out on a Thomson Dreamliner in Premier. Other holiday makers on the same flight in standard class informed me that the extra width seats were comfortable. I question whether the shambles at the Premier desk at Gatwick, ordinary flight menu and indifferent service made the extra cost worthwhile. I would think twice about going Premier in the future.
Airport at Punta Cana a trial where Immigration officers try to get an additional 10dollars after you've already paid it. No receipts here. Porters very good and worth while for a small tip. Coach journey to resort no problem and about 30 mins.
Several couples on our coach , all going to Amber. Arrived with luggage and in spite of numbers check in was reasonably efficient. Restaurant and room requests were met and we were one happy couple. we were in 62308 near to the Lobby and not too far from pool and beach. Room was as good as we've had in the Caribbean, well maintained and clean. Maid service was good although sometimes items not fully restocked. Lack of coat hangers for people staying two weeks but easily rectified with a quick call to express services as was the replacement lightbulb needed in the bathroom.
The whole place is beautiful and excellent value for money. The beach is as good as we've visited and don't worry about the towel game unless you want front row seats. Beds and shades were plentiful and there was always a refreshing sea breeze as long as you were somewhere near the front end of shades. The beach waiter service was a bit hit and miss but just as quick to get your own drinks at the beach bar.
Lunch at Las Brisas was excellent. Good choices wines and drinks and good service. Lunch at Palmyra the main restaurant was a bit more up market and again drinks and wines were plentiful. At this point I must say that the house wines, red white and rose were all excellent standard and the same wines wherever you ordered them on the site.
Dinner at Palmyra was the highlight for me and we were well looked after by Carlos the maitre D and Caesar who fussed over us where possible. At breakfast Juan Lopez was pleasant friendly and entertaining. He spoke good English and was generous with the Bucks Fizz or Bloody Marys if required. A small complaint would be that the later you eat at night the more time the staff seemed to spend relaying tables and not serving wines. I might suggest on job for wine severs and one for table layers instead of multi tasking. I must mention Miguel on the egg station at breakfast. A real character always jovial who made amazing omelettes and all other types of egg requirements. Great to see.
The gala dinner each week at Palmyra was brilliant and the Beef Rib at the Carvery outstanding. I was most impressed with the whole Red Snapper and Stone Bass available each day on a self serve basis.
The Lobby bar was warm as previous reviewers have said. Never noisy and none of the entertainment would disturb those early to bed. The drinks service was hit and miss with some waitresses not approaching you for your order until after you signalled to them. Sometimes they offered you snacks but most times you had to request them. Exceptions were Massiel who was very pleasant and Albiaris who was excellent.
Guest services proved a disappointment and personally I found the staff unfriendly and aloof.
For all that this place is a great, great holiday destination. You want true five star? Then I suggest you check out the 5 Star prices at UK hotels by comparison. This resort offers value for money in every way. Not everything is perfect but boy do they try. just book it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner rooms are best, but any room is in easy walking distance of all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Garry999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Garry,

I would like to thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation as well as the service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

One more time thank you for highlighting our good food, Restaurants, beautiful beach and all that you mentioned.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kisses and Hugs from Dominican Republic!!!

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Okay so i will just start out by saying..... we booked the luxury ambar hotel because they advertised the location as an adults only resort. But what they dont mention is the hotel is for people 60+. The pool bar closes at 6 and the pool at 7. The lobby is VERY mellow. Upon arrival we were impressed with the initial treatment. We were greeted with drinks and the staff was kind. The second day we had 200$ stollen from our room. We went down to guest services. They had the security guard come up to our room. they asked permission to do an investigation, ofcourse we insisted. But instead of looking into what maid stole our money, they investigated US! They went through our entire room, only to tell us " their investigation was inconclusive" ( because they didnt find the money in our room) Guest services was horrendous. They were extremely rude and non-apologetic. Eventually they offered a massage with a value of 120$. The massage was okay,I was suppose to receive an hour massage plus exfoliation, they cut my massage short by 15 min.
They advertise the resort as "all-inclusive". Yes the drinks and food are included. But activities they offer are not. There are "shows" that are free, however the "show" consists of a host and a few dancers on the stage and then they ask for crowd participation to have the guests do activities for everyone else to watch. The other shows they offer, are $35. On the site, they say you get an hour a day of the water sports/ activities. However if you dont have experience with these sports you have to pay $45 for a lesson. For example, my boyfriend wanted to try and wind surf. They would not let him unless he first took the lesson which cost money, even though we had other family memebers who could of taught him, he was denied.
Room service has less than 10 items on the menu. One of our family members called for room service on 3 different nights, they only actually received their meals 1 time. We asked for them to bring us bottled water ( because you cant drink the tap) and were told "it is not apart of their services" and they never brought it.
I could go on and on about how awful the resort is--- yes it was very beautiful. But not worth the money. As a side note, there is a HUGE language barrier ( I do speak a little spanish) but most of the staff didnt know alot of english, which may be the reason for alot of mishaps.

I will say the other resorts that we went to seemed alot more lively and the staff was kind. Emanuel was one of the only staff members that was extremley helpful and kind, he was AWESOME.

All and all, i would say save your money, dont book here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank alexxy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Alexxy,

We cannot tell you how sorry we are for all the inconvenience you have experienced in the room during your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Let me tell you that all the comments from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Kind Regards,

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#39 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing