We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Relaxing Vacation"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Relaxing Vacation"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Ambar is the adults only section of this property. Check in was fast and easy. We had a Junior suite that was well located on the property close to the pool, beach and restaurants. The food was very good and the drinks were as well. We especially enjoyed the "drink of the day" which changed everyday. The grounds were meticulously tended to and the facility was very clean. The pool was VERY, VERY HOT and after being in the water for a bit several members of our group found it extremely uncomfortable. Our son and daughter-in-law were vacationing in Punta Cana at a different facility the week before us and they stated their pool and cool and refreshing. After our first day in the pool we moved to the beach where the water temperature of the ocean was much more refreshing, however, go early to reserve a lounge for the day under an umbrella. The staff was great and helped whenever necessary and always with a smile. Special thanks to Dio our butler and Melania who worked in the restaurants. They were both great. This was the most relaxing vacation we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbrendelSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for trusting in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for acknowledging the good food and drinks we provide, especially the drink of the day that you enjoyed, and also the helpful and great staff.

It will be delightful to welcome you once again and provide you the most absolutely relaxing experiences!!!

Kind greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,858
    2,460
    1,020
    351
    223
See reviews for
812
6,989
135
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for everything our trip was amazing! Great very large resort with many delicious restaurants and perfect beach! Room and hotel very clean ! Defenitly recommand The Ambar.

*special thanks to Jensy at the beach always welcoming us with a big smile and so friendly! His service of drinks on the beach was impeccable, despite the hot and humid weather of June he was always making sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our beach time. Thank you Jensy you are amazing !

Room Tip: Somewhere in 64-65 section , it is right between beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Diego,

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed a perfect relaxing getaway and your trip to our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar was amazing.

Thank you for highlighting the quality and amazing service from Jensy.

Warm greetings from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were expecting the usual all inclusive basic hotel with uninterested staff and poor quality food and drink.

HOW WRONG WERE WE.....

It really was excellent. You had to try and find things wrong. The guest services even undertake surveys at the snack bars checking everything was ok with your holiday.
You need to understand that this is a BIG complex.
They class it as 5 hotels.
Punta Cana, Bavaro, Bavaro Premier, Luxury Esmeralda & Luxury Amber.
In essence each has their own reception, buffet restaurant and pools and their own colored wrist band which stops you accessing certain other areas of the hotel. I only saw one person in a section of the complex they shouldn't have been in.

The two main receptions, Punta Cana & Bavaro are at the front of the complex. This is where all coaches and trips go from.
The rest of the complex is accessed by buggies and land trains.

The Bavaro Premier is furthest from the beach but closest to the childrens waterpark.
In the middle is the accommodation for the Punta Cana & Bavaro.
Then closest to the beach are the Luxury Amber and Luxury Esmeralda.
The Luxury Amber is adults only and is tranquil and worth the extra money !

We stayed in the Amber and told we could go and use the facilities in all of the other areas. I presume there are restrictions dependent upon which "hotel" you booked with.
There are no physical barriers restricting you, but it seems to work on an honesty basis.
The beach also has separate areas for Luxury and adults only.

There are 7 pools with swim up bars and the fantastic white sand beach.
As usual people put towels down first thing and these are not removed by the staff so the beds can be un-occupied all day. But there are plenty of beds and shades on the beach, We had a choice every day of the 10 we were there.

There is a beach bar and all of the drinks are known brands, even though the larger was poor in the main part of the complex.

There is a theater were am-dram acts are put on. Not our cup of tea but they tried. Very hot & sweaty even thought there are no walls !

Some of the accommodation has interconnecting doors. Not an issue for us as we were respectful of our neighbours and they of us.

The blocks of rooms have a walkway through the ground floors at the Amber which people use, especially late at night on the way back from the bar, so try and get a room on an upper floor.
Each block is only 3 storeys. No lifts that I saw.

If you are in the Bavaro, be aware that there is a new huge complex being built right next to this one, so you will look out over a huge building site with big equipment moving about. Very noisy & dusty. I know, I work in Construction. It effects blocks 71 -79
.
There are a number of themed restaurants. Being in Amber we could go to as many as we wanted. None of them required trousers or shoes. I believe its only the gourmet restaurant that does. They were all good and the Mikado does the Tapinaki (?) cooking at the table.
There are 2 Japanese, Garden grill, 2 Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican and gourmet french.
The buffet also do themed nights and we found the food to be exceptionally good, which makes a change for an all inclusive.
There was a chief cooking fish and another pasta.
Breakfast is in the buffet and covers most of what you would expect to find. Including champagne.....

There is a teens and kids club, no idea how good they are.
Mini golf for kids and a few play things for them bumper cars etc.
The high zip lines were closed.
Free bike hire on the complex only.

There is nothing outside the gates.

You can walk for miles along the beach and there's no trouble.
There is a "shanty" area of shops a half hour walk. Worth a stroll not hassled too much if you don't go in they leave you alone. You'll see it from the beach. Turn right.

There is a drinks service from the beach bar in the Luxury section.
Usual staff at the pool playing music to get you involved in the aqua aerobics etc.

My fiancee played golf at four different courses and enjoyed it.

I went scuba diving on the reef. Very good and relaxing.

There are boats and canoes to hire for free from the hotel but you have to book and give a deposit.

The service is excellent, even if you don't tip. They accept dollars or local currency. The receptions will change the money to smaller amounts.

There is one cash machine on site.

There are 2 casinos.

The gym at the amber was OK, but a bit limited.

The Spa was great. A body scrub and massage was $99 and worth it.
I had a good hair cut for $20.
A back, head and back of the legs massage was $55 which we had on the morning we left.

Overall an excellent resort and we would go back for a relaxing break.

There's the usual trips on boats, helicopters, quad bikes etc, but we didn't bother.
Not much else on the island.

Room Tip: Upper floor and not blocks 71-79.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ManchesterGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear client,

We really appreciate this detailed review. For all of us it is great to read that you changed your mind once you arrived to this beautiful property. It is good to know that you have enjoyed the massages and hair cut you received at the spa.

Thank you for highlighting our Hotel as a 5 star place!!!

It will be an honor to have you again here and provide you a relaxing break.

Hugs for you,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My girlfriends and I have our annual BFF trip every June to our local beach, this year we decided to spurge and come to Punta Cana for a long weekend. The resort was very clean, safe and the beach was very nice. We had a few minor issues with our room. It smelled like mildew, the air conditioning was working and the mini fridge was broken. We called for service and they came & attempted to fix it but it never got real cool in the room and the smell never went away but it was livable. Our room should have been set up for 3 (towels, mini bed, coffee mugs) and it was only set up for two each day. Each morning we called for room service to deliver coffee and they were always there on time with our order. Service was always good with friendly wait staff willing to help. We realized very shortly into our trip that tipping the bartenders will get you better (higher end liquor) drinks. Food was acceptable with a variety of choices but the so called “fancy” restaurants were not all that. There wasn’t much to do at night, certainly not the kind of place with dancing and night life and the casino was a joke and not what we had hoped for. We stayed in the all adult side of the resort and although there were mostly couples we found the guests to be friendly and fun. The beach was nice and the huts came in handy for getting a break from the sun, never had an issue getting one. We came prepared for mosquitoes (as we heard they are bad) but we really did not need to drown ourselves in the bug spray we brought along. We thought a long weekend, Thursday mid-day to Sunday mid-day would be nice but in reality by the time you get through the airport and shuttle to and from the resort it was just not long enough. The trip felt to quick and next time we need to add time to account for the time it takes to travel. We enjoyed ourselves and overall the resort was just as expected with just a few minor shortfalls. All in all for the price we paid it was a decent trip and we’ll probably do it again only next time bring our significant others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Stacy,

I feel proud to know that we have provided you and your friends had a great vacations during your long weekend with us. I apologize for some minor issues you encountered. At the same time it is appreciative that you received always good service from the friendly staff and to read that the trip was as you expected,fills us with satisfaction.

Thank you for your comments and hope to have you another time with us!!!!!!!

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I chose the Ambar for our honeymoon as it was an adults-only resort. We traveled June 14-21 2014. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back. See below for more details:

Room:
Check in was a breeze and our luggage was brought up to our room within 5 minutes. We had emailed the resort before our trip and asked for a corner room. We did get one and it was on the second floor. The corner room and balcony is slightly bigger than the other rooms. We were in building 69 and it was perfect as we were in between the lobby and the pool/beach. It was clean and cool in the room, the mini bar was stocked and plenty of towels in the bathroom. The towels are on the rough side, so as long as you use them to pat yourself dry and not rub yourself dry, you should be ok! There were also 2 beach towels in the room that can be used and exchanged for fresh towels at the pool. There was a safe as well which we did not have a problem using. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were dropped off in the evening, along with some chocolates, a nice touch! I used the pillow service and requested the memory foam pillow and I was glad I did, it was more comfortable than the regular pillows.

Food:
Any reviewer that says they didn't like the food is lying. There are so many options and variety that there had to have been something that they liked! The Palmyra is the buffet restaurant at the Ambar. We had breakfast there daily (Miguel made my omelette perfectly every morning!), for lunch we tried the 2 snack bars on the beach and the buffet restaurant at the Bavaro. We enjoyed the Palmyra the best because of the quieter ambiance and it seemed to have more food selection. For dinner we had made reservations prior to our trip and got them all. We ate at Maiko, El Olivo, Portofino, El Pescador. Our favourite was Maiko, as we got to sit around the table and the chef prepared the food in front of us. The food was also very good but a tad salty. Our least favourite was Portofino, the description in the menu did not match what we were served. Dessert at all of the restaurants including Palmyra was delicious! Especially the fruit, very sweet and juicy. Skarly, the hostess at Palmyra always remembered us and made us feel very welcome, as did Felix, one of the servers. He remembered our order daily and was always happy to see us.

Pool/Beach:
The pool is a great place to relax, and there's a swim up bar to help quench your thirst. There are plenty of chairs to lounge on around the pool.
The beach is beautiful, the sand is soft and the water blue and it's kept clean. Again, plenty of chairs. The chairs that directly face the beach seem to always be taken but this was not a problem for us as I found it too windy there and preferred to sit farther back. There is a section of the beach that is only for Ambar guests, which is nice because no noisy kids and less crowds. We woke up early one morning to catch the sunrise from the beach and it was spectacular!

Entertainment:
We did not stay for the entertainment in the lobby as we were always too tired. However, we did attend one of the shows at the Tropicana theater. It was the circus show. Theater was very crowded, people were smoking, and it was hot. Unless you show up early and get good seats, it wasn't a very enjoyable experience. I had heard good things about the Michael Jackson show, sad to have missed it. We were tired most nights anyway so a walk around the resorts after dinner and we called it a night.

Overall, a great trip. The staff is incredibly friendly and always made us feel welcome. The resort is clean and well maintained, and we had hot and sunny weather during our stay (it rained once for a few minutes one evening). Also, don't be afraid to walk around, my husband and I didn't use the trolly, we walked everywhere. We look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have a larger balcony. A room on the first foor has less privacy so if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Meena,

Thank you for acknowledging our clean and beautiful rooms, good and variety food, relaxed pool and beautiful beach. It´s a pleasure to read that the friendliness and attentive of our staff made you feel welcome all the time and you enjoyed your fantastic honeymoon.

Best wishes in your marriage!!!!

Warm greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned from a seven night stay at Bahia Principe Ambar with my daughter celebrating her 21st birthday. Our butler made sure are room was decorated for her birthday along with a cake and champagne, Definatly glad we choose the Adults only resort. The entire staff from the lobby, the butler, the pool bartendars, the beach waiters and even the beach sand cleaners were amazing and very very pleasant.....a constant "Hola" from all.
I will agree with others that the pool was too HOT!! Are villa #67 was perfect.....last one before the pool and beach. Can't wait to Return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loricri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear client,

I am extremely proud to know that you have experienced an amazing stay during your seven days with us. I feel happy to read that you were satisfied with the treatment you received. Our exceptional staff will be proud to know all your nice comments and your gratefulness.

Once again, Happy Birthday to your daughter!!!!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just came back after 7 days at resort. The positives were the food was delicious, staff was friendly, weather was gorgeous. Negatives: had to switch rooms first night due to leaking air conditioner in ceiling and severe mold smell and visible growth on ceiling. Also, toilet handle came off and shower drain cover came off. The second room was better, however our air conditioner broke 2 times, TV broke twice and our safe broke 3 times. We were on a first name basis with the repairman. The language barrier was a bit extreme, approx 85% of the time my husband did not get what he ordered. The restaurants and lobby were extremely hot. Too hot to stay long and there were areas in the pool that had severe mildew growth in the grout. Our room was not cleaned until 4:00 p.m. or after everyday. When it is 90 degrees and higher we really would have liked to be in our room earlier. Often we had to call for towels and toilet paper that the maid service forgot to stock when cleaning. There were also no ice machines, so you had to call room service and wait approximately 30 to 40 mins.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your valuable opinion with us.
It a pleasure to read that you highlight the positive aspects, such as delicious food and our friendly staff.

On the other hand, I sincerely wish to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We regret very much that we were not able to exceed your expectations because of the situations you have mentioned.

I sincerely hope to meet you next time you come to our beautiful property.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing