We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was very good standard and great quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

got back from this hotel on the 4 of july, had a great 2 weeks here the hotel is a very high standard hotel, the buffet restaurant was very good with great selection of different meals great service, the a la carte restaurant s were just excellent very good selection of food the wine was very good too, there are only 2 reasons why we would not return ... 1 the pool was just full of drunken American's all afternoon sat at on the stalls at the bar in the pool we watch a guy trying to get out but he was so drunk he could not get up the steps and another time security escorted a woman away from the bar because she was so drunk and she was annoying other people sat at the bar, so we spent every day at the beach which was very nice, 2... at 11.15 every night in the lobby bar when everybody was in full swing (the only bar at the ambar) they closed and shut the bar and even turned the lights out at 11.30 if you hadn't drank up, they said if you wanted another drink you to there other hotel which ment catching the bus train thing just like butlins and so was the other hotel, I feel if I booked a 5 star adults only hotel I feel I should be treated like a adult not told at 11.15 its time for bed and there is no where in the ambar to have another drink,

shame because I found this hotel excellent in many ways, and the Dreamliner was great

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinkle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you find worth to mention the good buffet with a great selection of food, great service and good wine too. It is delightful to read that you have found the hotel was very good with great quality. On the other hand, it is a shame that as you mentioned you will not return to our Resort, but please let me inform you that we have a set schedule for each department, but it does not mean that you cannot continue having fun with other facilities.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,052 - 4,058 of 10,505 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just came back from a very relaxing wonderful first visit! The Ambar was recommended to us by a cousin. Beautiful property, clean beaches and first class service. The room was beautiful and very clean. Although we didn't have a amazing view, we were right beside the beach and pool. Juckson and Stefanny from the animation team kept us entertained and informed of upcoming events. Both were very pleasant, friendly and always a pleasure to talk to.
Desiree served us in the lobby and patio area. She always had a smile on her face and gave us excellent service. Juan #1(in the Don Pablo and buffet ) also gave us excellent friendly service. The food and drinks were amazing!
Will definitely be back!,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinapiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear client,

I really appreciate your review. For all of us it is great to read that you will to repeat your wonderful first experience in the Dominican Republic.

Thank you for recommending us as a wonderful place to relaxing and with first class service.
I hope to welcome you in the near future in our premises to provide you a great vacation once again.

Kind greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Truly Beautiful! This adult only resort was exactly what we needed for some R&R. The crystal blue water, excellent food (except the Italian restaurant), and friendly staff made our stay worth repeating. If it's your first time, try the Bavaro Runners tour... Coffee, chocolate, cigars, sugar cane, bat cave, horse back riding and true Dominican food gives you a glimpse of what life there is like.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the rooms. This section of BP is smaller, close to everything. The close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Filomena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Filomena,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for mentioning our excellent food and friendly staff. It is good to know that you found exactly what you expected.

I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I visited in June 2014 and had a great time! Transportation to and from the airport was a breeze as long as you have your voucher printed before you arrive to PC. I had to wait one hour for my room to be ready and though I requested one king bed, there were 2 doubles, no problem but that would have at least made up for my wait time.

My personal butlers, Maurice and Enerio, made me feel like I came with friends finished my check in, walked me to my villa, offered to unpack my belongings, gave me a quick tour of the place and showed me how to get around within the resort. This totally made up for the one hour wait.

The beach was perfect and there was always an open chaise close to shade and the water. The food variety was not really what I was hoping for but it was decent and always fresh. I expected a lot more variety daily but it was the same variety, though large, just about everyday. This prompted me to visit the restaurants and other buffets at the other hotels, which I was never denied access to.

The room staff kept my room sparkling and always smelling great! I enjoyed my garlic shrimp at the seafood restaurant but it was just okay, the ziplining tour Fare lead was fun and a great way to see some of the locales around PC, the daytime pool parties were fun but there was hardly ever an open chair around the pool, especially during lunch time. The onsite 'bus' was perfectly timed and took me shopping at all the other stores at the other hotels on this resort.

The place is huge and offered lots of night activities for all ages. I did not experience the late night loud partying sounds I read about in the reviews prior to booking my trip (Villa 68). I would recommend this place over and over! Ask for Maurice and Enerio. Their customer service is impeccable! Oh, and the lavender pillows on the pillow menu were a nice touch! Thanks LBPA, I will be back.

Room Tip: Balcony conversations travel When the tub/shower is running, you can hear what sounds like 'lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mizizblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

It is wonderful to see that in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection you had a great time. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you appreciate their work in making your stay a magical experience in the Caribbean, especially Maurice and Enerio. Your comments represent us an inspiration to continue striving towards excellence.

Thank you very much for recommending us and it is wonderful to know that you will return.

All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I've been to 2 other resorts in Dom Rep, Dreams La Romana and Grand Marien in Puerto Plata. I would start by saying that they are all very similar. The weather here is no different and the beaches are all the same.

Great rooms, good food, beautiful beach- what more could you want?

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Webdesign77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our services.

Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

First day when we arrived, there wasn't much of service, the front desk gave our keys and told us to grab lunch till our room was ready. They didn't tell us where to go rather than point and didn't give us an idea of the grounds at the resort since it was big. The food was okay. After lunch we got our keys and again no explanation of events, facilities or anything which rubbed me the wrong way. We had to wait for 20 minutes for a trolley to take us to the Ambar hotel. The room definitely is not 5 star it was an okay room but we were right in front of the lobby which was fine but at night the music was loud due to the events. Our room mini bar was not stocked, tv didn't work and there was sewer smell from the shower. These were my only negatives but overall the buffet was good, waiters/waitresses were nice, restaurants were good as well. The beach was crowded but always found chairs and the beach did have a lot of seaweed but overall not that bad. I would stay here again if I came back.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank karen_22us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Karen,

I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. I want to offer an apology if you felt you did not received the service you deserve.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a dream in the Caribbean.

We are always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The property itself is quite beautiful. Nice beaches, pools, and the rooms are typical of what you see in Punta Cana, Mexico, Caribbean, etc. However, the service is very poor. Every time I would call "Guest Service" or "Room Service", the attendant didn't speak English and would transfer up to four times (yes, four!). One room service order, I asked for 2 waters, 2 natural yogurts, and a mixed salad. I received 0 waters, 2 orders of nachos?, 2 weird fruity yogurts, and a mixed salad that tasted like it sat in the sun for an hour. I will say the buffet is good and the restaurants are very tasty. Anyway, if you're expecting first-class, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Colin,

Thank you for highlighting the beauty of the property, nice pool and beach, and good buffet.
Please I sincerely ask you to apologize us because you felt you did not received the service you deserve and also for the language barrier.

It is my sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future in any of our Resorts.

Greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £134 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing