We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$411
US$390
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$293
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$437
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$325
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$248
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$771
US$578
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,884)
Filter reviews
10,884 results
Traveller rating
6,319
2,696
1,161
429
279
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,319
2,696
1,161
429
279
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablocorner roompalmyra buffeta la carte restaurantsel olivioguest servicesgarden grillother resortslobby barbavaro lobbyprivilege clubroom requesttowel gamedinner reservationslobsteradults only sectiont shirts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,317 - 4,322 of 10,884 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Gorgeous property, landscaping was so pretty and well manicured. Our room, junior suite, was very comfortable and well maintained. Bed was just right! Buffets were ample, entrees at restaurants were good as well, not 5 star, but good nonetheless. The complex itself is HUGE and fortunately they have tram cars that can take you about. Souvenir shops on premise (helpful) - however, shops with US tags cannot negotiate, others can. No Cuban cigars on premise.

The beach was large/deep, but the water had some seaweed which got a little annoying. The pool was amazing though! Really big which gave you a lot of space to hang or move about in the water. Suggest you get up between 6 & 7 am to claim a spot at the pool and/or beach! Pool bar service was excellent and attentive.

We got a couples massage at the Spa - very nice, had a promo buy 3 get 1 free, so we took advantage of that.

For those who speak English, be prepared for a bit of a language barrier, but that didn't get in the way of great service all around.

Excellent value -- we had a really great time and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Villa 63 is next to the lobby. They play music til 10:30, but otherwise quiet. All rooms are decent distance to pool/beach/restaurants.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cbeck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and for highlighting our pretty and well manicure landscaping, comfortable rooms and ample buffet. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the couple of massage you did at the Spa and a great time.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We loved so much about our stay at the Ambar. The hotel really strives to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.
A few things to point out: when booking take into consideration the cost of excursions. We really enjoyed the reef explorer. It was so beautiful swimming the reef.
You are really nickel and dimed everywhere you go. Someone is always trying to sell you something. Other than that, it was an amazing trip.

Room Tip: Ask for building 62, close to the beach and pool. We had a corner room and it was awesome.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Melissa,

I would like to thank you for entitling us as a great adult only Resort. It is wonderful to read that you loved so much your stay and you felt like we really took care of you.

Looking forward to seeing you in a heartbeat!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

got back from this hotel on the 4 of july, had a great 2 weeks here the hotel is a very high standard hotel, the buffet restaurant was very good with great selection of different meals great service, the a la carte restaurant s were just excellent very good selection of food the wine was very good too, there are only 2 reasons why we would not return ... 1 the pool was just full of drunken American's all afternoon sat at on the stalls at the bar in the pool we watch a guy trying to get out but he was so drunk he could not get up the steps and another time security escorted a woman away from the bar because she was so drunk and she was annoying other people sat at the bar, so we spent every day at the beach which was very nice, 2... at 11.15 every night in the lobby bar when everybody was in full swing (the only bar at the ambar) they closed and shut the bar and even turned the lights out at 11.30 if you hadn't drank up, they said if you wanted another drink you to there other hotel which ment catching the bus train thing just like butlins and so was the other hotel, I feel if I booked a 5 star adults only hotel I feel I should be treated like a adult not told at 11.15 its time for bed and there is no where in the ambar to have another drink,

shame because I found this hotel excellent in many ways, and the Dreamliner was great

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinkle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you find worth to mention the good buffet with a great selection of food, great service and good wine too. It is delightful to read that you have found the hotel was very good with great quality. On the other hand, it is a shame that as you mentioned you will not return to our Resort, but please let me inform you that we have a set schedule for each department, but it does not mean that you cannot continue having fun with other facilities.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just came back from a very relaxing wonderful first visit! The Ambar was recommended to us by a cousin. Beautiful property, clean beaches and first class service. The room was beautiful and very clean. Although we didn't have a amazing view, we were right beside the beach and pool. Juckson and Stefanny from the animation team kept us entertained and informed of upcoming events. Both were very pleasant, friendly and always a pleasure to talk to.
Desiree served us in the lobby and patio area. She always had a smile on her face and gave us excellent service. Juan #1(in the Don Pablo and buffet ) also gave us excellent friendly service. The food and drinks were amazing!
Will definitely be back!,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinapiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear client,

I really appreciate your review. For all of us it is great to read that you will to repeat your wonderful first experience in the Dominican Republic.

Thank you for recommending us as a wonderful place to relaxing and with first class service.
I hope to welcome you in the near future in our premises to provide you a great vacation once again.

Kind greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Truly Beautiful! This adult only resort was exactly what we needed for some R&R. The crystal blue water, excellent food (except the Italian restaurant), and friendly staff made our stay worth repeating. If it's your first time, try the Bavaro Runners tour... Coffee, chocolate, cigars, sugar cane, bat cave, horse back riding and true Dominican food gives you a glimpse of what life there is like.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the rooms. This section of BP is smaller, close to everything. The closer you stay to the main lobby you can listen to the entertainment from the comfort of your balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Filomena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Filomena,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for mentioning our excellent food and friendly staff. It is good to know that you found exactly what you expected.

I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews