We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We agree 100% with the luke warm reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We agree 100% with the luke warm reviews”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We read a lot of reviews before staying here and were a little nervous about selecting the Ambar (especially because we were on our honeymoon). The Air Transat agent assured us that it was spectacular and she'd heard nothing but good things. So, we assumed that the reviews must have been written by "those who compain about everything." You know who they are. Surely, not us.

Unfortunately, much of what was written proved to be true. We won't re-hash too much of it, as you can read it elsewhere. The biggest disappointment came from the service/food. You are allowed three reservations at restaurants during a 7-day period. You can, at your own initiative, try to make more. We did try and ended up spending hours trying to haggle for reservations at a sit-down so as to avoid the hideous buffet. No amount of money, cajoling, begging seemed to help. Finally, we managed to somehow get to five of the restaurants. We later learned that the Ambar only gets 20 spots per night at the restaurants not located on the Ambar property, with the remainder going to other Bahia guests. When you walk into the restaurants, they are nearly EMPTY. Because it's low-season, they don't have the staff on hand to serve, which means they don't let you eat at the sit-downs because they don't have the service. Hardly five star policy. The food itself was pretty bad, as other have commented - salty, bland, swimming in sauce. Even after eating at the a-la-cartes, we would sometimes go to the buffets, just to grab some bread and cheese or pizza because they were the only palatable things out there. So, the food and the reservation system is what it is.

The service, as others have mentioned, is a bit lacking. As I mentioned, we were on our honeymoon, which they apparently lost the record of. Although they did upgrade our room slightly, it took talking to three different people to get something special done for us. That something special turned out to be a miniature bottle of rum, two Ambar t-shirts, and a scalding bubble bath. Oh well.

Other annoying things we wish we would have known: no air conditioning in the common areas, including some of the restaurants, so you are constantly sweating; they don't give you hair conditioner (but will sell you conditioner for $10/bottle), so bring your own; the showers are quite small (very difficult for two people to fit comfortably); you are limited to one beach towel a person, which you can exchange for a new towel when it's dirty; no HBO or ability to get English movies, unless you want to watch Lifetime for a week; no steam iron and crappy ironing board, but they will iron for you for a fee; difficulty communicating with employees, very few employees speak English; Ambar bar closes at 11:30; all the shops are extremely high-priced, so don't forget anything.

Also, all employees seem to be incapable of deviating from the "rule book". For instance, my husband was wearing dress shorts, collared shirt and dress sandals one night and we went to the buffet to get dessert. They wouldn't let him in even though they would let people with ripped jeans and baseball caps in. I, being a woman, could wear shorts (and was wearing them), so I had to go in, get the ice cream and bring it out so we could eat it in the lobby. Arbitrariness to its finest. Another example of this was when we were at the Mexican restaurant and I asked for chicken, instead of mixed, fajitas. They told me it was impossible. No reason, they just wouldn't do it. Stupid stuff like that happened all the time. The rules are the rules.

Good things about the resort: the grounds are immaculate and exceptional - looks just like the pictures; the beach is beautiful and the Ambar section is much quieter than the rest of the resort (you can even get umbrellas by the beach if you come out at noon); good nightly entertainment (not "Dancing with the Stars" quality but good for a resort).

A note on Air Transat for those of you travelling with that airline. In a word, DON'T. Even though we were on our honeymoon, they didn't give us seats next to each other. And we arrived at the airport 3 hours before departure to ensure we'd be sitting together. Great start. We were then delayed 1 1/2 hours going down due to engine problems, which they announced to the entire plane, fraying a lot of nerves (including ours). Overall, the flight down wasn't bad, just very cramped. The flight back was awful. The bus picked us up from the hotel 4 1/2 hours before our flight, which meant we were sitting in a hot airport for what seemed like forever. The air conditioning for the 4-hour flight to Toronto wasn't working properly, so we sat there, like sardines, sweating buckets. The flight attendants were more concerned about selling duty free than they were about serving, so it took a full hour and a half to get a glass of water. And, again, the tactlessness of the crew is disconcerting. At one point, while going through some bad turbulence, the flight attendant pointed out that to the right of the plane you could see a "really cool lightning storm". The woman in the seat next to us commented, "Isn't that how the Air France plane went down?" Again, some tact would have been nice. And as we were about the land, the flight attendant made a point to remind us to locate the nearest emergency exit in case of a crash landing. What's up with these people!? Also, bring your own snacks because the food is disgusting, microwavable faux-Chinese both ways.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeymoons_Over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,854
    2,454
    1,020
    350
    223
See reviews for
811
6,980
135
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We just got back from our stay and we had a blast! We have travelled all over Mexico (Grand Caymen, Cozumel, Jamaica, Puerto Vallarta, etc) and we just loved it here. It's interesting that we had not heard much about the Dominican Republic here in the U.S. In fact people kept assuming that we were going to Mexico. First off, finding the right resort will make or break this trip. We did a ton of research before we came here. TripAdvisor has this resort rated very well and exactly the way that we would rate it. I would not rate it as a 5 star resort but it is definitely close. It is a great value for your money and is very beautiful. In fact, there is very little that I could recommend changing. This is a huge resort that has tons of variety to offer. What you may not pick up on through your reviews is that the overall resort is the Gran Bahia and consists of three resorts in one so to say. The Ambar is an adult only section (no kids). If you stay at the Ambar, you can access the other two properties all you want which opens a lot of doors for entertainment and meal options. The benefit of this part of the resort is that the other two sister properties are NOT allowed to access the Ambar section so it is much nicer and not as busy. This means good things for you at the pool, the bars, etc. The resort is impeccible and maticulously manicured. And yes, everyone was able to communicate with us just fine using English. Most people there do speak Spanish but were very obliging in speaking English with us. The beaches are INCREDIBLE and the best we have seen anywhere. It truly is a tropical paradise. There are real Palm trees on the beach all over the place. There were also palapas that were available a little further back on the beach. There were tons of lounge chairs and we certainly had no problem getting fresh beach towels anytime. We had read a lot about people complaining about seating and towels??? Not sure where that was coming from...totally not an issue. I will admit, the one thing we found confusing at first was the whole food situation. You really should try to book your restaurant reservations in advance. You can always cancel them if you don't want to keep them. We didn't know this and really wanted to go to Don Pablos Restaurant and never could get a reservation. We did get a reservation to the Japanese Steak house (Mikado's). We can both say we didn't like the food at Mikados at all. They did cook the food on the grill in front of your crowd but never "entertained" you like they do in the states. The food at Mikados was mediocre...the buffet restaurants are so wonderful that this restaurant didn't even compare. The Garden Grill restaurant was very good and so was the mexican restaurant(El Charro). Which by the way, we couldn't get a reservation for so we just showed up there one night and asked if they could possibly get us in and gave them a tip and guess what? They found us a table! The buffets are really incredible. You can pick what cut of meats you want and they will cook them right in front of you. There is so much to choose from it is incredible and overwhelming at the same time. The bars are great and the service everywhere is great. Beware the Mamajuana! It's a local drink and it is potent! They do serve local liquors and beer but we were happy with all they had to offer. We do have a bar of our own and have pretty good tastes in alcohol and we were happy with their choices. The champaigne was very good and so was the rum and tequila. The only beer choice is the Presidente beer. It tastes like Budweiser. It is okay but probably not my favorite choice to drink all day. Here's something you may not know...you can go topless on the beaches here. I didn't realize this but didn't feel uncomfortable by it at all. Nor would I let it discourage you from taking a family to the Dominican. There is very much a European flare here and you will meet people from all over the world. Most people aren't as modest about how they look on the beach like Americans are. In fact, I loved the whole feeling to the beaches here. Very laid back and all the women wore bikinis despite how big or small or old or young you were. It just wasn't an issue...everyone just out enjoying the beach...not admiring what each other looked like. Men, yes, we did see lots of speedos and my husband is not a speedo kind of dude. But we never felt uncomfortable or like people were gawking, etc. It just wasn't an issue at all. Too bad more people aren't like this in the states (laid back, not like it's a beauty pagent)! The sun is intense here. We are not fair skinned and normally don't burn easily at our beaches/pool. However, here we wore an SPF 50 to 70 the entire time and still gut a little pink but got a ton of tan. Be sure to bring lots of sunblock (forget the SPF 8 or 15). If you need more sunblock, be prepared to pay $30 for a small bottle of Banana Boat sunblock. Yes, that's right...$30 for a small bottle! Everything you need is at the resort but if you want a candy bar, be prepared to pay $3.00. My advice if you like the junk food is that you may want to bring some with you. However, we got so use to eating the great food there that we didn't miss any of that. Trolleys are available to take you all over the resort(s) of the Gran Bahia. Getting to and from places is very easy. However, my advice to you on this, is to book your ground transportation through your travel rather than trying to figure this out for yourself when you get there. If you do this, you will have great service. Otherwise who knows...I've heard mixed things. We had no problem at all though. When you arrive into the airport, you will have to pay $10 per person to get into the country. There was no fee to leave. I do suggest bringing about $100 in one dollar bills for tipping. The staff is incredible and work hard for tips. It is very appropriate to tip a dollar or two for bags, waiters, concierge, etc. The dollar goes far in the Dominican and is readily accepted (in fact suggested). It is very strong against their Dominican peso. We didn't take any excursions because we have been snorkeling a lot before this trip and scuba diving. However, if you have never experienced these things, I would recommend doing this. The parasailing looked like a lot of fun but we were too lazy in the sun and with our tropicals drinks to get our butts up and out to make the reservation. We were totally content. As far as anything you might read about Malaria...we saw absolutely no bugs at all! We did take the Malaryia vaccination pills prior to our trip just in case, but after going there, felt silly to even have taken them. If it makes you feel better, just bring some Off. We didn't even use that either though. All the water in the restaurants, bars, buffets are purified and you can drink. You do need to brush your teeth though with bottled water. The water out of the tap in your room is NOT purified for drinking. In your mini bar though, the maids always stocked several bottles of water and we never had an issue with having enough water. They also stocked it with beer, mini shots, sodas, and a can of pringles every day. And yes, this is also part of the inclusive deal. I did have to ask for "washclothes". But received them as soon as we asked. The pillow menu is also a nice selection that is all inclusive. In fact, everything is all inclusive but unusual liquors, or souveniers. The pillow menu is cool, you can get apple scented pillows, memory foams pillows, camomille, etc. And they bring you a fresh pillow each night you place your order with the butler. We felt very spoiled and it was romantic, and fun! This place is a hidden gem and I am surprised you don't hear more about it in the states. The canadians have the 411 on this place! You'll meet lots of them in the Dominican! Hope you enjoy as much as we have. Sorry this is so long but we searched through so many different sites to put all of our information together before we went that I thought is was only fair to write a review and included as much information as possible for someone else! Hope you enjoy this place as much as we did. If you don't, it's time to get your head checked!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank HokiesR4lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Okay so this is a long review, but it helped me when i was planning my trip, so i hope it helps you....I recommend this resort, its really beautiful....

TRANSPORTATION:
IMPORTANT TIP: You should really try to book a tour bus to take you from the airport to the resort. We took a taxi from the airport and it ended up being a rusty old small car that could barely run. If you end up having to take a taxi from the airport, make sure its a van! If its a small car, WALK AWAY! It's a bumpy road and you should really be in a secure vehicle. Some of the people working at the airport were friendly and helpful, others look miserable.

AMBAR RESORT: Once you are at the resort, you will check in and will have to wait until 3pm for your room to be ready. In the meantime, we ate at the buffet, which was a little uncomfortable because we still had our luggage with us. You will probably feel a little lost at first because the resort is huge! Some of the staff is helpful, but a lot of the time you have to ask questions. They are not desperate to help you, some look really young. The older folks seem more helpful.

FOOD: OK , here is the deal. The AMBAR is the best resort out of the four. It's a lot less crowded! Also, you are closest to the beach which is great and the rooms are ten times better! But the buffet itself is small. Maybe like 1/5 the size compared to the other sections. Therefore, every night for dinner we would take the trolly around 7:30pm in front of the Ambar like 3-4 stops to the PUNTA CANA SECTION (don't confuse it with the BAVARO which is the first resort) It's four resorts all in one. Anyway, we always went to the ORQUIDEA restaurant at the PUNTA CANA section and after we woud watch the show which starts around 9:30. We usually had drinks at their lobby which always had more people and seemed more fun. We saw people lounging at the Ambar lobby as well, its just quieter. The only headache might be that the ORQUIDEA is kind of crowded, so its best to go early from 7-8pm.

BAR: There are so many bars all through the resort! The drinks are watered down though, so we usually got beer or wine.

A LA CARTE's: We did Garden Grill which was great! The Don Pablo was also good but the service was soooooooo bad! It was terrible. We had reservations for 3 A La Carte's but on the third night we did the Diner Buffet @ Orquidea Restaurant @ the punta cana section and decided to stick with it. MORE VARIETY!! Plus, A La Carte's give very small portions!

ACTIVITIES: After the shows at the punta cana section, we would take the trolly back to the ambar, which is much much more quieter. I suggest visiting all the other resorts daily, especially at night! There is not much going on at the Ambar at night you have to take the trolly to the other places. Otherwise, you might be bored. Unless you enjoy quiet. You should take advantage of everything! Being at the Ambar you have the benefit of accesing all the other great amenities!

Cleanliness: We had no problem with cleanliness, our room was always clean and the cleaning staff works very hard! We always tipped our maid Rigoberto which was the nicest man ever!! The only problems were with the pillows, they smelled a little musky. Other than that it was perfect. No bed bugs or mosquitoes in our room.

Overall, I really recommend the Ambar. It's really an excellent resort and excedeed my expectations. Our only real issue was with the transportation and it has nothing to do with the resort itself. I'm planning on visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nyctraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My partner and I just got back from the Bahia Principe Ambar, June 7-14. AND WOW. we had the most amazing time ever. We had never been treated so perfectly like this before at a resort. The resort was beautifull and huge!. Everyone there just wanted to help. I would absolutely recommend this resort. The entertainment is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markemark090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I read a lot of reviews before staying here and was surprised that some people loved it and some people hated it, unfortunately I was somewhere inbetween leaning more towards hating it.
PEOPLE - For me the dissapointment started as soon as I got off the plane. You are greeted by girls dressed up and taking pictures with you, they seemed annoyed to have to actually do this and did not even smile. They grab your arm, pull you towards them then push you away when done. I thought that maybe she was just having a bad day, but as we progressed through the airport all the people we came in contact with just seemed not to care and did not smile. That held true for just about everyone we encountered during our stay.
TRIP TO RESORT - Wow, I was a little uncomfortable in Mexico traveling from Cancun Airport to Playa Del Carmen, this place made Mexico seem like paradise. The trip takes you through what I guess you would call towns that are riddled with trash and debris and hundreds of people walking, sitting on the side of the road or riding motorcycles (three people on one!) everywhere. It was a very uncomfortable ride to the resort, with a little concern for safety.
RESORT - The grounds were beautiful once you reached the resort. The sand on the beach was soft and powdery and water was nice, not as blue or as clear as in Playa Del Carmen.
STAFF - Like mentioned earlier, no one cares! They all just seemed to be there to get a check and go home. No smiles, no great service, no service at all at times!
ROOMS - The rooms were nice but, ours was HOT and HUMID when we checked in and it never cooled off. Three calls to the front desk only got me "it will be fixed in 30 minutes" 4 hours later it cooled off some but never worked 100% while we were there. The people across the hall were complaining too, apparently the whole building was out. The mini fridge was warm and not replenished daily.
FOOD - We were sadly dissapointed in the food and both were sick on the last day there. I actually thought the buffet at the Bavaro was better than the one at the Ambar but it was still marginal at best. If they were out of something they did not care or have a sense of urgency to replenish it or take care of you it was just "we are out".
BARS - drinks were small and not very good, just about all the drinks were very sweet no matter what you ordered.
SHOPPING - Beware of the shopping area, you are practically mugged when you go through there, they are extremely pushy and rude and will just start putting things on you even when you tell them no thank-you. We gladly paid more in the gift shops just to avoid the vendors.
CASINO - HA, is that what you call that? I didn't expect Vegas, but I also didn't expect a room twice the size of my living room with 4 or 5 gaming tables and about 20 slot machines!!!! 3 were quarters and the rest were nickels and pennies, impressive.
OVERALL - I would not go back to the Dominican Republic, maybe other hotels have better food and service, but it seemed to me that between the resort and airport employees that is just they way the poeple are there. I would defineitely go back to Mexico again first or try another island.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank txtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We arrived in Punta Cana along with a thunder storm; however the Punta Cana airport was a reasonably smooth experience. The airport tax and immigration fees were all taken care of by our travel company, so we had no hassles. That said finding our transportation and getting to the resort was a little un-nerving. The streets appear to be about a 1½ times as wide as a single lane in Canada or the U.S. As cars and buses whiz by one another, there are moments where you wonder if you are about to be a part of a head on collision. It’s a little crazy to say the least; however we arrived at the Resort in one piece.

Once at the resort, Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests are dropped off at the Bahia Prinicpe Bavaro lobby with instructions to simply wait. What we discovered was that the Ambar lobby is only connected to the main drive by what is little more then a sidewalk and therefore cannot accommodate the bus that dropped us off. We had to wait for a smaller sized golf cart-like tram to take us and our luggage the rest of the way.

Once at the Ambar we were welcomed with a fruit beverage and check-in was very easy and fast. The Bell Boy took our luggage and we arrived at our room and got settled. The rooms at the Ambar are very nice. The bathrooms contain both a shower and a Jacuzzi tub. There is plenty of storage space for your possessions and a safe for your valuables. I found the four poster king sized bed in our room very comfortable, however my wife thought the bed was too hard. In addition the Ambar has pillow menus where you can choose different pillows based on your preferences as well. I recommend that you request a corner room if available. The balcony is larger and far more suitable for lounging then the other rooms.

Room service is available and we had one occasion to call for room service asking for tea for my wife. I believe there was some confusion here as they didn’t feel they could get hot water. I don’t know, seemed like a simple request to me.

The resort itself is very large; especially when you consider that as Ambar guests you will have access to the Punta Cana and the Bavaro sections of this resort. There is plenty to see and do including all the restaurants which you will have access to. My personal favourite would be El Olivo. Surprisingly it was the one restaurant that I thought I may pass on, but it turned out to be the best experience by far. We generally did the Ambar Buffet off the lobby for most breakfasts and lunch was usually the Snack Bar next to the Ambar beach and pool.

The front desk staff, waiters, bartenders will speak English; however bus boys, housekeeping and grounds-keeping will likely only speak Spanish. Even when an employee of the hotel speaks English, their English will likely not be fluent. That said their English is probably better then most peoples Spanish.

We had the foresight to email the resort with our dinner requests based on other reviews on this site. We received all our requests. Overall the food was good (not great). If you go to dinner expecting 5 star restaurants from home, you will likely be dissapointed. I feel more time and effort are spent on presentation rather than on preparation. Good food is good food no matter what it looks like. While visually appealing most of the food was a little bland for my tastes.

The pool at the Ambar is nice and I would imagine in high season it could become rather crowded. For us (end of May), it was fine and we could always take advantage of the swim up bar and had space to swim on our own. The pool has both staircase entrances as well as a gradual slopped entrance to the water for those that may be physically infirmed. Please note the slopped entrance can be slippery for the first couple of steps.

The beach is absolutely beautiful. It stretches for miles in both directions of the Ambar and is as wide as you could imagine. We did not have to play the chair game at all. My wife is a late sleeper but we were always able to get lounges at the pool or the beach at any time of day. On the beach we always were able to find a vacant Palapa as well. The beach has easy access to a few resort bars and restaurants so you can quickly get a drink or a snack.

Each day we tipped our housekeeping staff and the staff that are responsible for stocking the mini-bar. Later in the week we learned that our mini bar was not being stocked each day with the items listed. When we called the front desk on this issue we were told there was a problem with the mini bars yet no offer was made to send someone to supply the missing items. The next day the missing items were also not there. Perhaps publishing what is to be included in the mini bar is unwise if they have trouble stocking all of these items (under promise and over deliver has always been my policy).

Overall I really enjoyed my time at the Ambar. There are always one or two things that don’t go the way you expect them. I’m a firm believer in making the best of the situation and enjoying my trip. My wife feels more strongly that with the money we pay we should get exactly what we want. I personally feel that this will only lead to disappointment rather than satisfaction. I would recommend the Ambar as a great destination but like any place you should expect a few hiccups.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe from March 29th to April 5th, in the Ambar section of the hotel.
Contact info for advance restaurant reservations:
Maribel Almonte: Public Relations gerenterrppbpamb@bahia-principe.com
I dealt with Maribel directly to setup my reservations prior to my arrival. She is the one you must contact for advance reservations.

Marcela Valerio: Sales Executive ventas2bppuj@bahia-principe.com
Her contact info is also referenced in other reviews on this website. She only told me she forwarded my requests to Mrs Rosa Velazquez, after which Maribel Almonte answered with my reservations...

LOCATION
The hotel site is extremely large, divided in multiple sections, each with their own, large lobby. Each section contains between 9 and 15 villas, each villa being 3 stories high with about 24 rooms in each villa, all setup like a small neighborhood with well kept vegetation all over the area. The Ambar section is located closest to the beach. Other sections of the hotel site (grand theater, restaurants, lobbies) are about 5 minutes away walking-distance for those in good shape. Otherwise, small carts driven by staff ensure transportation between the sites.
The room we had was roomy, situated in the corner of the villa. I apprehended the first floor, but was satisfied with it nonetheless. We had no trouble with noisy neighbors. We could hang our towels outside without fear of them being stolen. The bathroom was clean, and the toilet's water flowed just fine. The bed sheets were clean as well, but could have been cleaner (tiny hair could be found if meticulously searched for).

BEACH
The beach area is large, and allows for many kilometers in walking. The water was cold at this time of year, but bathable. The ambar area is reserved for ambar guests, and forbids kids. It is easy to relax.
There is a major lack of chairs and palapas (the sun umbrellas setup by the hotel), with most guests awaking at 5:30 in the morning to reserve their spot and watch sunrise, then go for breakfast, then return to the beach. Guests arriving at 8 am are to find a chair in the sun and try to hide in the shadow of a tree or bush if sunburning isn't your thing. I had to grab 2 chairs from the pool area in the bavaro section (a good 2-minute walk without chairs in your hands) and walk them all the way to the less crowded ambar beach, where we setup in the moving shadow of a palm tree.

FOOD
The standard buffet of the ambar section serves excellent breakfast for all tastes, excellent lunch and excellent dinner. Service is good as well.
Many restaurant buffets (1 at ambar, 1 at bavaro) are setup outside near the beach area, and also serve a good variety of food.
There are many restaurants in the hotel where reservations are to be made for dinner. Reservations should be made prior to your arrival in the country, or at the latest on your first day in the hotel, with guest service. The ambar room allows you unlimited "à la carte" dinners in those restaurants. We liked them all, mostly the French (Don Pablo) and Garden Grill, and least the Italian (poor service, poor food). Food is generally good. Only some are also buffets with different food from your basic buffet.
Note that all restaurants require that men wear long pants and collar shirts for dinner, even the buffet. Entrance is denied to those who fail to meet this requirement. Women can wear anything, as women are classy regardless of what they wear.
Also note that dinner begins at 6:30 PM, and your reservations are often at 8 or 9 PM if made late.
Contact information:
Rosa Velazquez: We only met her on site, but our requests for reservations were said to be forwarded to her.

Maribel Almonte: Public Relations gerenterrppbpamb@bahia-principe.com
I dealt with Maribel directly to setup my reservations prior to my arrival. She is the one you must contact for advance reservations.

Marcela Valerio: Sales Executive ventas2bppuj@bahia-principe.com
Her contact info is also referenced in other reviews on this website. She only told me she forwarded my requests to Mrs Rosa Velazquez, after which Maribel Almonte answered with my reservations...


STAFF
Staff are generally very helpful, and don't make you feel like they are driven uniquely by the tip, unlike Mexican staff. All staff are very cheerful. Note that we didn't have any hurdles that really put the staff to the test.

OTHER ACTIVITIES
There are on site tennis and mini-golf. Didn't try either. There is a small shopping area where you'll find tourist items sold. The outside area is infested with authorized dealers that harass tourists. Booking activities with your trip planner is a better idea if you want to go outside the beach.

NIGHTLIFE
Didn't try it. Slept.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,668 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing