We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana
Ranked #102 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Access to the great golf course is a plus. You need a car while staying on this property - don't rely on the shuttle, and you need to go grocery shopping off site. There is a great marketplace right outside the Airport. A real supermarket and several cute restaurants. On site spa and gym were average. Pool was very nice. Best to check out the nearby Sanctuary to actually see anyone else, and enjoy a beautiful beach with access to food and beverage services. The Marina was also nice, but deserted. We were two couples and enjoyed a beautiful two bedroom suite that was well appointed. It would have been nice if the outdoor tub had heat! There is only one convenient wifi spot within walking distance of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avinash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
10
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The last time that I visited Punta Cana it was all about music, food, entertainment, pool and beach. This time around I went with my husband and 3 year old son. The location and the whole hotel was great for us a family: very quiet, excellent rooms, not crowded and excellent beach (Juanillo). The menu at Juanillo beach was better than the menu at the hotel restaurant.
Tips:
1. as soon as you get your room, leave your lugage and ask for a shuttle to the mini grocery store at Las Canas. Having a mini or full kitchen was great for snacks in the middle of the day.
2. Bring your books, kindle, games, etc. you will need to entertain yourself
What I did not like?
1. No entertainment
2. Buffet options are very limited and I had to wait for them to fill the trays..... Not nice when you are hungry. They can improve the menu options.
3. A heater in the pool will be nice, that pool was super cold. It was great after a whole day at the beach to refresh, but not to go in the middle of the day..
4. Take a shuttle to go around.. Don't take me wrong, they are always available, but common a shuttle to go to the beach..

Will I go back? Not sure....For a weekend of relaxation and peace YES!!!! For a weekend of fun and party NO!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ortiz-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevele, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I don't understand all the issues of the other comments.
the rooms are wonderful/so hudge, meals are great and the environment heavenly!
we'll certainly return to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank An S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Was there in the beginning of January 2012. 1 bdr apt is awesome! Lots of space in the living room, huge bathroom with shower for 2, deep pool on one of the 2 terraces. Quiet place all around, no annoying people, that you usually can see in all resorts in Punta Cana. Haromony with the nature and yourself!!! Another issue is with the staff. Almost all of them are good enough, except Tony, the receptionist, who is rude and unprofessional. So, good advice to the management - get rid of him ASAP, or he will ruin all the perfect impression of the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Golden Bear lodge when I was in the Dominican Republic for a business weekend. The rooms were ok except for the roaches found in the bathroom. The biggest problem I had during my stay was with the security staff. I returned Cap Cana to retrieve my brief case and laptop for another meeting. In the car was a business associate and our translator, when we arrived at the gate, security refused to let us in because our translator was a Dominican national without a passport.
I attempted to explain that I needed to retrieve my briefcase and asked the security staff to call the hotel but they refused to call the hotel and laughed at me when I asked them to call a second time.. The Guard a Jose R, asked my translator for Propina, I asked her what that ment and she stated that he was asking for a tip to let her in. I refused to tip the guard and he refused to let us back into our hotel. We ended up having to get a hotel room in town for the night, We lost a night we had already paid for and I lost a contract because of the problems with the guards.
Do not stay here until the guards are properly trained. Do not pay them for services they have not performed. As far as I am concerned, When you pay a huge amount of money for a privete hotel, The guards should not have the right to stop you question you about anyone in your car.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wyattcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I travel a lot. I love Dominican Republc. I have stayed in almost each place there but this GOLDEN BEAR is more like the ROTTEN EGG.

The service is awful. It tooks us three hours to get checked in. No room service. No mini bar. SECURITY TREATS YOU LIKE YOU ARE CRIMINAL. THE SECURITY AT CAP CANA SHOULD ALL BE FIRED AND STATR OVER. I ALMOST GOT INTO A FIGHT WITH THEM ALL BECAUSE THEY WERE GIVING US A DIFFICULT TIME. They are thugs. Trump should be ashamed.

The room is dirty. TWO DEAD ROACHES IN PLAIN VIEW IN THE BATHROOM. Then went I went to bathroom late at night I saw at least 3 live roACHES going to hide. it was awful and I could not go back to sleep.

I got bites all over my body from bed bugs after I left. Please I dont like to complain because I love the dominican republic but this hotel is just awful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelL0ver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Dominican Republic, Cap Cana and Golden Bear Lodge are just wonderful! Let me just start out by saying that we stayed here in March 2011 and loved it so much that we are going back again in a couple of weeks for Christmas break. We are a family of four, son 16 and a daughter 14. We love the beach, golf and great food and Cap Cana has it all. Yes, this place is empty but if you are content within your own family, why would you want the crowds? This is the prime reason why we are going back, we have the entire Golden Bear Lodge to ourselves, the staff is very attentive to our needs, the grounds are immaculate and the rooms are luxurious and large. Can't beat the Price at about $250/night (2 bed suite) inclusive of breakfast for all four of us! The golf at Punta Espada is equal to or better than Pebble beach at less than half the price, and nearly empty so you can play a round at any time your heart desires. The caddies make the experience all the more wonderful. The food at the various restaurants including the Marina, Secrets Sanctuary and Caleton Beach Club are exceptional and varied. Yes they are expensive but well worth it for the quality, service and location! The beachs here in Cap Cana are picture perfect! We rented two golf carts during our entire stay last March and some of the most fun we had was driving in them to dinner or to the beach as a family and racing down the empty roads with not a care in the world. This has given us an opportunity to enjoy quality time with our children before they start going off to college soon. Let me sum this up in a couple of sentences. This place is not for the "all inclusive" crowd. As long as you are content within your own family or group, love golf and the beach, eat great food, solitude and enjoy the hospitality and kindness of the Dominican People than you cannot go wrong with Cap Cana and Golden Bear Lodge!

Room Tip: Caleton Beach is better than Juanillo beach. There is an ATM between Golden Bear and Caleton Beach C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#101 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
2.6 mi away
Essenza Retreats At Punta Palmera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana

Property: Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana
Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge is located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. It features a concierge service A flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, and CD/DVD player are included in all condos at Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge. The rooms are stylishly decorated in tropical colors and also boast a microwave and a minibar. Golden Bear Lodge features Jack Nicklaus Signature Course Punta Espada. Punta Cana International Airport is 16 km from Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge. The San Juan Shopping Center is 23 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing