We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge
Ranked #102 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have to say, the Golden Bear its not for everybody. It is situated in Capcana but its far from everything so its very quite and peaceful. Its NOT INCLUSIVE so you have to bring your food (but the kitchen is very well equipped), it can be VERY hot but thats because of the weather not them (the infrastructure is with a lot of areas without roofs)
The service was great, the room was BEAUTIFUL, Capcana is still under construction in some areas so you might see old houses, constructions or something like that all around capcana.
I highly recommend renting a car since everything its NOT a walking distance (the hotel is far but you would have to take a car to go anywhere in any other hotel)
If you are looking for something quiet, comfortable and a little distant, Golden Bear is the right choice for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Limited service all over, Restaurant was awful. I had to leave because the heat inside it was so intense.

Almost all of our rooms had problems. (7 guys on golf trip)

Resort empty and not near the beach,

Punta Espada golf is gorgeous though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scottwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Cap Cana is the most beautiful defunct place I have ever been! Golden Bear Lodge is a perfect example. Very nice facility with very poor management and underutilized facilities. A shame really. Dont waste your time here. There are literally hundreds of better options in the Punta Cana area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I happens to be like to relex in a Quiet place So I thought this would be a right place for me
And brought my own food (So I wasn't counting on eating out anyway)

But it all starts with a bad smell in the kitchen area Like some dead rats

Beside that nothing Here attracted me
The property around the hotel Looks like a wild desert With some old homes here and there This was not the scenic place I was looking for
There is not much more to say because they're not much more to do Besides looking into distance like Alona in a desert.
I picked myself up and went To a different hotel.
(Hope to get back my one night stay)

Ps. The people there where trying to be helpful and nice

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I dined at the golden bear lodge after an amazing round of golf at the nearby Punta Espada golf course. It was obvious that the servers had little to no training from management. We were seated by a hostess who appeared like it was her first hour on the job. We then waited 10 minutes with no acknowledgement until even after I got up to get my own menu and wine list. When the waiter finally took our order, he seemed overwhelmed, despite only 2 other couples in the place. Fortunately, we noticed he brought over the wrong bottle of wine and he was able to get the right one before opening the wrong one. Our arugula salads had promise, but were overshadowed by the dry, overlooked fish that we sent back and got the shrimp with a side dish of overcooked vegetables. The servers were apologetic, but for us a thumbs down and a shame on restaurant management for being inconsistent with the upscale image. Jack would not be proud.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank golfdocrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Hotel was part of an "all inclusive holiday package" (little information received from the tour operator before this last minute departure).

Hotel staff rather friendly but totally inefficient : 55 minutes check-in time (2 desks for 6 families), not handling specific requests nor solving problems and discrepancies...

Rooms were really big and equipped with all modern equipment (except wifi, which was only
available around the lobby and swimming pool area), including kitchen

Swimming pool is not really big (long but not very wide) with a very limited number of chairs and sun beds, which might be a problem if the hotel is full

Now the real problems ! Beach located at a 10 minutes drive from the hotel (I went once on foot, "through the bush" : 25 minutes . Free hotel shuttle is picking up people in the different parts of the resort, which extends the trip time to up to 30 minutes ! Shuttle was according to the hotel website running every 10 minutes, but 2 days (out of 6) we had to wait 1h30 before it arrived (staff at the reception absolutely not helpful). Furthermore, shuttle was full as you can imagine ! Same "fight" to get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Beach is nice, but once again with a limited number of sun beds, so people were running out of the shuttle in order to have a decent place. Bear in mind that the beach is public, so you can expect an invasion on weekend (we could also enjoy deafening disco on Saturday !)

Food and beverages : another nightmare ! Lack of almost everything at the hotel bar and on the beach (lucky ones got a pina colada, which ran out of stock after 30 minutes). We had even a "sorry, no water anymore" at 11.30 AM !!! Idem for the menu : 6 or 7 items, out of which 3 were available.

In summary, definitely not the right place to go ! Note that we got a partial refund of the tour operator to "apologize for the inconvenience".

Room Tip: All rooms with sea view, which is at 500m hidden behind the trees. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Titou4432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed in Golden Bear for the weekend and it was great.
It is the perfect place to escape the city's chaos and just relax. Since I went with a group of friends we had the best time. The rooms were clean and cozy, super comfortable beds and the spacious bathroom with a bathtub and a shower, staff were very nice and helpful. Since the beach is about 10 minutes away from the property they have shutters to take you there. Overall a very pleasant experience, definitely going back.

Room Tip: Request for a room in the second or third floor to enjoy the view. They have elevators so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magsliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.1 mi away
The Golf Suites
The Golf Suites
#99 of 112 in Punta Cana
14 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
2.9 mi away
Essenza Retreats At Punta Palmera
13.0 mi away
Blue Beach Punta Cana Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge

Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £122 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the life and lifestyle of the legendary "Golden Bear", Jack Nicklaus, and perfectly situaded near his signature golf course Punta Espada. Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge is conveniently located 10 minutes from Punta Cana's International Airport. Our accommodations are exquisite designed within great spaces to bring a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere along with great views to the turquoise sea: Ocean View Studio Suites, and one and two bedrooms Ocean View Suites. A flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, and CD/DVD player are included in all condos at Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge. The rooms are stylishly decorated in tropical colors and also boast a fully equipped kitchen. Concierge service from 7:00am to 11:00pm, multilingual staff, Golf Concierge, tennis courts, swimming pool and jacuzzi are waiting for you at this spectacular and luxurious suites overlooking the Caribeen Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Lodge Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing